ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 3 AL Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 3 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 189 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 19 »
  • 1-10 of 189 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by michael the flip flop hiker from sequim WA on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    Just Camped on greywolf ridge, Sequim 7/13/14. Thunder and lightning storm. I put the Fly sheet on and my girlfriend felt safe and secure. Great tent for 2. I have the 2 person alps tent but the extra space is amazing on this 3 AL.. the extra 2 pounds is well worth it...........Thanks Sierra....
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by IAbrams from Chicago on Friday, July 11, 2014
    I have not actually camped in this tent yet, but wanted to put up some feedback after pitching it once for inspection . As many people have written already, there are a lot of good features to this tent--pockets, lightweight compared to similar-sized tents, ease of assembly, seeming good construction--but it is a tight fit for three. If you are familiar with backpacking tents you will know that they run small, so this one is a "three person" tent in the sense that it is a bit bigger than the tents that are somewhat questionably labelled two person. I'm not sure there is such a thing as a real three person+ backpacking tent. It would be too bulky and heavy. I've never had an Alps tent before, but it's clear that the design and construction are carefully done and the price is very reasonable. It's light compared to most three persons. The tent as shipped (minus cardboard box) weighs exactly 5.5 lbs. If you backpack with it, you can split the burden and leave the outer and pole sacks and drop the weight down to about 5 lbs.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ejseq from Vancouver, Canada on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
    Can't go wrong with this tent for the price. It's definitely not a three person if you are all adults, fits two and room for bags which is what we bought it for. Sets up in less than 5 min and packs down really small.

    The rain cover has a small vent that stays propped up by a rod which was a nice surprise. Definitely recommended.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trail Boss Bob from Stroudsburg, PA on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    Overall this is a nice tent. I waited until actually USING it once before writing a review. This weekend I did a 3-day hike on the Appalachian Trail from NJ to PA and carried the tent myself. The tent sets up easy and packs small. I never used the gear loft or the guy ropes that came with it, as the weekend had zero rain and there's enough room with only 2 people to fit some small items on the tent floor.
    I purchased the footprint (I think they call it a floor protector), which worked well and is the perfect size considering the tent is an odd shape. It would be nice if the footprint extended to the vestibules to keep gear out of the grass when stored there, but it certainly kept the tent floor dry, though the tent was wet on the outside in the mornings (the footprint was wet, the tent floor dry).
    The 2 points where this tent fails... one I understood before purchasing - no matter what the manufacturer says, this is NOT a 3 person tent... MAYBE 3 small children... I shared this tent with my 21-year-old son and we did ok with our packs in the (small) vestibules and a few small items in the corners at the wider end of the tent. As a 1-person tent, this ROCKS (he slept in a hammock the first night)!
    Number 2 fail - there are only stake out points in the corners. This is fine if you are in a nice, clean, manicured campsite, but we had to set up in tall grass. Stake out points on the long sides would have been nice to hold down the tent floor fully before climbing in.
    I'll be doing a 4-state hike on the Trail in August (VA to PA) and plan to "camp-dry" the rain fly before the tril, just to make sure, but honestly, the rain fly seemed to work well at keeping out the moisture we did see.
    After the LONG trip, I will try to come back and update the review for water-proof-ness and other pluses and minuses. I'm sure during a week-long trip we will see some rain!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MT in MT from Montana on Monday, June 16, 2014
    This tent is great, has great rain coverage and is what I expected. The 3 person rating is misleading as that would be very compact but is super comfortable for 2.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KP from New York on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    I bought this tent for my husband and I to go camping and overnight backpacking. So far we have only gone on a two-night trip. This size was perfect for two adult people. I definitely would stay with the 3AL over the 2AL for 2 adult people. Love the ventilation. As others have stated it is a bit heavy for backpacking but not bad for the price. No rain on the prior trip, so I have no comment on its durability to withstand storms and stay dry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bailey Hunter from Colorado on Friday, June 6, 2014
    Had to replace a 15 year old tent and this one was the closest I could find to it's footprint, the low price was a bonus. Just used it on a 3 day backpacking trip and absolutely love it. Rained every day from Noon to 10pm and I was dry as could be, no leaks, no drips, no condensation. Guy lines are a bit confusing but once figured out fairly easy. Quick to set up too.
  • Reviewed by NC State Guy from North Carolina on Wednesday, June 4, 2014
    Have used it 3 times so far and it's been great, zippers are tough and function well. I like the small windows and vent, they are very convenient. I put it up in less than 5 minutes, fly and all. Wish it did pack down smaller but I knew what size/weight going in so I was ok with it. Highly recommend.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scouter Mom from Colorado on Monday, May 12, 2014
    I purchased this for my son who is in Boy Scouts. He loves it. He especially likes the two doors in it. Don' have to crawl over your buddy at night to get out.
  • Reviewed by P Williams from Indiana on Sunday, April 27, 2014
    I bought this mostly for when my girlfriend and I go backpacking. However, I recently used it on a trip with two of my buddies. We're all about 175 and around 6' tall. It was tight, don't get me wrong, but it wasn't uncomfortable. This tent is a fantastic bargain for what you get. I chose this over the Marmot Ajax because it comes with the bathtub bottom and gear loft. It was also a decent amount lighter. I ditched some stakes, and stuff the fly, tent, footprint, and gear loft in a 15L dry compression sack. It compresses to about the size of a cantaloupe. This seems to be about the best value tent you can get for backpacking.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 19 »
  • 1-10 of 189 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.