Customer Reviews Of:
Auclair Boomer Ski Mittens - Waterproof, Thinsulate® (For Men)

Closeouts. Auclair's Boomer ski mittens feature a waterproof breathable Aqua Stop® membrane and warm Thinsulate® insulation to keep your hands dry and comfortable all day on the slopes.

Average Rating based on 88 reviews 4.238636 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 9
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LEER from metrowest MA on Saturday, January 10, 2015
    I had bigger expectations for these mittens. I wore them to shovel some very heavy wet snow we got and I had them on for 1.5 hrs. My hands started off good, but by the time I was done, my hands were cold and wet inside. I will use them for the next snow storm we have and see how they work out when I run my snow blower. ;-) These run BIG IMHO, I got a pair of mediums as an extra pair for a friend/guest to use and I could use them and I usually buy and wear XL gloves. I may try a thinner liner inside next time and see how they work out. The stock inner liner isn't held down anywhere with velcro or whatever so you have to be more careful pulling your hands out. I grab the front of my glove and secure it and wiggle my hand out.

    I have another pair of mittens that are older which have the Aqua Stop in them (sort of question their breathability). I like the Gore-Tex products better in gloves/mittens, but they are usually more $$.

    YMMV
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jojo from Wisconsin on Tuesday, December 9, 2014
    I measured my hand to make sure I ordered the correct size, but these gloves were HUGE! They seemed like quality gloves, and I really like that they had removable liners, but I had to send them back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tdtriathlete from Chicago IL on Saturday, December 6, 2014
    These mittens are not only waterproof but breathable. There is a fleece liner on the inside that can be worn separately if desired. I got these for my husband and he really likes them. He will use for cross country skiing or other outdoor winter activities.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Urban mother from Washington, DC on Sunday, November 30, 2014
    These mittens seem well made and quite waterproof. Haven't yet tried them in cold weather but they seem quite warm. They run a bit large in size.Ur
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy STP Customer from Estes Park, CO on Friday, February 22, 2013
    I've tried all sorts of gloves for skiing in the bitter wind and cold here in Colorado but nothing compares to mittens for keeping one's hands warm. These mittens are FANTASTIC for warmth! One of the best features is the (removable) fleece mittens inside the outer fleece-lined shell mittens. I skied all day with these for the first time just a few days ago and my hands were toasty all day, despite the bitter cold and horrendous wind. I even periodically swapped them with my little cousin's gloves so his hands wouldn't freeze off. I also like the drawcord that tightens the cuff around my ski jacket. I am SO happy to have found these mittens!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JGRAD from Cascade ID on Monday, November 26, 2012
    Good fit, very good deal.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JackMan from Fort Worth, TX on Friday, October 26, 2012
    These are just like another Auclair pair of gloves I bought that were supposed to be for men & women...the wrists are way to small. So, I would suggest these should only be purchased by women with normal or small wrists...or by men with very small wrists. I think they'll be too tight on men with normal wrists...or women with large wrists.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Hiking/Running
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Durable, Good Grip, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by traveljoneser from Reno, NV on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    Used these mitts on a recent hiking trip up Kilimanjaro. It was very cold and wet at the higher elevations and these gloves kept my hands dry and warm (although I did add hand warmers at the coldest tempatures). Good grip on the gloves although just more difficult in general to maneuver with mitts vs gloves. Seem to be holding up okay so far.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Dries Quickly, Durable, Good Grip, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Frank from Kansas City on Thursday, February 9, 2012
    The thing I like about these mittens could be a negative for some people. They have a fleese inner mitten that pulls right out when you take them off. I like that, because it makes them useful as wet weather over-mitts for thin gloves. I've wanted a pair of those for backpackng for some time.
    I'm also impressed with the way these thigs are put together. They seem to be a lot tougher than you would normally need them to be.
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Dry, Durable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stump sprouts fan from Jamaica plain ma on Saturday, February 4, 2012
    Great for cross country skiing and outdoor sports
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Dry, Durable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 9