Customer Reviews Of:
Asolo Cactus Gore-Tex® Suede Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Avoid prickly situations on and off the trail thanks to the rugged, water-resistant suede upper and waterproof breathable Gore-Tex® membrane of Asolo's Cactus hiking boots.

Average Rating based on 136 reviews 4.580882 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 14
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Coach from Colorado on Friday, May 6, 2016
    I would not call this a "hiking boot" - more like a high top hiking sneaker. There is on mid sole - so you feel every rock you step on. Still, they are light weight and comfy. I had to down size it to get it to fit. If you go to the Asolo web site you get a better idea of what the sizes mean. It is very narrow and feels like an approach shoe. Might be great for aid climbing. One big complaint: the insoles are a joke. It seems like an after market insole is a must these days. Bummer. I actually pulled some out of an old pair of Asolo mountaineering boots I have, and they made a big improvement.

    Bottom line: not a boot. a good approach shoe. maybe a great aid climbing shoe.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ricky from Florida on Wednesday, April 27, 2016
    This boots are my third poor of asolos, very comfortable out of the box, the only thing I don't like is the shoelaces, other than that I love them
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Corey the Farmer from Virginia on Monday, April 11, 2016
    Really like these boots. Got them for summertime wear. Love Asolo as they fit me perfectly and are very true to size. The only consideration is that they will require an additional insert to give a comfortable padded stride. They are not great asphalt shoes but excele on soft ground or for easy hikes. ~ All around real happy with them.
  • Reviewed by Andrew S from California on Friday, April 8, 2016
    I love these boots. I bought a pair for hiking and trekking (not heavy backpacking). They are compliant and light enough to be comfortable. They are sturdy enough to give you some protection on rocky terrain. They seem really well-made. I traveled through Egypt with them as my daily shoe, and they are holding up well. Even with the gortex they seemed breathable in the hot climate.

    A couple negatives: the suede will pickup and hold on to dust, and I was having issues with them compressing my big toe joint during break in (since then I've laced them tighter across the ball of the foot which has fixed this).

    I liked them so much I've since purchased a second pair as a backup.
  • Reviewed by Whoooo! from Denver on Tuesday, April 5, 2016
    I bought these after backpacking in trail running shoes for a couple seasons. I liked the trail running shoes but the they didn't last as long as I would have liked. Plus, I prefer ankle coverage. These shoes are great. I really like the lace to toe design, although I do wish the entire boot wasn't laced with eyelets. Having hooks would speed up taking them on and off, but it is a very minor inconvenience. The only other complaint is the insole. It is incredibly thin and I would like a little bit more midfoot cushioning. When I put thicker insoles in my heel is too high and doesn't fit the shape of the shoe properly (personal problem?). Overall, great shoe! p.s. what is a professional hiker?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cfh from California on Tuesday, April 5, 2016
    Great all day comfort out of the box. Definitely more of a low profile design, thinner sole, etc. Thus the "approach shoe" designation. Great for walking around town in wet conditions. Seem very breathable. The high top adds versatility yet is extremely comfortable and not too warm. Size is very euro true to size. In the US, i am a 13 in nearly all brands, but in the asolo i am a solid 12. Fits great with room for thin to medium wieght socks.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Blue Wolf from Washington on Friday, March 11, 2016
    I've been a professional backpacker for nearly 20 years, and I have tried out numerous hiking boots. I always return to Asolo! I have never had the support, comfort, quality, or waterproofing that I have with Asolo in any other boot. The last pair I had lasted 17 years, and were still in amazing condition. Sadly, I lost them in a house fire and had to replace them. A friend had the Cactus boots and said she loved them so I decided to try them out. I was skeptical at first, I've always had hard leather rather than suede, but they keep my feet just as dry, and supported, and they feel great! The only real difference I notice is a bit more comfort as the suede is more forgiving then the hard leather. Excited to keep hitting the trails.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Born2bogey from Huntsville, AL on Tuesday, March 8, 2016
    Nice boots. Great fit and very comfortable. Long laces make for snug fit. Great value. My first pair of Asolo boots but definitely not my last. Buying from Sierra is so easy. Love the search feature by size.
  • Reviewed by Born2bogey from Huntsville, Alabama on Thursday, March 3, 2016
    Great pair of hiking boots. my foot is narrow and the full lacing is great. Light weight and very comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mac the Shoemeister from Wilmington on Tuesday, March 1, 2016
    I own 2 pairs of these and they are of excellent quality and fit indicative of the ASOLO brand. I was so impressed with my first pair in early 2015,so, I purchased a second pair this year! They have an excellent quality build within the seems, sole, uppers, midsole and vamp. The stitching is A+, an the overall fit is true to size. I wear a size 11D and they didn't require any breakin time whatsoever. I've walked, hiked, ran, worked out in the gym, including 7 hours of walking up and down a recently renovated townhouse. The overal performance, build and overall comfort make this a nice addition to your wardrobe.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 14