Asolo Shelter Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Women)

Closeouts. These Shelter hiking boots from Asolo feature a water-resistant suede and high-tenacity nylon upper joined by the waterproof breathable protection of a Gore-Tex® membrane.

Average Rating based on 41 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 41 reviews
  • Reviewed by E! from san diego on Saturday, May 04, 2013
    a little too stiff, chunky and heavy. I heard good things about Asolo and still want to find the pair that's right for me. I started with Keen, then moved on to Vasque Breeze which had great traction thanx to vibram lug soles. Ready for a new pair.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Seattle Hiker from Seattle, WA on Wednesday, February 20, 2013
    I've had issues finding a decent pair of durable hiking boots. These boots are great. They didn't require much of a break-in period and I was able to start using them on longer hikes fairly quickly. They have GREAT ankle support which is extremely important when you're going over boulders or on trails with a lot of debris. My only complaint so far is that they seem to be a bit poor with traction if it's wet but then again, I think most boots are if it's raining quite heavily and you're walking on tree stumps or mossy areas. Overall, this is an awesome boot for the price and I'm hoping they last a long time.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by icymadonna from Los Angeles, CA on Friday, February 08, 2013
    Good ankle protection, good traction, very stylish. I like them because they go well with shorts or long pants. They are a little heavy. I recommend the use for long-distance hiking or backpackers. The boots are too heavy and unnecessary for casual day-hikers.

    The first time I wore them was to a 2-day convention show of literally non-stop walking for at least 9 hours a day. By the end of the 2-day, my ankle was slightly bruised due to the stiffness of the ankle support. My legs felt like lead. Once I got used to them, they were good. I recommend buying extra shoe pads to insert in the shoes. Dr. Scholl's for Her 16-Hour Insoles made me feel like walking on cloud and also increased the arch support which was great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Explorer 91 from Seattle, WA on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    Great boot, Was recommended by a friend and I am so glad I bought it!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Not happy from New York, NY on Friday, December 21, 2012
    This was a Xmas gift for my mom. I received it from Sierra with one shoe lace tattered a week before Christmas. I just didn't have time to have it returned and resent drama so I'm giving it only 3 stars. I cannot believe I got a pair of these very nice hiking boots with a tattered shoe lace. I couldn't find any place to replace the lace locally either. So annoyed. I'd recommend sort of but maybe not through Sierra
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hikeswiss from San Francisco CA on Monday, November 19, 2012
    I really liked this shoe but, for me, it ran a bit narrow in the toe box. For most people this boot would probably work fine. Love the fit, otherwise, and the Gore-Tex is always a must.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ljjh from Minnesota on Thursday, June 21, 2012
    Nice boot
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Environmentalist
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Beauboy from North Central Idaho on Friday, April 06, 2012
    I purchased these boots for my wife knowing she has hard to fit feet. Like womens 11AA. She loved the boots but they were just a bit too wide. She commented about the quality craftsmanship and hated to return them. Wish Asolo's came in a narrow size. Sierra's return policy and return handling is second to none. Thanks.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Sturdy/Durable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cheryl SW from Wauconda, WA on Thursday, March 29, 2012
    The highlight is the durability of this shoe.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mom of Husky from Iowa on Tuesday, March 13, 2012
    I couldn't believe how comfortable these boots were when I 1st put them on. They hugged my foot like my ski boots. I have a high arch & narrow heel, no slipping of the heel and I didn't have to lace them tight to keep my foot from sliding around. I wore them around the house the 1st day & took my husky pup for 1.5 hour walk the next day. I've walked my dog in them several times now & no sore spots & no breaking in needed. I'm ready to try them for hiking or snowshoeing.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Dog Walking, Snowshoing, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, No Break-in, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lorri from hawaii on Tuesday, March 06, 2012
    At first they felt too narrow in the toe, so I ordered the next size bigger. After wearing them around the house all day I like the first ones better. Long story short Get them to break in just a little.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Everyday, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BritBrit from Los Angeles, Ca on Tuesday, January 03, 2012
    I bought this boot for longer hike where there may be light rain or the ground may be wet. I wore them for the first time last week. They were pretty stiff, but I think this will improve once I break them in. I hiked 8 miles and my feet felt good afterward (no bisters or sorness). I have a high arch and my foot was well supported. The boot is slight narrow, but it fit my foot well (I would conside my foot average). If you have wide feet then this is probable not the shoe for you. Overall I think this will be a great hiking boot once it is broken in.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Too Stiff/Not Flexible
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiker Jan from Littleton, CO on Monday, November 07, 2011
    I already have a more expensive pair of all-leather Asolo backpacking boots. I found them to be heavy and quite uncomfortable after long hikes, so I decided to buy these. I love them! They are lightweight, yet sturdy. Although I have not yet worn them hiking, they fit like a glove and feel great. My feet are a little wider than medium width and I have a high instep, so I bought a half size larger so that I can wear heavy socks in the winter. The size is perfect. These boots are a great value.
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Everyday, Light Loads, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Good price value, Good sizefit, Great color, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Blue from Murray, KY on Tuesday, November 01, 2011
    This is my second pair of Asolo brand- won't be the last!!
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Sofia from Philadelphia, PA on Saturday, October 22, 2011
    excellent boots, used in our trip in Iceland, hiked in differend terrain, never let me down, 100% waterproof. very happy with the boots.
    • Best Uses: Harsh Terrain, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mickey from Denver, CO on Friday, September 23, 2011
    Day hikes along rivers comfortable even the first hike, lightweight, warm, waterproof. Great boot, I would recommend Asolo to everyone.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Long Break-in
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Picky Pam from Ohio on Monday, September 19, 2011
    I guess I am just not used to boots that go this high. I'm sure it would give good support but seemed stiff and uncomfortable to me. Decided to stick with my old, broken-in, lower boots for awhile. Gave it 4 stars because I think they are quality boots.
    • Cons: Too Stiff/Not Flexible
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mickey from Denver, CO on Thursday, September 15, 2011
    Went for hour long, wet trek hike the day I received them in the mail, very comfortable, warm , waterproof, great grip on the wet rocks.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Long Break-in
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by forestlady from foghollow on Thursday, September 15, 2011
    Since the pair I ordered is just a bit too large, I cannot give more specific details about fit and wear. The boots appear to be well designed and well made, fairly lightweight considering and nice looking. Plenty of toe room and good tread. Seem like they would require no break in. I will try them with some thicker hiking socks before returning :-}
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Everyday, Light Loads
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Sturdy/Durable
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Alaska adventurer from Anchorage, AK on Friday, September 02, 2011
    I use these boots in Alaska for all types of hikes. From walking on pavement trails to hiking up scree slopes. These boots fit perfect from day one and never needed "breaking in". They keep my feet warm and dry and the best part is the traction. Highly recommended.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tweeter from Vermont on Thursday, August 25, 2011
    SO far these boots seem to be the best yet. They are tough, fit very well, tons of support.
    They require a few days of break in and are waterproof.
    I use them everyday, hiking and not. I don't think I have wore a better boot which falls along the lines of durable, comfortable, and looks good!
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Everyday, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lucky from Bellingham, WA on Tuesday, August 23, 2011
    These are great for my own recreational uses, but I would definitely recommend these for anyone who is an avid hiker. They're very supportive and the water proof feature and traction are great in wet, muddy conditions.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 4theluvofexercise from Washington State on Monday, August 15, 2011
    I needed a pair of waterproof, Gore-Tex boots for hiking so shopped extensively for a new pair knowing it would be risky taking them on a backpacking/mountaineering trip so soon after purchasing them. I couldn't have been happier! I opted to take them after just wearing them "around town" for a day and the comfort they offered left me singing their praises.

