Asolo TPS 535 NBK V Backpacking Boots - Nubuck (For Men)

Closeouts. Challenging terrain and long miles on the trail are no problem for Asolo TPS 535 NBK V backpacking boots, featuring Triple Power Structure and a Vibram® outsole for excellent support and traction.

Average Rating based on 48 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 48 reviews
  • Reviewed by AZ Geologist from Tucson, AZ on Friday, June 15, 2012
    I'm a field geologist. This was my first pair of Asolo boots. On a multiday backpacking trip, my first use of these boots, they performed well: good traction, few blisters, all without the clamminess that comes with gore-tex boots. My next major use of these boots was my summer field season. After 1.5 weeks of a three-week field season, the sole of one of the boots delaminated completely. Had one of my field partners not brought some shoe repair gel, I would have been stuck in my Chacos, which proved to stand up to abuse far better than these boots did. These might be OK for light hiking and backpacking, but they clearly cannot stand up to off-trail applications. I will not be buying another pair of Asolo boots.
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, NO harsh terrain
    • Cons: Not Durable/ Wears Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, No Break-in
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Dude from Olympic Peninsula Washington on Wednesday, May 2, 2012
    I'm a backcountry/fishing guide and these boots can take a licking, what an incredible value. I can't say enough about the quality and duribility of this product!
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Everyday, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outside and Aging from Frederick, MD on Monday, March 5, 2012
    You can have all of those new lightweight, cloth shoes. I've worn Sundowners for 20 years and they can't be beat. They're great on everthing from wet rocks in the summer to snowshoeing in the winter.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Durable, Great Traction, Secure Fit
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by stoneyridge from Laurel, MT on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
    best brand of boot on the market today
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Durable, Great Traction, Secure Fit
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Desertdog from Mojave Desert on Friday, January 13, 2012
    This is my 4th pair of 535's. The last me about 5 years of serious weekend abuse. They are very tough with the uppers well outlasting the soles. Great traction and stable support. I'm looking forward to miles of hiking with my new boots.
    • Best Uses: Hiking, Rough Terrain
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Durable, Great Traction, Secure Fit
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by buzz from Idaho Falls,Id. on Sunday, October 16, 2011
    I bought a pair five years ago!I was just looking for a boot Lava flows and shale wouldn't eat in a day.Years later they still fit like I was born with them on my feet.I just miss the rolling motion they had back when their was tread. I can't complain about that .I wear them every day.
    • Best Uses: Climbing, Working
    • Cons: Holds Odors
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer, Casual/Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Durable, Great in rough terrain, Great Traction, Pronation Control, Secure Fit
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by J. ROSSI from New England on Wednesday, October 12, 2011
    These boots may look pretty in the photos, and the RED pair I got, were very cool "looking'. But, don't be fooled. They are GARBAGE.

    COMPLETE GARBAGE.

    Perhaps you can use them as a casual day hiker/walker at best but, don't expect much of them after a few months. Upper body breaks in with all the support of a high-top canvas sneaker. The toe-box upper breaks-in to be so soft it provides no protection to the bones across your upper foot when rocks roll or stuff falls on your feet. The interior is a cheap cloth (THAT STINKS and retains THE STINK) . . . and then the entire sole started to delaminate from the right boot. JUNK.

    Thankfully Sierre did the right thing with a 100% return/exchange and I sprang for the difference to buy a high end pair of ALICO, Italian Made, All Leather boots . . . . . what I should have done in the first place.

    These new style boots (like ASOLO) are now all made in China, with soles that are fused/glued to the body of the boot, and all sorts of stitching, colors, bells and whistles that are really just a GIMICK. STOP, search for and stick with the time-tested hiking boot with soles you can repair and replace, less stitching rather than more, and leather as the primary outer and hopefully inner wrapper. You WILL NEED to maintain Leather Boots lovingly. BUt I have leather Merrills that are 25-years old, been resoled, and worn hard that put these Asolo boots to shame. (Sorry to now see merrill sold out to China) . . . . . Buy better leather boots they will last you 15-20+ years if cared for properly and you can rebuild and repair them.
    • Best Uses: Cutting the grass
    • Cons: Garbage construction, Holds Odors, Wears Out Quickly
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Better than Bare feet, Pretty to look at NEW
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by EmeryJoe from San Francisco Bay Area on Wednesday, September 28, 2011
    First off, my own bias is that most hiking shoes are butt ugly. I've only had these for a couple of weeks so take my review with that in mind. I finally had to toss out my old backpacking boots after a decade of use and came upon these shoes. Unlike the designs of most hiking shoes, I thought they looked great! I've also liked Asolo shoes in the past so the price being at such a discount, was a no brainer. At first, I was a little concerned that my ankles were hurting just a bit, rubbing against the foam padding, but after a couple hours of walking, that went away, and I've not had the problem again. I also changed the insoles as was suggested by another reviewer and I'm glad I did. The Sof Sole High Performance Hiking Insoles was a great replacement compared to the rather thin Asolo insoles. I haven't use it for backpacking yet so that'll be another test. Since I'll be backpacking in the fall and winter and anticipate wet conditions, I put some waterproofing on them as well. We'll see how that works out.
    • Best Uses: Hiking and backpacking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Secure Fit
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colnago Lon from OKC, OK on Wednesday, August 31, 2011
    These are really nice boots for the money. Warm, supportive, stylish and functional.
    • Best Uses: Football watching, Hiking
    • Cons: None but a little heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Very warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jun from Colorado Springs, CO on Thursday, August 25, 2011
    Excellent backpacking boots...i used it without break ins but it's still very comfortable.
    • Best Uses: Climbing
    • Cons: Too early to rate
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer, Professional/Guide
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Dries Quickly, Durable, Great Traction, Pronation Control, Secure Fit, Used without break in in, Very comfortable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 48 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.