Asics GEL-DS Trainer 17 Running Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. A loaded favorite with premium features including the DuoMax® support system and Propulsion Trussic® system, Asics' GEL-DS Trainer 17 running shoe is back and ready to rock with a stable platform that helps correct mild underpronation and overpronation and a hefty underfoot cushion.

Average Rating based on 27 reviews 4.555555 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 27 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rich from AZ on Thursday, July 10, 2014
    I always vuy these because of the quality and fit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by For Petes SAke from Housotn TX on Thursday, May 8, 2014
    I'm 5'11", 185 lbs and run 7-8 min miles training.

    For a lighter runner, these shoes would be heavy and clunky.

    For me, they are a great semi-supportive option for marathon training in all workouts and even the race. I usually am 11.5 and even though it was suggested to size up, the 11.5 (where slightly smaller) actually fit better. It does have a roomy, open toe box.

    For comparison, my ASICS GT2000's 11.5 were a little too big and had more of a flat footed feel. The Gel DS Trainer 17 has a very smooth transition.
  • Reviewed by JimmyTwoTeeth from Ft. Collins, Colorado on Thursday, February 27, 2014
    I have run in a number of brands before, including Asics, and I have never had this problem before. I got a pair of these, and two weeks later the outer sole on the back heal just fell off. Like the glue or vulcanization or whatever didn't take. Sierra Trading post was kind enough to send me a new pair right away, but now two months later the same thing happened! This time it isn't the back of heal, but the outside edge of the heal that fell off. On both shoes! (If you are looking at the pictures, I am trying to describe the black part of the sole that is attached to the blue part.) I'm not going to write Asics off for this, but I would steer clear of this model.
  • Reviewed by slowrunner77 from Reno, NV on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    Back in the day, these were THE lightweight performance trainer. Fast forward a few years and 10.4 oz seems almost heavy. The support and cushioning though are great, and they should last longer than most any lighter shoe. Great look and fits true. These were just for speedwork back when the averae trainer was 12 they function well as an every day trainer. If you need to shave an ounce, spend a little more for a newer model (these are 2012).
  • Reviewed by EEB from MD on Friday, January 31, 2014
    Great products from Asics. True to size as I wear an 11-11.5 in most shoes
  • Reviewed by Pastor Jay from New York on Thursday, January 30, 2014
    Asics user for thirty years. 30 marathons, ultra or Tri's. They just fit right. Have tried others but always go back. I have purchased dozens of pair from Sierra over the years and have never had to return one pair. Even these last ones I bought. They advertised a half size small so I bought the 11.5 and they are, as usual, a great fit.
    When it comes to athletic and outdoor clothing Sierra is the only place for me.
  • Reviewed by LJL from NYC on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    Immediately comfy. Great for gym workout and walking NYC streets.
  • Reviewed by PK runner from California on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    I used to run in the Kayano. Over last year I've focused on more midfoot/forefoot strike running and switched to the DS Trainer for lighter weight. Great combination!
  • Reviewed by Theo from TN on Monday, December 30, 2013
    My son likes these shoes very much! They aree comfortable and true to size.
  • Reviewed by DStrainerdevotee from DC on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    I've run in this shoe since the 12th or 13th edition. That was about six years ago, so I forget...These are great trainers, with just enough cushioning to protect the feet during 50+ mile weeks but not enough to make them heavy or spongy. Good toe-box room with a stretchy outer side, but a comfy and tight fit that grabs the foot well. Slightly aggressive angle and toe drop is good for faster training (6:30-7:30/mi pace) and tempo runs - everything except interval workouts, for which I use racing flats. I have a pile of these shoes in my closet, hoping Asics never make significant changes to the line...
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 27 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #