Customer Reviews Of:
Asolo Spyre GV Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Turn your trail aspirations into hiking reality with Asolo's Spyre GV hiking boots, made with a waterproof breathable Gore-Tex® membrane that keeps feet dry by letting perspiration escape.

Average Rating based on 37 reviews 4.378378 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Reviewed by Gatorengineer from Pa on Monday, March 11, 2013
    Run very small....
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Davethe from Michigan on Tuesday, February 5, 2013
    felt great out of the box on my feet,after a week of testing hiking to 0 degree running thru snow,
    dry and confortable,very happy
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by carter from Cheyenne,WY on Monday, February 4, 2013
    Best hiking boots I have ever owned.Looking forward to long summer hikes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Forrester from Lincoln, NE on Saturday, February 2, 2013
    Hiking boot and during snow conditions
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fred from Shanghai on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    Right size,nice price,my second pairs of Asolo higking boots.
  • Reviewed by Craig from Afghanistan on Monday, January 21, 2013
    Size: My feet are narrow. The standard width for this boot fits me well.

    Sole and ankle: It's rigid. This is very good for rough and/or rocky terrain; hiking with a heavy load. It is not a sneaker-type sole. Good ankle support.

    Materials: Boot so far has been waterproof and warm. I wouldn't wear this boot when it's extremely hot because my feet would sweat too much.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by em7531 from Philadelphia, PA on Sunday, December 9, 2012
    I just took these out to break them in over the weekend and have performed excellent. Light, but rigid is the best way to describe these wonderful boots. when I broke them there was no pain or discomfort.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Vermejo Guide from Raton, NM on Monday, October 15, 2012
    I work as a guide on a game ranch in northern NM and needed a boot that could perform right out of the box. Many other guides here rave about Asolo boots so I decided to try them out.

    The Spire is well made and is very comfortable out of the box. When compared to other boots I have had these boots certainly score high marks. The only down side of the Spire is that it's not a very heavy duty design boot. For light hiking and light loads I think it will be fine but may have some issues with heavy loads over long distance as the ankle is not supported as well as it could be. However, the company does make much heavier duty boots so for the money I spent, I am very satisfied. All in all, a very good boot. I will be sticking with Asolo boots for a while to come even if I do decide to go with one of their more rugged models
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Pros: Comfortable, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Are we there yet from Afghanistan on Saturday, September 22, 2012
    Light Infantry soldier in Afghanistan, I wanted another pair of water resistant/proof hiking boots. I'm often dismounted walking through the mountains in east Afghanistan with anywhere from 45 to 90lbs on my back, I'm 6'2" 230lbs. Typical distances very from 2km to 15km one way in and then hopefully picked up by helicopter. Even just everyday wear around our FOB the soles on these boots are not forgiving at all. I have very conditioned feet with caluses in all the right spots, never had a problem with my feet until I started wearing these boots. The quality that they are put together with is exceptionally well, just not comfortable. I have tried mulitple foot inserts and have been wearing them for just over one month now.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Everyday, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Too Stiff/Not Flexible, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Military/Law Enforcement
    • Pros: Good Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Boogie from Bay Area, Ca on Wednesday, September 5, 2012
    So far these are great boots. The midsole is much stiffer than the boots I am leaving behind (La Sportiva), and that's a good thing. I think these will be much better backpacking boots (35lb bag), but maybe a little overkill for your run of the mill hike. So far so good. Plan for an extended break in period, these are not designed to be right out of the box comfortable.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Long Break-in
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4