Asolo FSN 85 Hiking Boots (For Men)

Closeouts. Ultra-durable and water-resistant, Asolo's FSN 85 hiking boots can handle almost any trail on your topo map. Experience why Asolo's FSN collection received Backpacker's magazine "Best Backpacking Boot" award!

Average Rating based on 587 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 59 »
  • 11-20 of 587 reviews
  • Reviewed by onadventure from Kentucky on Wednesday, December 25, 2013
    Used this boot right out of the box on a steep 4 mile uphill hike, and this boot exceeded my expectations. I can't wait to wear this bot on my next long distance hike. Good job Asolo!!!!!
  • Reviewed by Contest Winner from Virginia on Wednesday, December 04, 2013
    I enjoyed several years of good hiking with a pair of Asolo boots but they finally wore out, so I bought this new model (FSN 85). Like the previous boots, these are very sturdy and have excellent lug soles. Unfortunately, due to medical problems I have developed competing foot needs. I require a larger size and looser fit for my left foot and a regular size boot for the right boot. This new pair meets my left foot requirement but the right foot shoe is too large so I developed some foot pain. Luckily though, the superb boot prices during the holidays permit me to buy a second pair with a smaller size that will meet my right foot requirement. I know, using only two boots out of the four does not seem very cost-effective, However I am comfortable with it because the price of a store-bought pair of boots with the quality of the Asolo FSN 85 would probably be about the same as the two pair that I have bought on the Sierra website during Cyber Week. Heading for the hills!
  • Reviewed by weedhopper from Northern Arizona on Thursday, November 21, 2013
    Read lots of the reviews before purchasing these boots. I'm a solid 10D and have never had to purchase a wide boot so went with the medium. Seemed like a good fit at first but over time I realized that they were too narrow - especially in the toe box area. Keeping these for work were I'm not on my feet a lot but ordered another pair (wide) for weekends and hiking. The wide fit is much more comfortable.
  • Reviewed by One Fuzz from Eastern PA on Saturday, November 16, 2013
    I've had these boots 3 weeks now, and I wear them 5 days/week, walking 10 miles/day in them back & forth to work. I ordered wides- they are not all that much wider than a normal boot so they are pretty snug. The soles are rock-hard, hold the ground well, and look like they will last a very long time; this also means that they do not flex much. I've been lucky with the weather lately, so I cannot speak to how well they might handle rain or snow. The only real disappointment I've encountered is that when they arrived, both boots' first set of metal lace catches were pinched down, with the laces in them so that the laces could not move. I had to pry them open with a screwdriver.
  • Reviewed by RocDog from Iowa on Tuesday, October 29, 2013
    Asolo's are just plain great boots. Break in quick, wear great, good traction, support, etc. True fit, never have had a pair go bad other than just wear out eventually. The soles are sticky, so they don't wear like iron, but they wear plenty long enough. Fantastic approach shoes for climbing.
  • Reviewed by ken from CA on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    Quality is great. The only shortcoming for me is the width. I bought 10wide and they are slightly narrower than the goretex version of the same boot. So for me the right boot is not wide enough. I'm hoping it will break in and be as comforable as the left boot. They weigh 3.0 pounds and have a stiff enough sole that you can hike in rough terrain in relative comfort. They are more stable than some other boots I have tried while weighing less. Each ounce on your feet is equivalent to 6 on your back and these are about as light as you can go and still get great stability.
  • Reviewed by D. Folk from the mountains from Carbondale, Colorado on Saturday, October 19, 2013
    These are my third pair of Asolo in 15 years. These boots are very well made and comfortable. I've worn them all summer in mountainous terrain. They provide great support and hold up very well to rugged use. They have saved my ankle numerous times from a rollover with the high cuff.
  • Reviewed by Chicago Slim from Illinois on Thursday, October 17, 2013
    These boots fit my feet well and are very comfortable. For the price they are an excellent value. Used for street hiking and lighter outdoor day hikes. Probably not heavy duty enough for extended backpacking. Have bought these model boots many times over the years. The only con--the soles are not Vibram and their long term durability is shorter than optimally desired.
  • Reviewed by NY Gunks from New York on Thursday, October 17, 2013
    I have wide feet with high arches that are hard to find comfortable shoes. Ordered these in a wide width and they fit perfect! These are the most comfortable and sturdy pair of hiking boots I have bought ever! Ordered another pair.
  • Reviewed by Zoltarswim from California on Tuesday, October 08, 2013
    I bought these in 10W. These boots fit me really well. I wear a size 10 and my feet are slightly wider than average.
    I've taken these boots on a couple of long hikes (25+ miles), some short hikes, and I also wear them at the winery I work at everyday.
    --
    These boots do not dry quickly. I realize they aren't "waterproof," but I figured given the lack of membrane they would dry more quickly than a waterproof boot. This is not the case. It took them several days to dry out on my hike through the olympics.
    --
    If you are getting these boots wet repeatedly, the leather will not stay in good condition. After two months of daily soaking at the winery (clean up is crazy), the leather has begun to crack in the natural fold. For the price and the beating I have put on them, I suppose this degradation is acceptable. I haven't done anything to preserve the leather and some of the solutions we use for cleaning at the winery really dry the leather out.
    --
    Pros
    1) This boot is great for desert hiking
    2) This boot fits me really well
    3) This boot stays tied well
    4) the leather toe guard is a nice touch
    Cons
    1) The boot is not one piece leather (you know this when look at it)
    2) The seams and leather are not incredibly durable
    3) For a boot without a membrane it doesn't dry that quickly
    4) After repeated soakings the leather becomes brittle (without treatment)

    Final Thought

    For dry environments you can't beat this boot for hiking. The price is fantastic when on sale. I would buy this boot again if I knew I wouldn't be hiking in a wet environment or working in a wet environment.
    5) The boot has average stiffness and a nice Vibram sole
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 59 »
  • 11-20 of 587 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.