Customer Reviews Of:
Backpackers Pantry Gourmet 2-Person, 3-Day Vegetarian Meal Pack

Closeouts. Backpackers Pantry's lightweight Gourmet Vegetarian meal packs help you enjoy tasty, healthy vegetarian meals on the trail without carrying extra weight.

Average Rating based on 118 reviews 4.186440 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 ... 12
  • Reviewed by Avaphotog from Los Angeles on Friday, April 17, 2015
    I received some bags that expire in two years and others that expire in five years. It seems this the way they are getting ride of some packages that are nearing their end date. If you plan on using the food soon it's a good deal. I bought this for my disaster preparations so I'm dissatisfied.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lizzy,RN from Mount Vernon, WA on Wednesday, March 4, 2015
    This variety of backpacking vegetarian meals is a great bargain. Lots of variety. My Only complaint is that the two egg meals require cooking as opposed to just adding boiling water. I don't take a skillet backpacking so these meals will be saved for car camping or when the power goes out!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from Boston on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
    Purchased for a future trip. Can't beat the price. I will be splitting this into six meals on a solo trip this summer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jonathan from Virginia on Sunday, November 30, 2014
    These Tasty meals save pounds on the back; the flattened pouches are airtight and small. Stand-alone meals allow you to pick and choose what to take on your next trip. Freeze-dried meals area great way to break-up the monotony of typical trail-fare and with a discount from Sierra Trading Post, the relatively expensive per-meal cost makes this package truly a great buy. Freeze-dried meals are shelf-stable for a few years, so don't worry about eating through all the meals in one trip.
  • Reviewed by coruscate from Petaluma on Monday, October 27, 2014
    Car camping, backpacking, earthquake/emergency kit, these meals are fantastic on their own. Rolled into a 3 day meal pack is brilliant. The price is sweeter than the dessert almost. Satisfies our family from the high standards of mom to the quantity standards of dad (6'3" and big) as well as the interest of our 3 year old hiking champ. We may not have ordered enough.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colorado BreadLady from Colorado on Tuesday, October 7, 2014
    Great food at a lower price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dancur99 from alexandria va on Friday, September 12, 2014
    I found the food easy to prepare, tasty and a pure joy while spending time in the outdoors.
  • Reviewed by LilyCatsMom from SF Bay Area, CA on Friday, August 15, 2014
    Our family doesn't backpack so I can't speak to how well these would work for backpacking. Got these to follow a friend's system of keeping some on hand for the emergency/earthquake food supply and then using the ones close to expiring for camping trips. So far we've tried the lasagna (a bit salty - helps to have some plain boiled pasta to mix it with to dilute out the saltiness), wild west chili with beans (WAY too salty even with extra added rice, couldn't finish it), sicilian mixed vegetables (also a bit too salty, okay if you mix it in with some plain lettuce), vegetable medley (again mixed with some lettuce, kids liked it but hubby thought the 'buttery sauce' tasted a bit odd), huevos rancheros (best to roll up in tortillas, maybe add a bit of fresh tomato or salsa if you have it). Desserts were pretty decent for a just-add-water thing (the cobbler takes a little more work, needs to be cooked in a pot)-and one package split between the 4 members of our family was enough for a little-bit-of-sweets after dinner.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kibbles and Bits from Ohio on Friday, August 8, 2014
    Everything tastes better in the wilderness! These are all pretty tasty, except for the Denver omelet, which could use a little more seasoning. The curry was a little spicy and pretty delicious. Easy to prepare a hot dinner after a day of hiking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Climbingbum from California on Wednesday, July 16, 2014
    Hey, it's backpacking food. Of course it's never the best, tastiest morsels you will ever put into your mouth; but as they say "hunger is the best sauce." I'm giving this review 5 stars for the quantity of food and for the steal of a deal that you are getting from Sierra Trading Post. To answer some other prospective buyers questions, these meals have expiration dates 2-3 years or more out. They are not expired!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 ... 12