Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 3 AL Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 3 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 237 reviews 4.354430 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 24
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cooter- the hiker from CA on Wednesday, June 29, 2016
    My wife and friend are greatly surprised on how easy the tent is to setup and the use of Kelty clips for the rain fly. the roominess was a pleasing surprise, too. You'll need to contact the manufacture to get a foot-print for the tent. Separate vestibules is a great feature compared to my older 3-man tent with only a front vestibule.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cooter- the hiker from CA on Wednesday, June 29, 2016
    My wife and friend are greatly surprised on how easy the tent is to setup and the use of Kelty clips for the rain fly. the roominess was a pleasing surprise, too. You'll need to contact the manufacture to get a foot-print for the tent. Separate vestibules is a great feature compared to my older 3-man tent with only a front vestibule.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WD from Oregon on Monday, June 6, 2016
    3 People in this tent would be mighty cozy... Perfect for one. Needs a ground cover.
  • Reviewed by BWCA camper from Minnesota on Friday, May 27, 2016
    The poles create a ridge above the door. No matter how tight you pull the rain fly, rain can pool above the doors. This causes water to drip on your head while you are laying down. It may be a problem found with all tents with flat areas on top.
  • Reviewed by Pack me up Scottie! from Oklahoma on Thursday, May 26, 2016
    It's a shame that their going to stop making this tent. Quality control issues not withstanding, The only problem that I saw in the comments I've experienced is there is a puddle on the roof if it rains. Never leaked.
    The only complaint Ihave is there is a Velcro tab on the bottom of the rain fly that is hard to each. WAAAH! If you dont close it the door zipper cover leaks.
    I've been in 60+ mph winds in Colorado and Arkansas. Driving rain to boot. No leaks and with the Velcro pole tabs in place no flapping.
    As their getting rid of this model I bought a new one.
  • Reviewed by HikerNC from NC on Saturday, March 26, 2016
    Even with the nice amount of room, and seemingly clever design, you might get woken up unexpectedly. How? Well the rain fly is designed with a seam, such that when condensation drips down the interior of the fly, it hits the seam, and drips down onto the mesh, that's right above your head. You'll feel a faint spray on you face. And it wasnt even raining. I returned it ASAP.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Vermont to Oregon from Oregon on Monday, February 22, 2016
    Cant Wait to get the tent out, set it up in the living room and its got more space than the Marmot Equivalent...Now let's see if it performs as well. A little disappointed to see the poles have to sleeve a little, slows down the set up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The campers from Colorado on Tuesday, January 26, 2016
    We haven't gotten to use it yet, but we did set it up in our house and it looks awesome. Can't wait to use it this spring.
  • Reviewed by Geologist from Alaska on Saturday, December 12, 2015
    To preface I'm a field geologist and often live out in the bush for 4 to six week stints.

    I have the older version of this tent, bought it in 2009. I have used it ~400 nights in rain, shine, snow, and -20. From the deserts, high mountains, and beaches of the west to the bush in Alaska. Best feature is the large vestibules which shed the rain well and can open up or be removed to keep cool in the summer. Contrary to many posts I have found it to do great in the rain so long as you stake it properly, be careful no to overstretch the fabric when staking however or you will break the waterproof film and cause leaks along the seams and corners where others are having their problems. As with most backpacking tents the floor is made of thin material so I use a small ground cloth under the tent when I know I'll be in rough terrain to prevent tears. An advantage to the all mess interior is that the condensation and frost acumulates mostly outside the sleeping area under the fly keeping your bag dryer. Not the best in really high winds. I've used a lot of tents in a lot of conditions and you honestly are not going to find a better tent for the money.
  • Reviewed by Glen from Nevada on Wednesday, November 4, 2015
    I bought this tent 2 years ago.

    I normally don't take a tent, just use a hammock and overhead tarp, but needed something for when my adult son, and his dog, go along. We have used it on 4 trips in all different conditions in the Sierras around Lake Tahoe. On a mid summer trip it ventilated well, even with the fly attached. On a late fall trip, when a dusting of snow was present in the morning, it was pretty warm. Two months ago we did a 3 night trip in Desolation Wilderness. The first night there was conmsistant rain with high winds. I would estimate there were steady 25-35 wind with gusts of up to 50+. Frankly, I was scared the tent would come apart. Some gusts really moved the sides of the tent. It held together. Had a few,'very few, drops of water make it inside the tent. My guess is it was due to the fly coming into contact with main tent mesh.

    Pros:
    Big vestibules.
    Great price for what you get.
    Very durable.
    Breaths in the heat but warm in the cold.
    Waterproofing

    Coms:
    Weight. A bit heavy for backpacking but, relative to equivilamt tents, it's in the ballpark.

    Overall, it's a steal for the price.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 24