Asolo FSN 85 Hiking Boots (For Men)

Closeouts. Ultra-durable and water-resistant, Asolo's FSN 85 hiking boots can handle almost any trail on your topo map. Experience why Asolo's FSN collection received Backpacker's magazine "Best Backpacking Boot" award!

Average Rating based on 587 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 59 »
  • 1-10 of 587 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Always Outdoors from Northeast Pa on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    Like other reviews, I agree they are stiff out of the box. I have worn them twice to work to break them in a little and I feel them giving a little. I think a few more days to work and they will be one of my favorites.
  • Reviewed by Johnny Boy from Connecticut on Monday, March 31, 2014
    I've ordered these for about 5 or so years and have never been disappointed. I wear these boots everyday as my everyday shoe and they fit comfortably from day one. It's an extremely comfortable, firm boot that lasts. I get about a year's worth of use wearing them everyday, for not only hiking but for working around my property. I'm on my feet 16 hours a day and the Asolo FSN 85 holds up. I hope this model is never discontinued.
  • Reviewed by Dan Higgins from Big Sur on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    After about two hours of wearing these the bottoms of my feet became very tender and started hurting. I took a boot off and pulled out the sole and do you know what I found? Just under the sole is an extremely hard piece of plastic that covers the entire area just underneath the sole. Who in the world wants that? Extremely hard and uncomfortable.
  • Reviewed by Matt Christiani from Traverse City, MI on Monday, February 10, 2014
    My first set of Asolo boots and I must say I'm pretty impressed. These things are STIFF right out of the gate but loosen up after a bit of wearing. If you are planning on a serious hike in these I would recommend you get them at least 2 months ahead of time so they can be broken in correctly. Outstanding fit and finish.
  • Reviewed by JDR from New York on Saturday, January 11, 2014
    Excellent high quality shoe that I ended up paying less than half retail!
  • Reviewed by Bev from KY on Thursday, January 09, 2014
    Great fit. Only hiked 3 miles but very comfortable. Wide, needed extra socks but I was impressed with the look and fit.
  • Reviewed by Lebayer from Spokane on Monday, January 06, 2014
    Wanted to wait a bit on reviewing this boot. Conditions here are terribly icy and it's difficult to work the boot well. It is built on a narrow last, apparently typical for Asolo. Works fine for me because I wear an 11.5 B shoe. Surprisingly, given how narrow the boot is, the heel pocket is not proportionately narrow. I get some slippage with the standard insole but much less with a slight heel lift. The guy at REI told me I'll get even less lift when the boot is fully broken in. Don't anticipate a problem and can't help but be impressed with the quality of workmanship throughout. Am anxious to use them in hot weather and don't think I'll be much bothered by the lack of Goretex and cool boots are a blessing. So, if you have a narrow foot, these are fine boots.
  • Reviewed by Jason on the frontier from Worldwide on Friday, January 03, 2014
    I love these boots! I bought them for everyday wear, I work on uneven terrain and I'm a big guy with flat feet and need good boots with good support,these boots provide that. With most boots I can feel every rock beneath my feet, these boots make me feel like I'm walking on flat terrain. I wish Asolo would make these in a gortex model. If you want great boots at an affordable price, I would highly recommend these boots.
  • Reviewed by onadventure from Kentucky on Wednesday, December 25, 2013
    Used this boot right out of the box on a steep 4 mile uphill hike, and this boot exceeded my expectations. I can't wait to wear this bot on my next long distance hike. Good job Asolo!!!!!
  • Reviewed by Contest Winner from Virginia on Wednesday, December 04, 2013
    I enjoyed several years of good hiking with a pair of Asolo boots but they finally wore out, so I bought this new model (FSN 85). Like the previous boots, these are very sturdy and have excellent lug soles. Unfortunately, due to medical problems I have developed competing foot needs. I require a larger size and looser fit for my left foot and a regular size boot for the right boot. This new pair meets my left foot requirement but the right foot shoe is too large so I developed some foot pain. Luckily though, the superb boot prices during the holidays permit me to buy a second pair with a smaller size that will meet my right foot requirement. I know, using only two boots out of the four does not seem very cost-effective, However I am comfortable with it because the price of a store-bought pair of boots with the quality of the Asolo FSN 85 would probably be about the same as the two pair that I have bought on the Sierra website during Cyber Week. Heading for the hills!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 59 »
  • 1-10 of 587 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.