Customer Reviews Of:
Backpackers Pantry Gourmet 2-Person, 3-Day Vegetarian Meal Pack

Closeouts. Backpackers Pantry's lightweight Gourmet Vegetarian meal packs help you enjoy tasty, healthy vegetarian meals on the trail without carrying extra weight.

Average Rating based on 118 reviews 4.186440 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 10 ... 12
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by twoclippedwings from Boston on Wednesday, November 4, 2009
    I've compared prices on this product & Sierra Trading Post has the lowest price for this good quality food.
    I keep this on hand for emergencies and/or last minute camping trips.
    Note that not all of the meals are one bag meals. Some must be pan-cooked.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Stable
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bills from Cherry Hill, NJ on Thursday, October 29, 2009
    I have ordered this variety pack at least four times and used for over night backpacking trips. You will not find a better deal.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Good quality food, Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by ADK hiker from Albany, NY on Thursday, September 3, 2009
    The food was easy to prepare but did not taste good. I threw away most of it and made Ramen soup instead.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Cons: Did not taste good
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Compact
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DKT from Northern Michigan Lower Peninsula on Tuesday, September 1, 2009
    [...]I use this system when I am on long ( 2 to 3 week ) fishing outings in Northwest National Forest Campgrounds. Easy preparation means quick food availability after a full day, often into twilight, in the river. Also quick, hearty breakfast gets day going without fuss. Cost is outstanding.
    • Best Uses: After all day fly fishing, Backpacking, Car Camping, Hiking
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Compact, Cost, Easy to prepare, Fast Preparation, Good Selection, Lightweight, Stable
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by big hiker from Seattle WA on Monday, August 31, 2009
    The selection is great overall and a very good value. No fuss preparation after a long day on the trail. I'm a big guy and burn a lot of calories, so a meal for two is right for one. I put off the desserts until I found myself wanting something more, and they hit the spot. I've bought them before and will again. It is a much better value than the individual packages..
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Cons: Mashed potatoes okay, The chili is only average
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comes in own bag, Easy to use, Lightweight, Works above 6000'
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Toad from Rapid City, SD on Wednesday, August 5, 2009
    We recently took a backpacking trip and the food arrived fast (next day) and was in a great mesh bag. Taisted wonderfull and filling. My husband is a big guy and a meal for two filled us up after hours of hiking and biking. Big plus no clean up after dinner.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Compact, Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Doug from Raleigh, NC on Wednesday, August 5, 2009
    I haven't eaten any of this stuff yet, but looking at calories to compactness, i wonder why i don't just do instant food from the grocery store. seriously, why pay a bunch of money for instant mashed potatoes? this all looks to be in about that category, but if the food ends up being very tasty it might make up for that.

    also the calories per packet is pretty small, this will provide less than half your calories for the day if you are active.

    if you absolutely need the convenience of these, then go for it, but otherwise, just get a little creative at the grocery store and you'll do just as well.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Clean
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by eugene from Eugene, OR on Wednesday, August 5, 2009
    Very light!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Compact, Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bones from Columbia,SC on Tuesday, July 21, 2009
    Good packpacking variety for extended stay and you only need take a little for emergency since they are waterproof.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adirondack 46r Mike from Charlottesville, VA on Sunday, July 12, 2009
    We use this for backpacking trips and keep some at the house for emergency food supplies.
    The portions are accurate, so a package really serves two hungry people.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Compact, Lightweight, Stable
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 10 ... 12