Customer Reviews Of:
Athalon Under/Over Rolling Duffel Bag - 29"

Closeouts. As versatile as it is durable, Athalon's Under/Over rolling duffel bag is designed with a zip bottom compartment that can be rolled open to create extra packing space, or use to zip dirty laundry and shoes away from the rest of your bag.

Average Rating based on 21 reviews 4.095238 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JohnnyBoy from Florida on Wednesday, July 15, 2015
    I bought two (2) of these bags because the price was good, and other reviews said it was a rugged looking bag. It is rugged looking. However, on our first trip - which was on the #1 rated airline in USA for good luggage handling (Alaska Airlines) - the Athalon Over / Under bag tore in two places on the top compartment. There are two panels of lighter duty material on the top panel, and that is where both tears took place. I've attached a picture of one of the rips showing the different, easily punctured fabric. Although the price was very good, I am now in need of replacement bag after a single airplane trip. The other Athalon I bought from Sierra has not been used yet, and I may simply ask for my money back on that one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ed S from New Hampshire on Sunday, June 28, 2015
    Ripped at seam the first time I used it. Holds a lot, but actually too big and unwieldy when full. Will be returning it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Maggie Mom from Arkansas on Saturday, May 23, 2015
    I purchased this duffle to haul materials for classes I teach. Packs easily. All the compartments make it great for stashing different sized items.
  • Reviewed by Ikebukuro from Philadelphia on Saturday, April 25, 2015
    It's big and I like that it's more tall than it is long. The problem is that the sides collapse, constantly getting in your way when you are packing or retrieving things. The collapse might be helpful feature for stashing the bag when not in use, but it's a problem if your travel involves leaving things inside the bag and not transferring them to a chest of drawers.
  • Reviewed by Dakeegs from Illinois on Friday, January 16, 2015
    I bought this in 2013 and have used it on several weeklong and weekend cycling trips to carry clothing and gear and it has taken a decent amount of abuse and it has held up very admirably. No tears, straps have held up and the wheels still roll very well.
    I would definitely would recommend this bag.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David the pilot from Doylestown on Thursday, January 8, 2015
    Given to my college student son for Christmas. I did inspect this bag thoroughly and I admit I was envious. It has functionality and versatility and is comfortable to pull with the handle. It should provide years of great service.
  • Reviewed by uonorthgirl from Wisconsin on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    After taking this on 2 overseas trips, I am DONE with this bag. When packing it for the first trip, one of the buckles broke. There are no straps to keep items in the large compartment from moving around and iI really struggled to roll it on longer treks between stops or from the airport through the subway. The wheels seem to be undersized so the bottom of the bag drags on the ground unless at a perfect angle. It will be fine for car trips, but not for the purpose for which I had intended.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Penguin hiker from Missouri on Tuesday, July 29, 2014
    Moving child to college in 2 weeks- looks good, wanted something that wouldn't take up too much space in dorm room yet could hold a lot of clothes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve O from Michigan on Sunday, June 8, 2014
    We needed a replacement for a similar bag, and am very happy with the quality of this piece. I expect many, many years of utility. There are lots of little features that our old bag didn't have.
  • Reviewed by Line Dawg from Arkansas on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    Used the Athalon Under/Over on a three week trip to Guatemala. The bag is durable and has enough room for everything, even souvenirs on the way back. If you pack it right it will stand on its own.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3