Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 3 AL Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 3 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 237 reviews 4.354430 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 ... 24
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hesso from visalia ca on Tuesday, October 27, 2015
    Great tent took it deer hunting at 9800 ft in the ca sierras and it did great it was in the high 20's outside with a breeze at night and we were warm inside our tent with the right bag. Easy to set up and pack away. Would have given 5 stars if we would have got to test it in the rain or snow.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Boyscout Bob from Mizzery on Thursday, September 24, 2015
    I need to start by stating I am a huge fan of eureka's backcountry tent. This tent reminded my why. Sleeping length is ok with the Alps tent but not by much. First night of use it rained HARD for about an hour. Seams for both door zippers need to be seam sealed (not included). We got dripped on from multiple locations all along the zipper. The triangle area on top defined by the main poles and cross pole filled like a pond and sagged, but did not leak. With the fly going all the way down (covered vestibule), the whole inner surface of the fly was saturated with water drops on the second morning. There was no rain, but we zipped up because of dew. Almost no wind meant no ventilation, so moisture built up and stayed. Set up was pretty easy, weight is light, seems to be well made, 3 people on a regular campout would be very tight fit, backpacking would still be tight, but you can live with it. Eureka please bring the backcountry back!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Keelan from Canada from Ontario on Tuesday, August 4, 2015
    Just purchased this tent and used it for a 3-day canoe camping trip. Rained one of the days and all through the night. No water leaked into the tent. Additionally it is very light and easy to assemble.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Geoff from Seattle, WA on Wednesday, July 8, 2015
    I got this with a coupon for $108. At that price it is an amazing deal. But this tent should be thought of as a budget quality tent. If you use this tent in the rain, you will get a little wet. It wont be a lot. But its good to be prepared for if you're camping in a wet climate. The zippers on the rain fly leak. After a full night of rain I was getting a constant dribble on both sides of the tent. It wasnt enough to soak my sleeping bag. But I would be worried if I were camping for more than a day in steady rain. You will also get rain in the tent whenever entering and exiting. The walls of the tent are at steep angles. And the doors to the rain fly extend from the ground to directly above you if you're laying down in the tent. So if you open the rainfly door, any rain will fall directly into almost the center of the tent. Unless you have a vestibule, getting rain inside your tent when opening the fly is almost unavoidable. But its good to be aware of.

    The interior of the tent feels much smaller than the dimensions say. I have a 3-person, 4 season tent, that has smaller listed measurements than this one. But this tent feels much smaller inside. It could be from the steep angles of the side walls making some of the floor space unusable. There is still plenty of space for two people to sleep comfortably. But I was expecting more space after reading the specifications online.

    With all of that said and done. This is still a great tent for the price! It's a great summer tent with its all mesh walls. It's fairly lightweight. And unless you're going to be in it for long stretches of rain, you will enjoy it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dgbinns from Port Moody on Tuesday, July 7, 2015
    Beware that this tent is tapered on the footprint. Accommodates a double mattress easily at the head end, but not at the foot end. Had to return it.

    Love how easy it sets up. Very light, would make an excellent pack tent for two people.
  • Reviewed by Mountain Girl from Michigan on Tuesday, July 7, 2015
    On a recent trip, I found out that the rain fly zippers were not sealed properly and they leaked the whole time. I had to drape my rain gear over so I didn't get completely soaked. It is nice and roomy, but I would not suggest it for 3 people. It was hard enough for 2 people with minimal gear. Also, the zipper on the rain fly is very hard to get to the outside corner of the vestibule. This part of the tent needs serious improvements. Everything but the rain fly was fantastic on this tent. I purchased the Kelty TrailLogic TN3 Footprint to go with this tent since the ALPS Mountaineering Zephyr 3 was out of stock everywhere. They are the same dimensions, weighs less, and worked well with this tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Betty from Michigan on Tuesday, July 7, 2015
    Easy to set up, a bit heavier than expected but good tent
  • Reviewed by gvlocal from California on Monday, July 6, 2015
    My only complaint is the condensation that builds up in the inside of the tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ray from Minnesota on Monday, July 6, 2015
    Good tent. Room enough for two and a little gear. I liked having two doors and vestibules.
  • Reviewed by Gator from Iowa on Saturday, July 4, 2015
    I'm hard to fit a tent for given my height/length, but gave this a try anyway. I would say it's better for 6' 2" or less. With a floor length of 88" and my length of 77" I thought I'd have more room at the toes and head, but my sleeping bag head was in the fabric on one side and feet in the fabric on the other. I think I'll have to shoot for something closer to 100" length just to be safe.

    For people under 6' 2" or so, I think this would be a great tent as it's light enough to split between two persons but still use as a backpacking tent. One person could carry it but there's a lot of bulk so make sure to have a bigger pack. Materials looked to be of good quality. Two door design was good. Positioning the fly the first time was a bit challenging (so do this a few times before you hit the trail).
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 ... 24