ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 3 AL Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 3 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 204 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 21 »
  • 1-10 of 204 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hankifer from New Mexico on Monday, October 13, 2014
    This thing is amazing and what a deal. The vestibules have more than enough room to fit a 60-80L pack for those week long trips and also serve as an opening to the outside if left half open during a storm. This thing has room too and without adding too much to the weight. It isn't an ultralight but if you have two people you can split the wight and it really isn't bad at all. I would recommend this tent to anyone looking for a great 2 person (with some room) or some cuddly trio.
  • Reviewed by Idaho Yeti from Boise, Idaho on Sunday, October 5, 2014
    I have used this tent in high winds on Mt Whitney, CA and in mountain thunderstorms on Kings Peak, UT. It has met every challenge! Quick and easy to put up, roomy interior. packs away small. Pack the tent poles separate from the tent to allow the tent/rain fly to be packed down and save space in your pack.
  • Reviewed by Happy camper from Colorado on Monday, September 29, 2014
    I promised to come back and review this tent because I never have. I have used this tent for 4 camping trips out of our boat at Lake Powell. It has surpassed my expectations. Last year, I was caught in the weather system that caused the Sept flooding in Colorado. I had never seen so much rain and wind at Lake Powell. It was extremely unusual and scary to camp in. Everything at Lake Powell is hard rock, so I had to put big rocks in the corners to keep the tent from blowing away, (couldn't stake it). There were sustained high winds all night long and our boat was beached big time. I had to sleep in cat naps because the wind howl kept waking me up. This tent flexed and flexed and I kept thinking it would collapse, but it never did. It rained almost every night, and when setup properly with the rain fly, my gear, my German Shepherd and I stayed dry. On clear nights, I have left the rain fly off and have fallen asleep gazing at the moon and stars. I love the two doors. It is an easy set up. It fits easily into it's stuff sack. There is not one rip from my German Shepherd bounding in and out of it. All the zippers still work. As others have said, you might be able to squeeze 3 people into it, but it is very comfortable for 2 people and gear and a dog, as long as you are not both 6'8" tall. There little tent buddy!! I finally gave you your praise.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trish from Utah on Monday, September 29, 2014
    Just purchased this tent as the zipper on our previous tent had failed. Love the two doors so you don't have to crawl over each other to get in and out. Easy set up and take down, and the fly worked well when it started to rain. Seems to be pretty solid especially for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by G-Law from Colorado on Monday, September 15, 2014
    Bought this tent for my daughter as a starter tent for car camping. Easy to put up and fairly light weight. Fits three comfortably. May break down after the test of time, but great value for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by G-Law from Colorado on Monday, September 15, 2014
    For the price it may be worthy of 4 stars. Sets up easy, plenty of room for two. Compacts down small enough to fit into the straps on my backpack. It is light weight, but still may be a bit heavy for backpacking. Have only used on two trips thus far - so not sure how well it will hold up under the test of time. Didn't leak in the rain during first trip, but was threatening to let in moisture last weekend when the poles and fly which iced up over night began to thaw.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by more than novice from chicago on Monday, September 15, 2014
    overall quite pleased with it. Only used it on one car camping trip. I chose it not only for the value, but the size for both backpacking and car camping. I'm sure I'll be quite happy for the little camping that I'll do.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sam from Washington on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    Despite the 74"by89" claim, the tent is not square and can only fit two people. Luckily I purchased this tent for only two people, but it cannot even fit our backpacks in addition to ourselves. The backpacks can however fit under the vestibules, but I do prefer to keep them inside. On the other hand I rated this tent five stars because it is a fantastic value. This is the best value tent I could find while balancing weight, cost, and size for two people.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Eric the cyclist from Iowa on Wednesday, September 3, 2014
    I recently took this tent on a 3-day cycling adventure. The tent is easy to setup and the two door entry is perfect for two people. Realistically we all know, three (3) person tent means two (2) person. The added vestibules make it great for leaving shoes and small items out of the tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jon from Lawrenceville, GA on Wednesday, September 3, 2014
    I bought this tent in an effort to lighten my load from the 4-man tent I was using. I prefer using a hammock, but my boys like sleeping in a tent, so I had to go with something a bit lighter. The Zenith did not disappoint. Our first trip out was an 11-mile, primarily uphill hike, and I certainly felt the weight difference. Setup was a breeze - my 9 year old had no problem helping me get it together.

    Vestibule size is great on both sides - it held both our packs, shoes, and still had room to spare. It was only my oldest son and I and we had plenty of room inside the tent. I can't really say that this would fit 3 adults comfortably, however. It would be quite cramped.

    It did rain a bit on us that day while we were out hiking. One side had the rainfly zipped shut and stayed completely dry. The other was left open and rain did get in a little - it was to be expected. There was no breeze where we stayed, so even with both door flaps open, we felt it was a bit stuffy in the tent until later in the night. Can't really blame the tent for lack of airflow. We didn't experience any condensation.

    Everything is included with the tent, although I do recommend the optional footprint that can be bought elsewhere. I used a lightweight 5'x7' tarp and it fit well, but I'll eventually get the Zephyr footprint, which will fit this tent. Stakes were decent quality, but you could save some weight going with titanium or aluminum. I'd say you need a minimum of 3 stakes when using this tent (2 for door flaps and 1 for vent guyline.

    Everything stuffs well in the included sack and it even included a patch kit. If you strap you poles to your pack, you could probably save some space with a compression sack...I may do this myself so I can pack the tent internally.

    Considering what I paid for this tent (I was able to make use of a 60% off and $.99 shipping coupon), I'm more than pleased with my purchase.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 21 »
  • 1-10 of 204 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.