Asolo Sasslong Gore-Tex® Backpacking Boots - Waterproof, Nubuck (For Men)

Closeouts.With a tough nubuck upper, Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable membrane and Vibram® rubber outsole, Asolo’s Sasslong backpacking boots thrive under heavy loads in rugged backcountry terrain.

Average Rating based on 990 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 99 »
  • 1-10 of 990 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by clifford from montana on Monday, September 01, 2014
    great boot. sometimes rubs a little in the heel but 2 years on em and wearing good and just got back from a 2 day non stop rain trip and with gaiters my boots stayed dry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by M White from Washington on Saturday, June 07, 2014
    This boot is iron tough, Completely waterproof, Great foot bed - I have very expensive custom orthoditics and don't need them in these boots - Hardwere and material is all first rate.. The stability laced in to the Sasslong is very firm - no ankle sprangs here- Would cosider these boots up to the task for heavy backpacking and even more. The fit is spot on, And I purchased a 2nd pair just yo put up for replacement if the first ones ever wear out. Love this boot!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jack from Colorado Springs on Monday, May 26, 2014
    These were bought to do erosion mitigation after the Waldo Canyon fire so the time is spent working on unstable terrain some of which is very steep. Spending time in the burn area my footing has been good, they are comfortable and have spent up to seven hours a day working in them. Did one hike of about 5 miles just to use them and all was well.

    Haven't tested them in water so no opinion on that, the laces stay secure once tied, hopefully they can last until the mitigation process is done. At this point no complaints.
  • Reviewed by Dalar from Ukraine on Thursday, May 15, 2014
    Very good quality of boot!!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Newbie hiker from C falls Montana on Thursday, May 15, 2014
    Solid and comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AK Jim from Alaska on Wednesday, May 14, 2014
    Great fit, very comfortable, good support . I hope to walk out heavy this coming Alaska hunting season.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by matt from oregon on Monday, May 12, 2014
    The comfort right out of the box is great. It is a very stiff boot so that takes some breaking in and getting used to but I prefer a stiffer boot. I do wish it was a bit taller with a little more ankle articulation front and back but more ankle support is better than too little. All in all these are great boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Long John from Northern California on Monday, May 05, 2014
    This is a well designed well built heavy backpacking boot. I ordered one half size up (11 instead of 10.5) and a wide width. The boots were much too narrow for my feet. These boots, even the wide widths, are extremely narrow boots. The Vibram soles are also remarkably narrow. These are high quality boots if you have narrower feet. As a basis for comparison, when I realized that these boots were too narrow for my feet I ordered from STP one pair of 11.5 Wide Asolo Goretex Powermatic 100 backpacking boots as replacements for the too narrow Sasslong boots. The Powermatic 100 boots were a more typical width and fit my feet well with a minimum break in requirement. The Powermatic 100's are a great value with current STP pricing. ALSO, I recently ordered from STP one pair of Asolo Neutron Goretex 11.5 Wide hiking boots. The Neutrons are well built and fit my feet well. For summer use I have also ordered one pair of Asolo non-goretex Neutron 11.5 Wide hiking boots. Asolo has a design and specification problem with the Sasslong boots, which is a real shame because they are such high quality well made boots. Again, I highly recommend STP for Asolo Goretex Powermatic 100 hiking boots and for Asolo Neutron hiking boots. The Sasslong model boots are too narrow for people who need a wide boot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by justanaveragejoe from northern minnesota on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
    This boot is very well constructed, heavy duty and will last a long time. Good for dayhikes, but stiff enough for multi day hikes. I have worn mine comfortably in 30° temps for 3-4 hours with a mid-weight hi-perf sock. I also wear them as everyday boots. Buy two pair if you can. You will likem that much!
  • Reviewed by Hat from Virginia on Sunday, April 06, 2014
    I originally purchased a pair of these merely because Asolo fit me (more on that below),and because the deal ST offers is quite good. I never wear my good hiking boots on pavement and wanted a decent all-around every day beater that could handle jobsites, stonework, and an afternoon scramble without changing shoes. A year + later, having worn these 5 days out 7 I have to say, I was flat out surprised. The Sasslong is a fantastic boot: comfortable, rugged, surprisingly cool in the summer for an all leather gortex boot and, while I wouldn't call it "warm" in the winter per se, the waterproofing is excellent; dry feet tend to be warm feet so, with extra socks and keeping moving these are fine to 20f if you have reasonable circulation.

    The sole is surprisingly stiff, which I happen to like. The Sasslong can handle any load you'd care to carry, on just about any terrain. They actually climb surprisingly well and have performed just fine on quite a bit of impromptu bouldering, the odd chimney, and so on. The vibram sole is of a narrow, mountaineering style, not the most stable platform out on the flats (where stability is not a concern!), perfect for nimble foot placement and scrambling. Not the boot for crampon work, but short of that, a truly versatile three season mountain boot that happens to be comfortable enough for daily wear (if one needs or likes wearing boots). On the break-in, I'd say these are ok out of the box, comfortable after 20 miles, and broken in after 50.

    Regarding size: Asolo's run narrow. This is great in an all leather boot, as the boot can mould itself to your foot, and while stiff-soled, this boot grabs your heel well so there's no heel lift, less blisters, a more "positive" foot feel (one can feel where one's foot is on the terrain). All that is great -- unless you have really wide feet. They make a wide size too but, if you have EEE feet I think even the wide would be too tight. In the realm of boot sizing, Asolo's and La Sportiva's tend to the narrow, Lowa's are in the middle, and Scarpa's are high volume (there are some exceptions within the brands, but that is a good general rule). The stock footbed is relatively worthless (as they generally are) unless your foot is on the high-volume end, in which case you can't give up any space for a Superfeet or Sole insole which otherwise, you'll want.

    Mine have put in over a thousand miles of this-and-that use, are still waterproof , and have enough tread for a few more goes. I don't think they're in the category of boot worth resoling, but I would definitely get another pair if they're still around when my current pair gives up the ghost.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 99 »
  • 1-10 of 990 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.