Asolo Titan Gore-Tex® Mountaineering Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Asolo's Titan mountaineering boots provide surefootedness that can't be beat for glaciated peaks and serious alpine ascents. Performance boots have a waterproof Gore-Tex® lining, a Vibram® Ascent outsole for unslippable grip and a full rubber rand for protection.

Average Rating based on 144 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-30 of 144 reviews
  • Reviewed by ClothesHorse from Near Charlottesville, VA on Saturday, January 25, 2014
    At last I found a wider last. This boot allows me to drop down in size from 12 to 11 with plenty of toe room. This brand, Asolo, comes in true proportions for those of us who ordinarily otherwise go up a size to afford us the extra width we have.
  • Reviewed by ShuMae from Tokyo, Japan on Thursday, December 12, 2013
    Hiked up some 10,000ft ranges this Summer with this boots. Heel cup was a little narrower for my heel(bent with some tools from inside, no prpblem)
    but nice feel and stable enough. The price is nice too, I think. I indeed recommend this for every serious hiker !
  • Reviewed by The Flying Dutchman from Rochester on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    Finally got to put them to the test over the Thanksgiving Weekend. Great traction through snow and rough ice. Once the ice got to slippery it was time to put on the crampons. Good fit and no boot-crampon issues for the four hours they where together.
  • Reviewed by John Q Public from Colorado on Wednesday, September 11, 2013
    2nd pair I bought! Nothing wrong with first pair except for the miles on them.
  • Reviewed by lineman from Idaho on Monday, September 9, 2013
    I am a power lineman, I wear these boots everyday to work and am climbing poles through out my day. They are comfortable, easy to break in, and tough enough for my job (which says a lot). The Gore-Tex is a great additive to this hardy footwear. Thanks!
  • Reviewed by Truman Everet from Yellowstone/Montana on Wednesday, September 4, 2013
    This is my 3rd. pair of these boots. Stiff but not too heavy. A very good boot for off-trail, rough country, loose shale scrambling.
    I have a narrow foot, "C" width, and a high arch. A good fit for me.
  • Reviewed by Scaping In The ATX from Austin,TX on Thursday, August 22, 2013
    Just ordered my 3rd pair. Own a landscape business in Austin (rough, hot and rocky terrain) and use these on a daily basis. Over the past several years have relied on these to withstand a beating but yet provide comfort and support, usally lasting 18 months to 2 years. only other boot to hold up in a like manner was a La Sportiva (pricey). A few months ago I purchased a pair of Zamberlans that are we suppose to be Heavy Duty Back Pack/ Mtn boot and are now about to fall apart. Happy to have purchased my third pair using the deal flyer discount. These Boots are truly awsome.
  • Reviewed by pika12k from Oakland, CA on Tuesday, February 5, 2013
    I usually wear a Men's 9, but sent these back for an 8.5, which still has plenty of length in the toe. Lacing seems good for creating a custom fit, but I haven't actually used these yet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by notchboy from Seattle Wa on Friday, February 1, 2013
    These boots a very stiff. Like walking on planks. Im would like to return them for a less stiff pair. Shame as I do like the look and overall build. But I dont see how I can break these in!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Roy from Kentucky on Tuesday, January 1, 2013
    It is a very nice pair of boots. I need a sturdy boot for my job, and it seems that this will fit the bill. I am pleased with it so far.
  • Reviewed by Boondocker from Utah on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
    Boots are stiff, and stay that way for a long time which is just the way I like a boot to perform. Rubber rand keeps scuffs at bay, and the gore-tex lining keeps your feet nice and dry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by paul from sydney on Sunday, October 28, 2012
    i have just purchased these boots for a forthcoming trip to new zealand for a bit of summer mountaineering. In getting a feel for their fit i have been wearing them on short bushwalks and found them to be surprisingly comfortable. by simply leaving the top eyelets undone the approach walking is ok. when on steeper territory, just do the top eyelets up and you should have a good rigid boot that supports your weight. tightening of the laces may be a bit fiddly with cold hands when on snow and ice. tried them out on a some steep rock and traction was excellent.
    • Best Uses: Alpine Routes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Put On & Adjust, Great Grip, GREAT price, Great Traction, Lace System A Bit Fiddly, Lightweight, Locking Lace System, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alpental Local from Snoqualmie Pass, Washington on Monday, October 15, 2012
    These are Mountaineering Boots. I have taken them on some long wet fall hikes with a loaded pack. They had excellent traction on wet rock and made me feel very stable on uneven surfaces but I think they will be better suited for winter activities. They are so comfortable and warm I am going to give them a shot when I split board in the back country. The only issue I had on the fall hike was the boots were too warm... Not much of a complaint. Great boots for the money - Bring on the snow and ice.
    • Best Uses: Heavy Snow, Hiking With Loaded Pack, Mixed Routes
    • Cons: Warm For Fall
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Grip, Versatile, Warm, Waterproof
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JL VELEZ from Afghanistan on Friday, October 12, 2012
    Work in the mountains of Afhanistan. Great in the winter conditions up here.
    • Best Uses: Heavy Snow, Mixed Routes, Vertical Ice
    • Cons: Not Versatile
    • Describe Yourself: Military/Law Enforcement
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Put On & Adjust, Great Grip
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Rocky Mountain High from Western Colorado on Wednesday, August 22, 2012
    I started wearing Asolo about 8 years ago and havn't bought a different brand since. I tryed everything and would wear them out in 3-6 months. I'm very hard on boots. Asolo's last me a year which to me is amazing. I drive tow truck and do many Mountain recoveries in all season's and all types of weather here in Colorado. It's nice to have something that stands up to the challenges that I go through without a single complaint or problem. Even the laces last through everything but welding splatter. But I ask a lot of the boots I wear!!!
    • Best Uses: Alpine Routes, Mixed Routes
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Pros: Easy To Put On & Adjust, Great Grip, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by none from colorado springs colorado on Tuesday, August 14, 2012
