ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 3 AL Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 3 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 222 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 23 »
  • 1-10 of 222 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Betty from Michigan on Tuesday, July 7, 2015
    Easy to set up, a bit heavier than expected but good tent
  • Reviewed by Random citizen from California on Monday, July 6, 2015
    My only complaint is the condensation that builds up in the inside of the tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ray from Minnesota on Monday, July 6, 2015
    Good tent. Room enough for two and a little gear. I liked having two doors and vestibules.
  • Reviewed by Gator from Iowa on Saturday, July 4, 2015
    I'm hard to fit a tent for given my height/length, but gave this a try anyway. I would say it's better for 6' 2" or less. With a floor length of 88" and my length of 77" I thought I'd have more room at the toes and head, but my sleeping bag head was in the fabric on one side and feet in the fabric on the other. I think I'll have to shoot for something closer to 100" length just to be safe.

    For people under 6' 2" or so, I think this would be a great tent as it's light enough to split between two persons but still use as a backpacking tent. One person could carry it but there's a lot of bulk so make sure to have a bigger pack. Materials looked to be of good quality. Two door design was good. Positioning the fly the first time was a bit challenging (so do this a few times before you hit the trail).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Montana Mountain Man from Montana on Thursday, July 2, 2015
    This is a great tent for the money. Sets up quick, roomy and well made. Can't wait to take it backpacking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Grandma Paula from Oregon on Tuesday, June 30, 2015
    From the reviews I read while considering purchasing this tent I expected a smaller tent. Instead, I found this tent to be really roomy and easy to set up. I wish it came with a footprint; I plan on making one. I think this tent will be great for car camping
  • Reviewed by Hillary from Texas on Wednesday, June 24, 2015
    It's a good tent. For the price, it's an excellent tent. But it has a massive design flaw. The black triangle in the photo is a flat spot in the rain fly. It collects water and then sags, allowing more water to pool. In a downpour, you end up with a massive puddle of water above you. Not the greatest design. My first long camping trip with it, I discovered this flaw in conjunction with poorly-sealed seams. The two problems together made for a very sleepless night of water torture (thanks to the placement of the triangle, it drips on your head...). The tent is also a bit on the heavy side and it packs down a little too learge for comfortable backpacking, but the weight to price ratio is excellent, so I'm not holding that against it. Those complaints aside, the tent has several positive attributes. The tent has good venthilation and any condensation on the fly tends not to hit the mesh sidewall. It is a very fast pitch and is durable and comfortable. The green of the fly is nice and blends well with foliage so it has a nice natural feel. The all-mesh upper makes for some great stargazing and is great for stifling heat--used it in the Chihuahua and Sonoran Deserts, and the airflow was a real blessing. In sum, it's a great tent for many situations, but be proactive and hit the fly with an extra coat of seam sealer or you'll hate it after the first good thunderstorm...and don't expect to do too many multi-day treks with it (you'll have to choose between the tent and water).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DL from Colorado on Wednesday, June 24, 2015
    Love this tent so far. Took it on a camping trip and it withstood a 4 hour downpour with ~15-20mph winds. You need to buy the footprint separately; I got the one that was made for this specific tent and it worked perfectly to keep the tent dry during the long storm. Definitely only fits 2 people though (like all '3 person tents!')
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Camper from Philadelphia on Monday, June 22, 2015
    I was completely surprised and pleased with how easy this tent is to set up. It is excellent if you are camping alone or with another person.

    I also really liked the full mesh top and design of the rain fly. We camped on a hot and humid weekend. To to the ventilation it was very comfortable in the tent and we had no issues sleeping.

    Overall I would recommend this product to anyone.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Camper from Philadelphia on Monday, June 22, 2015
    I was completely surprised and pleased with how easy this tent is to set up. It is excellent if you are camping alone or with another person.

    I also really liked the full mesh top and design of the rain fly. We camped on a hot and humid weekend. To to the ventilation it was very comfortable in the tent and we had no issues sleeping.

    Overall I would recommend this product to anyone.

  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 23 »
  • 1-10 of 222 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #