Customer Reviews Of:
Aventura Clothing Westbrook Down Jacket - 500 Fill Power, Convertible (For Women)

Closeouts. Choose Aventura Clothing's Westbrook convertible down jacket when versatility matters! 500 fill power down warms you to the core in your choice of a jacket or, with the sleeves zipped off, a vest.

  • Sleeves zip off for conversion to a vest
  • Quilted shell has a water-repellent finish
  • Two-way YKK® zip front
  • Removable hood with adjustable toggle opening
  • Concealed zip hand pockets
  • Length: 25" (based on medium)
  • Weight: 1 lb. 6 oz.
  • Fabric: 56% recycled polyester, 44% polyester
  • Lining: Polyester
  • Insulation: 80% duck down, 20% feathers
  • Fill power: 500
  • Care: Machine wash/dry
  • Classic Fit
  • Made in China

Average Rating based on 15 reviews 4.000000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tazz from Bend, OR on Sunday, February 17, 2013
    Read about the zipper issue and figured Id give it a try - just have to be real careful when affixing both sides - so far works fine. Love the color and style. Like that the hood detaches but since its been with me I've kept the hood on and used it in our central oregon cold climate. Just what I was looking for at the price I wanted to pay!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mom and daughter from Israel on Saturday, January 12, 2013
    First of all, learn how to use a double zipper! A few tries, and you should be an expert. They are definitely harder than regular zippers but have advantages too. Just make sure the fabric that goes over the zipper is moved away from the zipper so it doesn't get caught. Other reviewers have complained about the zipper, but to me, it isn't a big deal.

    On to the review: The color of the jacket is beautiful - better than expected! Lovely style. Perfect length. Overall, a very attractive jacket. I received it yesterday and tested it: I went out with only a thermal undershirt and scarf under it (jeans on bottom part of body) in low 40s, slightly windy weather, and it was OKAY although if it were any colder out, I would certainly wear a vest or sweater underneath, and even might for the low 40s weather. Not as warm as the short Ellen Tracey jacket I also got from STP, but certainly adequate for most of my winter needs.

    I ordered small which fits both myself (age 53, 5'6" thin) and my daughter (age 17, 5'4" medium build). The jacket looks great on both of us so we will share it. It is a flattering style for any age, and as I said, the color is very nice.

    I don't know if I will ever zip off the sleeves to make it into a vest, or take off the hood (since I really like having a hood there just in case it rains or I am particularly cold and want to cover my head) but those are nice features anyway. Maybe with use I will discover that there are times when it is useful to make it into a vest.

    Elastic of sleeves is perfect on my wrist, although the sleeves themselves are longer past the elastic, which is fine and keeps my hands a bit warmer. The Ellen Tracey jacket had the same thing on the sleeves, although those sleeves were longer - must be the new style.

    I should mention also that there are some pockets on the inside (in addition to the two outside hidden zippered pockets).

    Before I buy, I always check the sizing with STPs online consultants, who have always been helpful: so far everything I have ordered has fit perfectly! Thank you STP for great products, great values, great prices, and great service. Very pleased overall with the purchase and product. I expect this jacket will serve my daughter and me very well for many years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jujudiva from Los Angeles, CA on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    This was such a great cold-weather travel jacket. My boyfriend complimented it a lot and said it was a winter jacket that still showed off my figure. It was so warm in all kinds of weather including really wet snow. It stuffs really well too and isn't bulky at all, but I had to have someone zip me into and out of it almost every time, becasue the zipper catches constantly. That's the only downside.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jill from Milwaukee, WI on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    I find the jacket to be form fitting because it is a womens'cut. It is flattering, even for a winter jacket. I love the fact that it can be a vest, plus can have a hood or no hood, depending on the weather. The color is not one you see very often, so I have received compliments on it being unique.

    Great price for a coat that will last a long time!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by marciaRN from Chicago, IL on Monday, December 17, 2012
    You may still have to layer for weather 20 below (depending if you are a person who runs cold most of the time), it still meets 90% of our weather needs here in Chicago. I also like how the down jacket is not too puffy. I purchased a medium, and it may be a bit tight if you wear a big sweater underneath (verses fitted for women), but I'd rather have a winter jacket that is snug rather than loose if I need to stay warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Montanamom from Bozeman MT on Tuesday, December 4, 2012
    This is my new grab and go jacket this winter. Already received many compliments on the color. (purple)). Its so cozy. It is perfect for travel.
    Packs well and provides different options with the removeable sleeves and hood. Sleeves are a bit long but not ridiculously so. I'm pleased.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brenda in Oregon from Salem, OR on Wednesday, November 21, 2012
    I ordered this coat for my daughter. She is just barely into an adult size small and I was a little worried she'd swim in this. She loves it. It's a little generous in the size but there is room for a sweater underneath and might just last her more than one season. It should pack well and keep her toasty in New York in January.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by warm mom from Massachusetts on Tuesday, November 20, 2012
    Love this coat. The sleeves zip off so it can become a vest. It's warm and fits great.I like the long sleeves (I have long arms & it's hard to find sleeves that fit).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kay from New Mexico on Tuesday, November 6, 2012
    This is my second convertible coat from Aventura-the first I bought at XXXXXXXX for significantly more...I LOVE these beautiful rich colors, and living in New Mexico, dress in layers, so sleeves on or off work great as needed. Not a huge fan of the hood-frumpy for me-but it zips off and I took it off straight away. I am short armed a bit so the sleeves are long...I adjusted it myself- now perfect. I am a realist, and KNOW that they have yet to design anywhere a double zipper that works easily. I take it with a grain o salt as the two way zipper feature outweighs the tiny struggle to get it going. There is a slight smell from the feathers, one day outside hanging took care of that. Others mentioned down "coming through the coat" That happened two first times worn (and was more like "dust"and now, no problem.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Cons: Zipper Catches
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Great Color, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jayhawkker from Bellingham, WA and Sisters, OR on Tuesday, May 29, 2012
    I loved the look and warmth of this coat and liked that it was longer. However, feathers began emerging through the fabric on the front almost immediately, and kept coming out. I had to send it back for a refund.
    • Best Uses: Nothing
    • Cons: Feathers came thru fabric
    • Pros: Great length, Great style and color, Warm
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2