    They arrived in the mail Wednesday, we left Thursday night, for a two night backpacking trip which included a day hike to the top of Mt. McGreagor on Saturday. We would be crossing creeks and snow fields so the boots served invaluable in keeping my feet warm and dry. The ankle support provided ample protection while navigating the rocky terrain and never did I twist or turn my ankle in such a way that the boots were not able to fully support them.

    Our hike included over 6.000 feet of elevation gain coupled with the same dramatic descent all in one day. Not one blister or hot spot formed on my feet throughout the 12 hour adventure.

    This is my second pair of Asolo boots. The first pair lacking the waterproof versatility is what drove me to purchase a second pair. Both pair are 8.5 medium width and fit me perfectly. They feel true to size as consistently in almost all brands I am an 8.5. The smokey grey/blue color offered a bit of femininity without feeling like Barbie walking through the woods. I would recommend these to anyone who enjoys long hikes and backpacking and is looking for the waterproof versatility.

    Great boots all around!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NWMN from Bemidji, MN on Wednesday, July 27, 2011
    My Garmonts and Lowas had wider toe boxes, so I was nervous when these fit my feet like gloves. But the more I wear them, the more they've molded to my foot and the lack of wiggle room means less chance of blisters. Lovely design, lightweight, great traction, sturdy ankle support.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NW outdoors from Bemidji, MN on Thursday, July 21, 2011
    Can't tell if my old Garmont hiking boots were actually wide size or these run a bit on the narrow side- I believe the former. I take 7.5 women's shoe, 8.0 women's running shoe. The 7.5 Asolo has the correct fit of feeling like my foot is "cradled in a big hand". Excellent traction on the sole, and good load bearing even for off trail with 38lb pack.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big Red from Maryland on Thursday, June 23, 2011
    I bought these for my wife who describes herself as having weak ankles. She wears them for yard work and an occasional hike (2-3 times a year, 5 mile max) and they are comfortable and light weight. She is happy with them.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Becca from Orem, UT on Saturday, May 14, 2011
    This is a well made boot. I got it in the warm grey & ice color, which is a tanish color suede with sage greenish accents. It is an attractive boot, but just didn't fit my foot right. I tried it in a 7.5 and an 8 (I am usually an 8, but can wear a 7.5 at times), and the 8 fit, but just didn't feel quite right. Can't put my finger on why not. A friend of mine with a wide, short foot tried this boot on, & it was PERFECT for her. She usually wears a 7.5 wide & frequently has to 1/2 size or full size up to get the width she needs in a non-wide shoe. She was a 7.5 in this boot & found it very comfortable.
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nicki from Virginia on Monday, May 09, 2011
    Haven't used them yet, but I love the look, and I'm excited to try them out. Felt comfortable in just trying them on... will have to see how they feel on the mountain :)
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor Chick from Redmond, OR on Saturday, April 30, 2011
    Durable and cute at the same time. Definately order half size smaller.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Everyday, Harsh Terrain, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Day hiker from Los Angeled on Friday, April 29, 2011
    These boots are very good medium weight hiking boots. [...]
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Light Loads
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 41 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.