Customer Reviews Of:
Australian Bag Outfitters Brumby Duffel Bag - Canvas, Leather Trim

Closeouts. Australian Bag Outfitter's Brumby duffel bag offers tough canvas construction, leather trim, antiqued brass-tone hardware and plenty of capacity for weekend trips.

Average Rating based on 19 reviews 3.789473 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dp from ct on Thursday, February 7, 2013
    The quality of the material that makes up the bag is great. Only improvement would be a brass zipper. If it had more leather trim on it would improve appearance but just my opinion. The material is soft and strong, the bag may be bigger than you expect it would be but the size is perfect for me. The look, feel, and quality reminds me how things were once made: quality and a lifetime of use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Texasone from Austin, Tx on Tuesday, January 1, 2013
    Heavy quality canvas material. It will last years and years.
  • Reviewed by Forever traveling from Denver, Co on Wednesday, September 26, 2012
    Had been watching this bag and was very excited to get it on sale. However one of the carrying handles ripped right out on my first trip with this bag. Yes it happened as a checked bag but I expect my luggage to be durable.
    • Best Uses: Airline Travel
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Durable, Large Capacity
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kensing from Kensington, MD on Tuesday, August 28, 2012
    Very nice bag, but a bit bigger than I expected (mea culpa), which makes it a bit heavier and bulkier to haul than I would like. Overall a very good purchase, however.
    • Best Uses: Airline Travel, Short Travel, Weekend Trips
    • Cons: Heavy when packed full
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Durable, Large Capacity
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TN camper and bicyclist from Jonesborough, TN on Tuesday, July 24, 2012
    We first bought two of the smaller bags for putting clothes in the overhead of our travel trailer. We were having a hard time finding good quality duffels that would work due to the slope of the roof and small shelf. These worked perfectly so we ordeedr two more plus two of the larger ones to take on cruises and etc. They are very well made, nice looking and made of very durable fabric, and should last for years
    • Best Uses: Airline Travel, Camping, Extended Travel, School, Short Travel, Weekend Trips
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Durable, Easy to Transport, Good Zippers, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Reviewed by fish from Wilmington, NC on Wednesday, June 20, 2012
    Brumby is a handsome man sized bag of very good quality canvas, leather and brass trim. Brumby is hungry and will eat a lot of clothes and/or gear. Be careful as Brumby will hold so much that he could become to heavy to comfortably transport by hand for long distances in big airports or a walk about. He could become to bulky to fit in the airline carry on compartment requiring pricy checking fees if you are not a frequent flyer.

    Brumby is durable and like you will age with grace. Since I am 65 years young Brumby will likely outlast me so it will go in the Will.

    I plan to use Brumby with a back pack on automobile/truck trips with no more than a weeks worth of clothing, footwear, dopp kit, reading material and mandatory fly fishing gear requiring only a short hand carry walk to the hotel or cabin. When not traveling I will use the Brumby to store my dryed out fly fishing waders and boots.

    This Brumby is a good value from Sierra for what he was designed for...quality cavernous hand carry duffel style luggage.

    Austrailan Bag Outfitters should desigh and build a carry on sized full open pullman bag with a padded shoulder strap, brass zippers incorporating a secure locking system and interior tie down straps to help keep clothing neat for wear ..... then it would be Brumby for President in the USA or Brumby for Prime Minister down under.
    Catch and Release,
    fish
    • Best Uses: Extended Travel, Short Travel, Weekend Trips
    • Cons: Heavy, No brass zippers, No secure lock system, No shoulder strap, No tie down straps
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Canvas is quality, Double padded handle, Durable, Handsome carry luggage, Large Capacity, Leather trim is quality, Quality brass trim
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Columnist Guy from Atlanta, Ga on Saturday, February 11, 2012
    The bag looks good on the web, but when I got it home I was very displeased. There were quite a few white spots on the canvas. Then I saw a streak of grease on the leather strap. I inspected the strap buckle and scraped off black grease that was thick enough to get under my fingernail. That's just unacceptable for a bag that is supposed to contain clothing. How did it get there? Who - other than the manufacturer - knows.

    STP took the bag on return (thanks!), but I was most unimpressed with the quality. I would not recommend this bag.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Reviewed by Mom from Charleston, SC on Wednesday, December 28, 2011
    great looking bag for my son, very roomy
    • Best Uses: Airline Travel, Short Travel, Weekend Trips
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Durable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sua sponge from Washington dc area on Tuesday, October 25, 2011
    Just arrived and use once. Seems like good kit. I take it with me inside a large bag during extended trips for a weekender/bag for week side trips. Seems to be resilient and durable for industrious travelers.
    • Best Uses: Extended Travel, Weekend Trips
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Durable, Good Zippers, Large Capacity
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Reviewed by mholi39099 from North Brunswick, NJ on Sunday, October 16, 2011
    I bought this product to replace a bag I typically bring on the plane. I usually end up buying more things than needed so I wanted a durable bag to carry on the plane or check if needed.

    I haven't used this yet but it is sturdy and well made. The black is more like off black. The only con I can see is that the bag if filled is too large to fit on the overhead compartment of the plane.

    I have been watching this bag for months. As soon as I bought is it went on sale. Go figure. If it was a little smaller I would have given this 5 stars.
    • Best Uses: Extended Travel, Short Travel, Weekend Trips
    • Cons: Can't fit on plane
    • Describe Yourself: Getting Started
    • Pros: Durable, Large Capacity
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2