    excellent
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Put On & Adjust, Great Grip, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Polish from Idaho on Friday, July 20, 2012
    Purchased the boot to climb Mt. Rainier. The boot much more comfortable than a plastic boot, lighter by about 2 lbs and seem to be well constructed.
    • Best Uses: Mixed Routes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Put On & Adjust, Great Grip
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scrambles from Guyra, AUST on Thursday, July 19, 2012
    Perfect for lightweight 3season mountaineering.
    This is a good stiff boot for mixed alpine climbing but you would need pretty tough feet to use them on a long approach but you could in a pinch
    • Best Uses: Alpine Routes, Heavy Snow, Mixed Routes
    • Cons: The material lace loop
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Big toe box, Comfortable, Easy break in, Easy To Put On & Adjust, Great Grip, Price, Versatile, Weight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rob from New Zealand on Tuesday, July 3, 2012
    These are great boots.Very comfortable and kept feet warm in some quite extreme conditions in the mountains.Great value for money.
    • Best Uses: Alpine Routes, Heavy Snow, Mixed Routes
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Put On & Adjust, Great Grip, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snowman from Western Colorado on Sunday, May 20, 2012
    Hard mountaineering boot, little break in required.
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stew the trekker from Nevada City, Ca on Tuesday, April 3, 2012
    I use the boots for extensive hikes with heavy loads.
    Great support for my feet.
    Little stiff at first.
    • Best Uses: Alpine Routes, Mixed Routes
    • Cons: Heal rubs
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Great Grip, Warm comfy
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cjmach1 from College Station, TX on Thursday, March 8, 2012
    The boots have a good look but looks aren't everything. First fit was good and I wore them for about 5 hours around the house and property. No pinching or binding. Since, I have done a couple of short (2-3 miles)hikes to get a feel for the boots and they fit great. I wear a base silk sock and a medium tickness wool sock and the boots have been comfortable. I bought these for an upcoming 10 day brown bear hunt in Alaska and expect that they will work great for this. I'm happy with the boots so far, I'll update after the hunt.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TOEI from Ubon Thailand on Thursday, March 1, 2012
    Good prices and Great boots for hiking and mountaineering.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads
    • Cons: Too Stiff/Not Flexible
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by outdoor guy from washington state on Sunday, February 5, 2012
    for the price theses are great! heavy enough to kick steps and very comfortable! they are made for the mountains so they are stiff but not too stiff more so then leather but not like a plastic boot. Im not a fan of the one eye in the lacing made of fabric for fear it could break but considering the price and the overall quality of the boot its worth it. I'm a D width, normal for my size 8.5 but had to go to a 9 1/2 to fit my liner sock mid to heavy hiker sock combo. I went a 1/2 size up on the first pair I ordered and they were perfect in width and length with the socks but not on top of my toes so i orderd the full size up. with the 1/2 size I could have went with a lighter sock and been fine but i figure when these boots are on my feet I'm somewhere cold and at altitude so a little bigger is better for me. hope this helps!
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by outdoor lover from puyallup, wa on Saturday, January 28, 2012
    this is a mountaineering boot! I read a few bad reviews saying these were to stiff. They are supposed to be stiff! these boots are made for strap on or semi auto crampons. trust me if you are on a glacier with a boot that has to much flex you may find yourself in serious trouble! these boots are pretty warm. I had some trangos and these are warmer and a bit stiffer. I went a 1/2 size up to accomodate my socks, my preference is a thin liner sock and medium to heavy hiking sock. the 1/2 size is perfect for that but just a tad to small for my expedition weight sock but as I wear them more they are starting to stretch a bit in the top leather and fabric section so I may be able to get the bigger sock for a may climb of rainier. the traction is good and the lace system works great to adjust your fit and keep your feet from sliding toward the toe box on descents. if this works with your foot shape this is a great boot for the money. the only thing i would change is the one fabric eye in the lacing, if that sucker breaks then the lacing system is screwed. alot of boots under 500 bucks have this same flaw. i would have given these guys 5 stars but because of the fabric eye thing Im keeping a star! hope this helps..
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Redsand from Charlotte, NC on Thursday, January 26, 2012
    Once i figured out the right sock/lace combo, this boot has proven to be bomb proof. Standing in half frozen streams and not feeling any temp change is amazing. 11 miles in 4-6 inches of snow in medium merino socks is perfect. Great boot at a great price.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by shooter from nz on Tuesday, January 17, 2012
    great mountain hunting boot
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BillyJoeJimBob from Westchester County, NY on Thursday, January 12, 2012
    My first pair of 'mountaineering' boots. Really like my Asolo FSN95GTX hiking boots so wanted to stay with Asolo. Did two hours first day on fairly easy terrian. Three hours the second on more challenging terrain. Comfortable out of the box. Warm and dry.

    Socks do alter the feel of the boot so find good socks you like and the boot likes as well. (I have Smartwool, Lorpen, and Bridgedale in different weights.)

    Would be 5 stars but the lacing system is a bit quirky. Fine once laced and tied though.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Difficult Laces
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Himalayan rookie from Bangalore, India on Tuesday, January 10, 2012
    Worked great. No problems whatsoever.
    • Cons: Difficult Laces
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, No Break-in, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by samson from Anchorage Alaska on Tuesday, January 10, 2012
    great product
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-30 of 144 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.