Asolo Mantra Approach Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Handle miles of trail with ease in Asolo's Mantra approach shoes thanks to their water-resistant suede upper, anatomic Lite 2 footbed and grippy Vibram® Tenere rubber outsole.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ghost from arcadia ca on Friday, July 18, 2014
    I got these in green earlier this summer and find myself wearing them daily by choice. Perfect support and traction for long walks. The black toe rubber is really attractive as well as the colors ....like Converse's but with great support. I got this shoe in mns 7&1/2 and it fits me ...which is wms 8&1/2 shoe.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Californian from California on Friday, June 6, 2014
    Nice lightweight approach shoes. Comfortable. My friend made a backpacking trips in those - his complain that small gravel gets through the lacing into the shoe. I yet to try them, but after wearing them for day, they don't seem to need a breaking period.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Old ST customer from Florida on Wednesday, May 14, 2014
    nice shoe. Crazy color. A little narrow
  • Reviewed by Sierra Hiker from California on Tuesday, April 8, 2014
    These are very nice fitting and comfortable shoes. They appear to be well made and durable. They have relatively thin but grippy soles (probably standard for an "approach" shoe). My foot measures to 9 1/2, I got these in a size 10 and they fit perfectly. If I could get them in a better color (I got carrot, which goes with ?) I would wear them always.
  • Reviewed by RiK from Wisconsin on Thursday, February 6, 2014
    They are all just so danged comfortable, and wear extremely wear. This shoe ran 1/2 size smaller than normal, but was very comfortable and fit like a glove. Liked it so much I bought the hid-top version too. I would have happily paid $20 more for a Gore-tex version, but STP didn't have them in stock. I now own six pair of Asolo shoes and wouldn't wear anything else from simply trail shoes to mountaineering boots. Great brand.
  • Reviewed by Jack from vancouver wa on Monday, January 6, 2014
    Bought this pair and a women's for my wife. Have been wearing them locally. Are not very grippe and actually kind of slick on wet hard surfaces. I would have expected them to hold better on a slick surface. Don't find them very comfortable at all. They will need after market inserts. No arch support at all. I think your feet will hurt wearing these with a heavy pack.
  • Reviewed by Ang from ABQ from New Mexico on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
    Bought these for my husband and he says they are great shoes. He has only wore them around town so far but he says they are very comfy.
  • Reviewed by Asolo #1 from BC on Wednesday, April 3, 2013
    Asolo makes great footwear and I was surprised to see this style so discounted. Very well made and fits perfectly.
  • Reviewed by Asolo #1 from BC on Friday, March 29, 2013
    Typical product from Asolo which is outstanding design and comfort. I think it will be a very long time before the sole wears out as they seem to be built very well. Every pair of Asolo footwear I have had or still have fit perfect every time and I never have a problem. I have a high arch and a large heel.
  • Reviewed by Lookout Ranch from Sierra Foothills on Sunday, March 3, 2013
    I got a pair of these from Sierra Trading Post just before leaving on a week-long trip to the Nevada high desert, Death Valley and Las Vegas, so I've put them through their paces, so to speak.

    First the good news:
    -- With laces all the way to the toe, these shoes are great for someone like me who has a low volume foot. These shoes can be laced to fit like a glove.
    -- No break-in required. They fit nicely and felt great after walking just a few blocks near my home and adjusting the laces to taste. When I first put them on, part of the molded sole pressed against the forward part of my arch in an odd way, but this went away almost immediately.
    -- My heel is locked in and feels really snug and secure, no slippage at all. I don't think I've ever had a new shoe fit so well in the heel.
    -- The heel platform feels very solid and stable when walking.

    Now the bad news:
    -- The tongue isn't gusseted, so small grains of sand that are kicked up and land on top of the shoe in the course of normal walking have a way of making their way inside via the base of the tongue. After awhile, if you're walking in anything soft or sandy, you find yourself with a bunch of sand in the toe box. And no, it didn't come in over the top of the shoe. It took me awhile to figure this out, but that's how it is. Accordingly, these shoes are best suited for walking on hard surfaces.


    Now the good or bad news, depending on what you want:
    -- These are fairly lightweight. If you're walking on rocky, hard, uneven ground, you'll feel some of those rocks through the soles. If you want a lightweight shoe for walking on hard, mostly smooth surfaces, these are excellent. You may want something more rugged if you're concerned about rocks bruising the bottoms of your feet. These aren't rugged hiking shoes with tough soles.

    Note on Sizing:

    I typically wear sizes 11.5 or12 with a normal D width. As mentioned, I have a low volume foot with a low instep. The size 12 fit perfectly.

    Summary:

    Overall I like them a lot. With my low volume feet, it can be hard to find shoes that fit well, and these really do. They're very comfortable and excellent shoes within the limits of their intended use.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.