Customer Reviews Of:
Asolo Mantra GV Gore-Tex® Approach Shoes - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Asolo's Mantra GV Gore-Tex® approach shoes take you through summer hikes and wet scrambles in the comfort of a Gore-Tex® waterproofing system, an anatomic Lite 2 footbed and Vibram® Tenere rubber outsole that grips in changing trail conditions.

Average Rating based on 170 reviews 4.582352 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 17
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rxrwade from New Jersey on Wednesday, July 27, 2016
    Good looking shoe, good quality build. I'm a size 9D and the fit was perfect. This is not a stiff hiking shoe, the sole is quite flexible so better suited to on-trail hiking. Not a lot of arch support or padding on the sole, so advise using your own.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bonz from florida on Saturday, July 23, 2016
    very comfortable. well made. better to put your own insert in. haven't hiked in them yet
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JamesLC from Washington, DC on Sunday, July 10, 2016
    Have always been really pleased with anything I get from Asolo, and these fit the bill.

    Pros:
    * super light
    * comfortable, really good fit
    * great sole, great support

    Cons:
    * ...none yet? Though I haven't put them through the wringer yet with any serious hiking

    In all, couldn't be more pleased...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by justanaveragejoe from northern minnesota on Thursday, June 30, 2016
    These shoes fit like a glove. Very comfortable and true to size. Well made and built to last.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Christianp from Monticello on Wednesday, June 22, 2016
    Comfortable yet extremely sharp looking. I haven't used them in the field yet, but I think the Goretex feature is going to be critically important on hikes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Santa Fe Slick from New Mexico on Monday, June 20, 2016
    Great fit right out of the box....actually wore the shoes to an informal Summer gathering and got lots of complements on their looks....this is my 4th pair of these shoes and they are great for city and country infomercial wear and walking around.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hill Country Buyer from Austin on Friday, June 17, 2016
    Bought the wool color mid-May (this year), and have been wearing them regularly since they arrived (I think it took about 5 days for the shipping). A couple of things: First, these shoes are of superior quality. Light-weight, tough, aesthetically pleasing and ZERO break-in time. I get compliments every time I wear them to the office. I haven't tested them off-road yet, but I intend to put them to the test soon. I have no concerns that they will perform as well as my other Asolo's (Synchro Hikers). Secondly, these shoes are extremely comfortable and true to size. I typically wear a 9.5 or 10 M (D width). I went with the 10 M, since that is what I got in my Asolo Synchro's. I'm glad I did. You can tell by the look and feel that the Mantra's run a little narrow, but they fit me great, and no fatigue or soreness after being on my feet most of the day. Caution to those of you who have wide feet (E or wider): these shoes will probably not work out well for you. And...as mentioned in some of the other reviews, the insoles are quite thin and offer very little support. Not a problem for me, though. I have a variety of decent quality insoles, so I swapped them out and now it's like walking on air. Finally, I was so stoked about these shoes that I ordered another pair...TODAY! This time, I got the fire red. Can't wait for them to arrive.

    As always, STP gets two thumbs up. I've never had a problem with anything I've ordered, and I've never had to return a single thing (and I have ordered LOTS of clothing and footwear from STP over the past 2 years). If you can find these shoes in your size, grab them quick...they will not be around at these prices. Also, I always encourage folks to READ THE REVIEWS. And take the good with the bad. It will help you, especially if you are on the fence about a product.

    Thanks STP! Thanks Asolo!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colorado mom from Colorado Mountains on Tuesday, June 14, 2016
    My husband was reticent to spend the money on these shoes, but he loves them! They are very comfortable for walking and hiking and look nice enough to wear to work on casual Fridays.
  • Reviewed by Shawn from PA on Saturday, June 11, 2016
    I can not say enough about these shoes. I have had 3 other pairs of asolo boots. They were ok. I must say I am impressed with these shoes!!
  • Reviewed by Bruce from Reno on Wednesday, May 25, 2016
    These are very well made shoes that look great but I eventually returned them.
    Two issues: The toe area is quite tight in the height direction. I found that during long hikes using hiking socks my toes felt pinched and sore.
    Also, there is very little cushioning in the sole. Now, that might be by design as an approach shoe where you want sensitivity to the rock, but it makes for a hard sole to hike in. And I need approach shoes that are good for several mile approaches. The foot bed (liner) is also worthless, but most shoes seem to come with cheap liners.
    I've gone to La Sportiva Boulder X shoes.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 17