Asolo Titan Gore-Tex® Mountaineering Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Asolo's Titan mountaineering boots provide surefootedness that can't be beat for glaciated peaks and serious alpine ascents. Performance boots have a waterproof Gore-Tex® lining, a Vibram® Ascent outsole for unslippable grip and a full rubber rand for protection.

Average Rating based on 144 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 14 15
  • 131-140 of 144 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Camper from Rocky Mountains on Wednesday, April 2, 2008
    Good support for feet and ankles
    • Best Uses: Mixed Routes
    • Cons: no cons so far
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Vlad the Impaler from Seattle, WA on Wednesday, March 5, 2008
    These boots come as a replacement to my old Asolo MTF (650?).

    MTFs were good boots except for one apparent design flaw: the front-most two sets of shoelace eyelets could not handle the stress they received during normal wear. The result is slow water seepage right at the location of eyelets. Heavy silicon waterproofing paste from Aquaseal fixes the problem, but needs to be reapplied after several days of use.

    This problem seems to have been addressed in the Titans by greatly reinforcing the material around the eyelets, at the expense of a lot of extra stitching (which is always a suspect). Whether this will prevent leaks a couple of years down the road, remains to be seen.

    I am still breaking the boots in -- mostly just walking around the house. Not much break-in is required though. They feel very comfortable new. The boots feel very similar to the MTFs when those were new, so I expect them to behave the same.
    • Best Uses: Alpine Routes, Heavy Snow, Mixed Routes
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Put On & Adjust, Great Grip, Sturdy
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BuilderDan from Olympia, WA on Monday, March 3, 2008
    I use this boot for those days that good sole grip and balance are crucial to doing the tasks at hand. These boots are very comfortable, and so far there are no short commings, another great boot by Asolo.
    • Best Uses: Walking Wall Lines
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Put On & Adjust, Great Grip, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Reviewed by Matt the heli-guy from Alberta/BC, Canada on Monday, February 4, 2008
    I work heli-portable seismic drilling in the mountains of western canada. these boots are the real deal for any mountaineer. only complaint is that the tongue on one ripped out in a week. this is not an easy thing to fix. it can be slipped in and the boots are still functional when tied..but i expected more from asolo.
    • Best Uses: Alpine Routes, Boggy or wet conditions, Mixed Routes
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Put On & Adjust, Great Grip, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fisher of men from al asad iraq on Monday, January 7, 2008
    im a linemen and these boots can handle anything from telephone poles to rocks and ridgelines extra supportive the feel like ski boots at first but break them in and they will be your favorites
    • Best Uses: Work or play
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Put On & Adjust, Extra ridgid, Great Grip, Super tough
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rafter from jasper AB on Saturday, December 29, 2007
    good boots very comfortable
    • Best Uses: Mixed Routes, Vertical Ice
    • Cons: Poor Grip
    • Describe Yourself: Professional Guide
    • Pros: Comfortable, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by - from Point Roberts, WA on Wednesday, December 19, 2007
    I used the boots this summer climbing the cascade volcanos. Able to break them in very quickly and very comfortable on the first climb and there after. I now have five climbing buddies who bought the same boots. All of us got a half size to full size more that our regular shoe size. Really versatile on mixed routes and kept my feet completely dry walking through mountain streams.
    Great value for the money!
    • Best Uses: Alpine Routes, Mixed Routes
    • Cons: Nothing I can think of
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Put On & Adjust, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Manu from Lognes, France on Friday, December 14, 2007
    Usin'em as Urban or Mountain boots.
    Great color (yellow/black).
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Put On & Adjust, Great Grip, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Romey from Frankfort,Ky on Friday, December 14, 2007
    I am actually an arborist that uses these boots for cold/snow/slush weather work. I am on my feet all day and no complaints. Stiff at first, but after break-in its all good.
    • Best Uses: Alpine Routes, Heavy Snow, Mixed Routes
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Put On & Adjust, Great Grip
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Powder Tom from Colorado Mountains on Wednesday, December 12, 2007
    Comfortable yet bomb proof. Little break in time. Easy to lace up. Warm
    • Best Uses: Alpine Routes, Heavy Snow, Mixed Routes
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Put On & Adjust, Great Grip
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 14 15
  • 131-140 of 144 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.