ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 3 AL Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 3 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 207 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 21 »
  • 1-10 of 207 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Engineer/hiker from California on Thursday, January 01, 2015
    I just used this tent on a cold trip to the north coast. The weather was very gusty, and quite cold winds. The tent setup goes very quick, and for the first time in many trips I had to stake it down at all four corners as well as the vestibule flaps. On most trips, I don't usually have to bother with fully-staking a tent in place, but this trip required it. The supplied stakes worked perfectly, able to penetrate into the hard earth well and did not come loose. Once staked down, I stood back and watched from outside as a major gust blew at us. The tent flexed over almost till it was flattened about 2.5 feet off the ground, but it did not blow away or come loose. When the gust was past the tent popped back to shape with nothing bent or even loose. Impressive!

    With this much wind the tent was somewhat drafty throughout the night, and not as warm as my other tent, but it is also made from thinner lighter material. I can feel the lighter weight on my pack, so view this as a good tradeoff. We got gusts of rain (but not a full deluge) and we stayed entirely dry. Before morning, the wind finally dropped,. and we slept comfortably.

    The damp ground around us allowed the inside surface of the rainfly to get wet, and they could come together into a drip, and drop droplets of water onto the screened tent-surface itself. After a time those drops would find they way through the tents screened surface, and drip on you.

    So the tent indeed can get you wet inside, but it keeps the bulk of the weather out extremely well. It is very easy to set up, has plenty of room (for two), very convenient with both doors (though possibly drafty because of this), and very light for the size and final usable space. I'm very happy with my purchase, and would recommend it to others.

    Things to improve:
    The inside additional 'shelf' screen is very nice. It makes a great upper shelf for things, but they can fall out the back edge of it. A few velcro closures across the back edge of the shelf would be nice.
    The loops for tying back the doors are very small. The are hard to manipulate, and certainly very hard to manipulate with gloves on. It would be better if they could be the same size as the ties used for the rainfly doors.
    The inside pouch attached against the wall inside could be larger, and deeper. It's current shape only can hold light small things like sunglasses or so. It would be better if it could be deeper (possibly go all the way to the floor) so it could be used to hold a tall water bottle vertical.

    I plan to add these changes to my tent, then I'd say it would be a very nice full solution. I hope you enjoy yours.
  • Reviewed by Eric from Minnesota on Wednesday, December 17, 2014
    I looked long and hard for a good quality, lightweight, compact tent and for the money you can't beat this one. Trust me. It's a three person, and although I was looking ideally for a two, I've found the extra room added benefit. It was on point for a backpacking trip to the Badlands National Park and works very well as a 'car camping' tent when I travel with my girlfriend and our dog.

    You seriously can't beat value.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ofer Winestok from Israel on Wednesday, December 17, 2014
    I ordered the tent, then a comprehensive reading of credentials,
    I do not know if they were right because I never got the product.
    I canceled the order after it became clear to me that Israel UPS charge $ 85 more for the cost I paid no explanation on the site or company.

    Dawn shipping companies do not charge this amount, only $ 10 customs clearance
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hankaferd from New Mexico on Monday, October 13, 2014
    This thing is amazing and what a deal. The vestibules have more than enough room to fit a 60-80L pack for those week long trips and also serve as an opening to the outside if left half open during a storm. This thing has room too and without adding too much to the weight. It isn't an ultralight but if you have two people you can split the wight and it really isn't bad at all. I would recommend this tent to anyone looking for a great 2 person (with some room) or some cuddly trio.
  • Reviewed by Idaho Yeti from Boise, Idaho on Sunday, October 05, 2014
    I have used this tent in high winds on Mt Whitney, CA and in mountain thunderstorms on Kings Peak, UT. It has met every challenge! Quick and easy to put up, roomy interior. packs away small. Pack the tent poles separate from the tent to allow the tent/rain fly to be packed down and save space in your pack.
  • Reviewed by Linda in the mountains from Colorado on Monday, September 29, 2014
    I promised to come back and review this tent because I never have. I have used this tent for 4 camping trips out of our boat at Lake Powell. It has surpassed my expectations. Last year, I was caught in the weather system that caused the Sept flooding in Colorado. I had never seen so much rain and wind at Lake Powell. It was extremely unusual and scary to camp in. Everything at Lake Powell is hard rock, so I had to put big rocks in the corners to keep the tent from blowing away, (couldn't stake it). There were sustained high winds all night long and our boat was beached big time. I had to sleep in cat naps because the wind howl kept waking me up. This tent flexed and flexed and I kept thinking it would collapse, but it never did. It rained almost every night, and when setup properly with the rain fly, my gear, my German Shepherd and I stayed dry. On clear nights, I have left the rain fly off and have fallen asleep gazing at the moon and stars. I love the two doors. It is an easy set up. It fits easily into it's stuff sack. There is not one rip from my German Shepherd bounding in and out of it. All the zippers still work. As others have said, you might be able to squeeze 3 people into it, but it is very comfortable for 2 people and gear and a dog, as long as you are not both 6'8" tall. There little tent buddy!! I finally gave you your praise.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trish from Utah on Monday, September 29, 2014
    Just purchased this tent as the zipper on our previous tent had failed. Love the two doors so you don't have to crawl over each other to get in and out. Easy set up and take down, and the fly worked well when it started to rain. Seems to be pretty solid especially for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by G-Law from Colorado on Monday, September 15, 2014
    Bought this tent for my daughter as a starter tent for car camping. Easy to put up and fairly light weight. Fits three comfortably. May break down after the test of time, but great value for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by G-Law from Colorado on Monday, September 15, 2014
    For the price it may be worthy of 4 stars. Sets up easy, plenty of room for two. Compacts down small enough to fit into the straps on my backpack. It is light weight, but still may be a bit heavy for backpacking. Have only used on two trips thus far - so not sure how well it will hold up under the test of time. Didn't leak in the rain during first trip, but was threatening to let in moisture last weekend when the poles and fly which iced up over night began to thaw.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by more than novice from chicago on Monday, September 15, 2014
    overall quite pleased with it. Only used it on one car camping trip. I chose it not only for the value, but the size for both backpacking and car camping. I'm sure I'll be quite happy for the little camping that I'll do.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 21 »
  • 1-10 of 207 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.