ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 3 AL Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 3 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 225 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 23 »
  • 11-20 of 225 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DL from Colorado on Wednesday, June 24, 2015
    Love this tent so far. Took it on a camping trip and it withstood a 4 hour downpour with ~15-20mph winds. You need to buy the footprint separately; I got the one that was made for this specific tent and it worked perfectly to keep the tent dry during the long storm. Definitely only fits 2 people though (like all '3 person tents!')
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Camper from Philadelphia on Monday, June 22, 2015
    I was completely surprised and pleased with how easy this tent is to set up. It is excellent if you are camping alone or with another person.

    I also really liked the full mesh top and design of the rain fly. We camped on a hot and humid weekend. To to the ventilation it was very comfortable in the tent and we had no issues sleeping.

    Overall I would recommend this product to anyone.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Camper from Philadelphia on Monday, June 22, 2015
    I was completely surprised and pleased with how easy this tent is to set up. It is excellent if you are camping alone or with another person.

    I also really liked the full mesh top and design of the rain fly. We camped on a hot and humid weekend. To to the ventilation it was very comfortable in the tent and we had no issues sleeping.

    Overall I would recommend this product to anyone.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Winston Carter from Colorado on Wednesday, June 10, 2015
    Yes, I have used better tents but for the money, this thing is great. I've used it twice already and have been impressed. Yes, I'd like better color coding to ease the attachment of the fly and better storage inside. Having said this, I have already referred two of my friends to buy this tent. Great deal.
  • Reviewed by corndog from salt lake city on Saturday, June 6, 2015
    Great value for a lightweight backpacking tent. This is a good two person tent, three would be very difficult. Nice and compact and easy to pack. I also have the two person version of this tent and it is perfect for just me and a little gear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BSiev from Utah on Tuesday, May 19, 2015
    This tent took my through a stormy night on our first outing. With most of the guylines in place it held against the wind and kept us totally dry. The small storage room under the rain fly on either side is useful, although somewhat smaller than other backpacking tents I have seen.
  • Reviewed by Sr Biker from NC on Tuesday, April 21, 2015
    Sets up fairly quick and roomy enough for two with a little gear inside. The two vestibules have enough room for boots and miscellaneous items. However I had a problem with the design during a heavy downpour. The gray triangle area is almost flat and the rain pooled up and the fly leaked, soaking my sleeping bag.

    I had 8 stakes in the ground because it was windy and the tent set fairly tight but it still wasn't enough to prevent the water from pooling. Maybe mine had a fabric flaw. I returned it for something more domed shape.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ctro from Idaho on Saturday, April 18, 2015
    This is a great tent! Pretty snug for three people unless it's for three kids. I'm 5'6" and 110 lbs and it's just right for me and one other person. Easy to set up and tear down and somewhat light weight.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Engineer/hiker from California on Thursday, January 1, 2015
    I just used this tent on a cold trip to the north coast. The weather was very gusty, and quite cold winds. The tent setup goes very quick, and for the first time in many trips I had to stake it down at all four corners as well as the vestibule flaps. On most trips, I don't usually have to bother with fully-staking a tent in place, but this trip required it. The supplied stakes worked perfectly, able to penetrate into the hard earth well and did not come loose. Once staked down, I stood back and watched from outside as a major gust blew at us. The tent flexed over almost till it was flattened about 2.5 feet off the ground, but it did not blow away or come loose. When the gust was past the tent popped back to shape with nothing bent or even loose. Impressive!

    With this much wind the tent was somewhat drafty throughout the night, and not as warm as my other tent, but it is also made from thinner lighter material. I can feel the lighter weight on my pack, so view this as a good tradeoff. We got gusts of rain (but not a full deluge) and we stayed entirely dry. Before morning, the wind finally dropped,. and we slept comfortably.

    The damp ground around us allowed the inside surface of the rainfly to get wet, and they could come together into a drip, and drop droplets of water onto the screened tent-surface itself. After a time those drops would find they way through the tents screened surface, and drip on you.

    So the tent indeed can get you wet inside, but it keeps the bulk of the weather out extremely well. It is very easy to set up, has plenty of room (for two), very convenient with both doors (though possibly drafty because of this), and very light for the size and final usable space. I'm very happy with my purchase, and would recommend it to others.

    Things to improve:
    The inside additional 'shelf' screen is very nice. It makes a great upper shelf for things, but they can fall out the back edge of it. A few velcro closures across the back edge of the shelf would be nice.
    The loops for tying back the doors are very small. The are hard to manipulate, and certainly very hard to manipulate with gloves on. It would be better if they could be the same size as the ties used for the rainfly doors.
    The inside pouch attached against the wall inside could be larger, and deeper. It's current shape only can hold light small things like sunglasses or so. It would be better if it could be deeper (possibly go all the way to the floor) so it could be used to hold a tall water bottle vertical.

    I plan to add these changes to my tent, then I'd say it would be a very nice full solution. I hope you enjoy yours.
  • Reviewed by Eric from Minnesota on Wednesday, December 17, 2014
    I looked long and hard for a good quality, lightweight, compact tent and for the money you can't beat this one. Trust me. It's a three person, and although I was looking ideally for a two, I've found the extra room added benefit. It was on point for a backpacking trip to the Badlands National Park and works very well as a 'car camping' tent when I travel with my girlfriend and our dog.

    You seriously can't beat value.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 23 »
  • 11-20 of 225 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #