Customer Reviews Of:
Asolo Neutron Hiking Boots (For Men)

Closeouts. Asolo's Neutron hiking boots have an incredibly durable Cordura® nylon upper, toe and heel overlays and a Vibram® rubber outsole that excels during on- and off-trail missions.

Average Rating based on 86 reviews 4.395348 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 9
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rick the ski addict from CA on Saturday, October 15, 2016
    It's hard to find good light weight boots without Gore Tex these days, so I was stoked to get these. I put in about 100 miles and 24,000' of elevation gain hiking and climbing Sierra Nevada peaks in these boots the first month I got them. Terrain included hiking trails, steep off-trail rock and sand slogs, 3rd and 4th class granite. Ankle support is excellent in rough terrain, and grip on granite is very good. Durability is very good. Soles are stiff without feeling clunky. They don't have the clammy Gore-tex feel. These are now my go-to boots for everything but snow and ice or very cold conditions. I like them so much that I bought the Gore-Tex version for colder winter conditions- they are stiff enough for hinged crampons.

    The fit: my feet are low volume, with narrow ankles and wide fore foot. Size 9 1/2 running shoes give me just the right extra toe room, and 9 1/2 in Asolo boots are just right. I replace the insoles with blue Superfeet and use a heel-lock boot lacing technique (Google it- mountain has a good description) to dial in the fit. Using heel-lock lacing, I get excellent ankle support and zero heel lift.

    No break-in period required, but I did a short hike the first time to dial in the lacing. Longest hike so far was 16 hours, and boots were still comfortable and not clammy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bo Reeves from Alabama on Thursday, September 8, 2016
    The boots I ordered fit perfectly the first time I put them on and I will order another pair before these wear out. The quality is excellent to go along with the great fit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Leggman from Afghanistan on Thursday, September 1, 2016
    It's a solid boot and of good quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Avid Asolo Wearer from New Mexico on Thursday, September 1, 2016
    This is my husbands fifth pair of Asolo boots! He loves them and wears them every single day. They hold up very well and look nice enough to wear for work days in the field. At Sierra Trading Post prices you really cannot beat them. They do run narrow so are not for those with a wide foot but once he found the right size it's the only hiking boot he wears!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Josh from MO on Tuesday, August 30, 2016
    Haven't had them long, but they seem well made.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob and his dog. from North Carolina on Sunday, August 28, 2016
    Let's just say that I should have bought them years ago. I wore them around the house for a few days, and then after I decided that I would keep them I wore them into the office. No complaints so far! Then I wore them on my weekly 10 mile hike. This is a training hike for Zion this year, and they performed wonderfully. The guys noticed that I had a faster pace, and they contributed it to the boots. I have to say, the Asolo's were purchased after the soles of another boot manufacturer failed.

    These boots are light, have great support, little breakin time, so the bottom line, I will only buy Asolo from now on. I did get a couple of hot spots, but no blisters. I also felt my left foot jamming into the front on a few descents, but after re-adjusting the laces, had no more problems. So I think after a few more hikes, they should broken in enough to take to Zion for a week of hiking in the canyons.

    A great product, and I would definitely buy a pair.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim S. from Jim on Wednesday, August 24, 2016
    Right out of the box these boots are comfortable and a nice toe-box.
  • Reviewed by Nate from Miami (Alaska for these boots) on Wednesday, August 24, 2016
    Bought these for a trip to Alaska. Broke them in the month prior by wearing to work for about 7 days, but really didn't need the break in. Performed excellently in almost every condition. Good traction in mud, loose rock, dirt, gravel, dry rock, sand. Kept my feet dry and comfortable even in heavy rain and creeks up to my low ankle.

    Had a little trouble on wet rock. Traction rather poor, probably due to no siping and rubber tuned towards longevity rather than superior wet rock traction.

    Very stable, good ankle support when laced up well, and light enough to wear all day and to dinner.

    Highly recommend.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ward Homes LLC from Seattle on Thursday, August 11, 2016
    5th pair of Asolo boots in 4 years, I wear every day for construction and hiking on the weekends average 5 miles a day... These are heavy duty and stiff, perfect for rugged trails, I have gore tex ones for winter as well, these breath a little better in the summer. Never had a failure on the soles like other brands where they separate a the toe or sides, worn out the soles before any wear shows on the uppers. I use insoles as the footbed is a little harder than most but I have bad feet anyways. Romanian made are the best I've found. Stood up to rugged Tucson canyoneering as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy customer from Connecticut on Saturday, July 2, 2016
    True to size very comfortable. I wear this boot every day for everything, work, play, hiking, etc. I have tried all brands and asolo is the most comfortable and last the longest. And sierra has the best prices.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 9