ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 3 AL Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 3 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 200 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 20 »
  • 1-10 of 200 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by G-Law from Colorado on Monday, September 15, 2014
    Bought this tent for my daughter as a starter tent for car camping. Easy to put up and fairly light weight. Fits three comfortably. May break down after the test of time, but great value for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by G-Law from Colorado on Monday, September 15, 2014
    For the price it may be worthy of 4 stars. Sets up easy, plenty of room for two. Compacts down small enough to fit into the straps on my backpack. It is light weight, but still may be a bit heavy for backpacking. Have only used on two trips thus far - so not sure how well it will hold up under the test of time. Didn't leak in the rain during first trip, but was threatening to let in moisture last weekend when the poles and fly which iced up over night began to thaw.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by more than novice from chicago on Monday, September 15, 2014
    overall quite pleased with it. Only used it on one car camping trip. I chose it not only for the value, but the size for both backpacking and car camping. I'm sure I'll be quite happy for the little camping that I'll do.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sam from Washington on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    Despite the 74"by89" claim, the tent is not square and can only fit two people. Luckily I purchased this tent for only two people, but it cannot even fit our backpacks in addition to ourselves. The backpacks can however fit under the vestibules, but I do prefer to keep them inside. On the other hand I rated this tent five stars because it is a fantastic value. This is the best value tent I could find while balancing weight, cost, and size for two people.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Eric the cyclist from Iowa on Wednesday, September 03, 2014
    I recently took this tent on a 3-day cycling adventure. The tent is easy to setup and the two door entry is perfect for two people. Realistically we all know, three (3) person tent means two (2) person. The added vestibules make it great for leaving shoes and small items out of the tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jon from Lawrenceville, GA on Wednesday, September 03, 2014
    I bought this tent in an effort to lighten my load from the 4-man tent I was using. I prefer using a hammock, but my boys like sleeping in a tent, so I had to go with something a bit lighter. The Zenith did not disappoint. Our first trip out was an 11-mile, primarily uphill hike, and I certainly felt the weight difference. Setup was a breeze - my 9 year old had no problem helping me get it together.

    Vestibule size is great on both sides - it held both our packs, shoes, and still had room to spare. It was only my oldest son and I and we had plenty of room inside the tent. I can't really say that this would fit 3 adults comfortably, however. It would be quite cramped.

    It did rain a bit on us that day while we were out hiking. One side had the rainfly zipped shut and stayed completely dry. The other was left open and rain did get in a little - it was to be expected. There was no breeze where we stayed, so even with both door flaps open, we felt it was a bit stuffy in the tent until later in the night. Can't really blame the tent for lack of airflow. We didn't experience any condensation.

    Everything is included with the tent, although I do recommend the optional footprint that can be bought elsewhere. I used a lightweight 5'x7' tarp and it fit well, but I'll eventually get the Zephyr footprint, which will fit this tent. Stakes were decent quality, but you could save some weight going with titanium or aluminum. I'd say you need a minimum of 3 stakes when using this tent (2 for door flaps and 1 for vent guyline.

    Everything stuffs well in the included sack and it even included a patch kit. If you strap you poles to your pack, you could probably save some space with a compression sack...I may do this myself so I can pack the tent internally.

    Considering what I paid for this tent (I was able to make use of a 60% off and $.99 shipping coupon), I'm more than pleased with my purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by capitol hill phil from Colorado on Monday, September 01, 2014
    i have only taken this out once but it performed perfectly. easy to put up, lightweight for a three person, and kept me dry in a light but long rain. on the number of people, i was just one and had plenty of room but i couldnt imagine three people.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Powerwagon from Pa on Thursday, August 21, 2014
    Bought this tent for a trip up to Baxter State Park/Acadia NP in Maine and it worked perfect... We had a lot of rain and never had any leaks and the fast setup was great... 3 people you better be pretty good friends...lol
  • Reviewed by Greenscales from San Gabriel Valley on Sunday, August 10, 2014
    My first purchase from STP was a Zenith over 5 years ago. Almost all car solo camping, but with an occasional friend. Plenty of room for 2 with use of the vestibules. Did need to create my own foot print for it though. I am almost always camping at high altitude or along the baja coast and am susceptible to strong winds, and large changes in humidity or temps - blowing fog for instance. This ten t, when set up with enough tension, has very little wind flapping to keep you up at night, and the ceiling vents and the head and toe keep the moisture from condensing in the tent. I can even leave wet clothes hung up inside from the previous day activities with the vents and upper portion of the vestibule doors open and find them dry the next evening. It finally got minor damaged from improper storage. Good enough to buy a second.
  • Reviewed by Cecily from Oregon on Thursday, August 07, 2014
    Easy to carry, easy to set up, easy to get in and out of. I've had this tent for a couple of years and used it for both camping and back packing. It is just the right size for 2 adults and their stuff especially with the two vestibules. I am getting older and quite creaky in the morning and really appreciate the two side doors and decent headroom. I've slept in this tent in coastal rain and wind without a leak and enjoyed the view of the stars with the fly doors tied back on clear nights.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 20 »
  • 1-10 of 200 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.