ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 3 AL Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 3 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 200 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 15 ... 20 »
  • 141-150 of 200 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by S from Herndon, VA on Thursday, August 12, 2010
    Best tent I have used for this cost. Lightweight for the floor size. Good ventilation with the fly on. The only two differences between this an expensive tent are: There is some slack in floor/walls and the stuff stack is 30 percent too large (like they expect you not to know how to fold up a tent).
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Slayer666 from Iowa City, Ia on Tuesday, August 10, 2010
    Very simple set up, lightweight, probably best for one person or two intimate persons.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Too Cramped
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bluehoot from Baton Rouge, LA on Sunday, August 8, 2010
    I have only had the time to construct the tent at my house. It seems that the material is a little thinner than I had expected, but if it holds up to the water, I will be very satisfied with it.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Backyard, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bert one from Massachusetts on Tuesday, August 3, 2010
    Used the tent for a weekend in the rain and didn't get any water leaking into the tent (had a tarp underneath). Comfortable and easy to set up.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Sturdy, Waterproof
  • Reviewed by Jeff from Michigan on Monday, August 2, 2010
    This is a great tent for one person or two really close friends, but no way could 3 adults share this tent for even one night! Great value for sale price of [$]! Rained all night and not a drop inside! Great ventilation and no condensation.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Backyard, Car Camping
    • Cons: Great for one person only, Too Cramped
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Decon Jester of the CPL from Olympia, WA on Saturday, July 31, 2010
    Its best to set this tent up at home in the light before having to in the dark the first time if unfamiliar with this type. A footprint was not provided with this purchase, but a simple 7'X 5'poly tarp worked just fine. Setting up in the wind was a challenge but soon learned to first stake the smaller foot end of the tent corners in the windward direction just prior to placing the footprint down. Then stretching & staking the larger head end corners down. Placement of the rods is extremely easy with the hooks rather than sleeve system. Though attaching the rainfly to the rods was difficult due to the lack of valcro strip length provided for that purpose. The tent vestabule worked excellent, very spacious & kept what little condensation there was away from the occupant space & the venting system is great as long as the tent is positioned in the proper direction in the breeze. All-in-all this tent was perfect for myself & my gear on the motorcycle trip with a sleeping pad & bag I was very comfortable & satisfied.
    • Best Uses: Motorcycle Touring
    • Cons: Optimal set-up hints lack
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Packs small compresses, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wyojoe from Cheyenne, WY on Saturday, July 24, 2010
    Used on car camping trip easy to set up and it easily dealt with gusty wind, rain. Bit small for the 3 person rating but will fit two adults comfortably
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Car Camping
    • Cons: Too Cramped
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Theresa the outdoor lover from MICHIGAN on Tuesday, July 20, 2010
    We had lots of wind, some rain, and the tent held up well. I love how the doors zip from both top and bottom, this gives great opportunity for airflow. We were very happy with the tent.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Canoeing, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Sturdy, Windproof
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Skeeter from Tecumseh, MI on Wednesday, July 14, 2010
    Just set this up once in the backyard; haven't had a chance to use it yet. But, can tell you I like the lightweight, easy to snap together poles. It seems to be constructed well. Wish the vestibules could hold backpacks but may be too small--good for shoes and smaller items. Nice to have two doors; may not be able to keep them open if rainy weather but work well for ventilation. I'd say two people at max. Fairly leightweight and compact so it should work well for backpacking.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Arizonan from Arizona on Wednesday, July 14, 2010
    I plan on using this tent on Mt. Whitney in July--The tent is easy to assemble and feels sturdy. ALPs Mountaineerings use of an additional pole as a cross brace adds some of the stability other small tents lack. The lent is roomy for two but would be crowded for three (72"/3=24" per person).

    There are some downsides--
    I noticed several loose threads the first time I set up this tent. Additionally, the gear loft is so small that it is practically useless--It is detactable and I will most likely not be taking it to Whitney.
    Although I have yet to use the Zenith 3 in wet conditions getting into and out of the tent during a storm looks difficult.

    Overall, this is a great tent for the money.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Cons: Loose Threads, NO Footprint
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight, Waterproof
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 15 ... 20 »
  • 141-150 of 200 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.