Ara Tegan Gore-Tex® Tall Boots - Waterproof, Side Zip (For Women)

Closeouts. The perfect companion for your high-fashion trench coats, Ara's Tegan boot is fashioned from sleek nylon and fortified with a Gore-Tex® membrane to keep you dry on rainy commutes.

Average Rating based on 23 reviews 4.130434 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3
  • 1-10 of 23 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cat Lady from Upstate New York on Wednesday, March 18, 2015
    I was a little concerned about the fit when I read previous reviews about these boots. However, for me they're just about perfect! I have a bunion on my right foot but the boots have a wide enough toe box to accommodate for it. The heel height is great (not too high) and the aggressive tread on the soles make these a very sturdy winter boot. I bought the grey swirl print because the color blends well with my navy blue dress coat.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by janet from washington on Friday, January 16, 2015
    Long story short: I tried on the size 7, 7.5, and 8. I'm not sure if the other reviewer who suggested maybe some vanity sizing was going on got a mislabled pair, but I'm usually a 7.5-8 depending on the brand, and I'm an 8 in these. The forefoot is quite tight (the opposite of a Keen fit there). The heel is a comfortable height. There is not much arch support, but except for a Born boot what does? The tread is nicely aggressive. The boot is quite tight around the calf, I'm a climber and may be able to wear leggings inside these boots, otherwise these are under-the-jeans boots or something to wear with a skirt/dress.
  • Reviewed by KarmasSister from KY on Saturday, December 06, 2014
    The shaft of these boots is huge! I am 5'6" and 124 lbs - ideal weight and very fit. These boots are ridiculous! They stood out a good two inches from my trim and muscular legs. Sending back and of course at my expense. Thanks again STP.

    Color is a metallic, shiny blue grey. Not like the photo. Very disappointed but mostly the fit is the most shocking. Why is everything and I mean everything vanity sized?!
  • Reviewed by Bluebird Traveller from TN on Thursday, December 04, 2014
    These were delivered in only the STP box, no packaging so they slid around while in transport. Also, the box had been taped with only one piece of tape and it was barely hanging on once I receive the package. This is a shortcut I've noticed STP making for at least a year. I don't appreciate it since shipping is rarely ever free and never are returns.

    I have another pair of these boots that I bought last year in the dark brown leopard print. They have a matte finish with almost a velvety nap. These are like the material of a soft-shell coat, the striping is not as defined as I expected and the color, to me, had a blue cast. The reflectance of the material might have been what made it look bluer rather than grayer. I can't imagine wearing these. They look cheap.

    Sizing - maybe these are for plus-sized women or people with really, really large calves but these stood out from my legs a good inch or more. I am trim and very fit so my calves are small; I am 5'6" and 120 lbs for reference. My feet were swimming in the boots and maybe mine were incorrectly sized although I checked both and each said 6.5 which is my size. I do not recommend these boots if you want a sleek, streamlined look - they are oversized and bulky. Have boots now gone to vanity sizing?!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mare@Massachusetts from Massachusetts on Monday, October 20, 2014
    These boots just might be the answer to "keeping it classy" while attempting to endure the inclement New England winter.Hoping that the sleek microfiber and Gore Tex keep my feet dry and warm, without looking like an Arctic Expeditionary force! Sturdy treads on the bottom. These are not knee-high. The biggest concern that I had was they run small and a tiny bit narrow. Ordering a half-size up corrected the problem.
  • Reviewed by PKK from Salt Lake City on Wednesday, October 08, 2014
    I so appreciated all the reviews of these boots that helped me to decide to take the risk to buy them, that I'm writing my own review (which I rarely do)! I think it is simply the case that feet are so individual that what works for one woman doesn't for another. I have difficult feet to fit (extra-large upward-curving big toe) and calves (I'm not thin and am also muscular from running) and rarely find boots that fit me. But I've been looking for years to find comfortable dressy Gore-Tex boots like the ones I bought years ago in Canada and have worn down to nubs, so I took the risk. Enough about me! These boots are fantastic. The toe tapers enough to look dressy, but the toe box isn't too narrow to have room for my big toes (and the rest of 'em, too!) The fabric stretches so that they, with some gentle persuasion the first time, zip up over my big calves. The fabric is breathable and there is a fleece liner in the footbed that will make them warm. And they look great! I ended up buying all 3 colors that were in stock--the black, the subtle grey stripe, and the subtle brown stripe. The stripes really are subtle and make the boots even more dressy and interesting. Best thing is that I ordered both a 7 and a 6.5 due to the reviews saying they ran small and the 6.5 was just right for me and makes my feet look smaller than they are. Thank you STP for once again stocking such a high-quality product at such an amazing price.
  • Reviewed by MissLIz72 from Chicago, IL on Saturday, September 27, 2014
    Just got the Graphite Gray Boot, and was SO pleasantly surprised at the subtle yet so pretty pattern. I worried it would be too busy- but it is not at all, and is so much more interesting than a plain black boot! . Love the fit & "easy to walk in" heel height. This is my new "GOTO" boot for dresses, skirts and skinny jeans- for our messy Chicago seasons. Runs very TTS- I am a solid 8, but get an 8 1/2 in boots because I like to wear thick socks, and these are just right. Got the M width which is a bit generous, but will work too. One very happy gal!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by denver mommy from denver,co on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    I am athletic in build. the calf was too small for me. would work for someone with thin legs
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LB from Chicago on Monday, April 07, 2014
    I love these boots. I am an 8 in boots, and only an 8.5 was available, so I took a chance. The price was unbelieivable. I can wear a light wool knee sock or ski sock and the boots fit great. The Goretex simply sheds the water. I have worn these boots 4 times in one week. The shaft is wide enough for thick leggings or "skinny" jeans to be tucked inside. With tights, I added a thin wool running sock and the fit was fine. The leopard print is perfect - sublte and fun. My guy, who usually doesn't always notice what I am wearing, went "whoa, those are nice boots". Per one other reviewer, there is not a lot of cushion under the ball of the foot. I added a thin ball-of-foot pad and that has helped.
  • Reviewed by Margaret Peach from Austink, TX on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    The dark leopardskin print boots are tastefully sexy and that makes it difficult to return them. There are occasions for which they'd be awesome, but I wear few heels and always take with a grain of salt others' estimations of "comfortable". These are the kinds of shoes that women who wear lots of heels find super "comfortable", I think, while i find them tolerable...for fashion. The heel is stable and very attractive, wouldn't be a big deal for work and a bit of walking, but the footbed is not padded and the pointy toe and narrowness won't allow an insole. The material does stretch, so I am able to zip these closed around my calf, but just. The shaft is comfortable closed but overall, I think these are on the small side of 8.5 and M. For reference, though, I've got a rather sturdy, muscular body, I'm 49 and my feet are getting even flatter as a I type, so there you go. I tend to buy very fashionable but very functional footwear.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3
  • 1-10 of 23 reviews