Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 3 AL Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 3 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 246 reviews 4.369918 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 15 ... 25
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by scout dad from madison, WI on Thursday, August 11, 2011
    This was a great tent for 3 scouts on a 10 day trek at Philmont. quick set up, comfortable, waterproof but tight for 3 as a backpack tent should be. the full coverage fly and vestibules made it great for this use.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Setup, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Drwineski from Costa Mesa, CA on Wednesday, August 3, 2011
    Great for backpacking. I would call it a 2 person tent
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping
    • Cons: NONE
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Setup, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tim from South Coast, NSW Australia on Tuesday, August 2, 2011
    I spent weeks researching tents looking for exactly what I wanted...and I found it. Light weight, small packing size but big enough when set up.[...]
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Setup, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JBYRD from central Idaho mountains on Thursday, July 28, 2011
    for under $100 this tent seems to be a real bargain. Have not experienced bad weather in it yet so the final rating is still out on this one.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Car Camping, Hunting Camp
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Setup, Fly Works Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Desert Rat from Kimberly, ID on Monday, July 25, 2011
    Mostly use this tent on my weekly weekend adventures. It is lightweight enough I'm planning a backpacking trip with it later in August. Set up is a breeze. and i absolutely love the double door double vestibule set up. Completely satisfied with my purchase. I love this tent.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping, Good for all around use
    • Cons: Haven't found one yet
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Setup, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by beachgoer from Wyoming on Wednesday, July 20, 2011
    This is by far the easiest and quickest tent I have ever set up. There are two openings on each side and I love that! It does say it's a 2-3 man tent but the only way three adults would fit is sleeping head to foot. Two fit comfortably. Very impressive design for airflow.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Setup, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by My Best Fest from Hunterdon County, NJ on Wednesday, July 20, 2011
    ALPS products continue to impress me and my 1 experience with their customer service was impeccable. Like Sierra, easy to do business with and highly responsive.

    Other reviewers commented on the small triangular area at top of fly which collects water. Definitely see that but remediated with 2 small bungees. AS other reviewers noted - the value exceeds this small detraction.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Backyard, Beach, Car Camping, Mountaineering
    • Cons: Small design flaw
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Setup, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hph04a from tyler, tx on Tuesday, July 12, 2011
    I received the tent, set it up in the yard, cut a footprint for it out of Tyvek, and went up the Black Cloud Trail on the backside of Elbert. Didn't get to summit but courtesy of some nasty weather I do get to provide a fairly extensive initial review of the tent. This tent performed flawlessly. Through heavy, unending rain, hail, and high wind, this tent didn't so much as flap. The only thing i did experience was very slight condensation on the inside of the vestibule a couple of mornings. There's no way you could find a significantly better tent, even for much more money. I'd definitely buy again
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Setup, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Suds from Fond du Lac, WI on Tuesday, July 5, 2011
    just so easy to set up. really like the dome roof and the space it affords
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Setup, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jrbrown09 from Wisconsin on Tuesday, July 5, 2011
    Only complaint: After the rain stops and you go to unzip the fly, some water spills into the vestibule area. Not too badly but enough to get my attention. Love the simplicity of the 3 person. My wife and I really appreciate the small packing size of the tent.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Backyard, Car Camping, Climbing
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Setup, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 15 ... 25