Customer Reviews Of:
Backpackers Pantry Gourmet 2-Person, 3-Day Vegetarian Meal Pack

Closeouts. Backpackers Pantry's lightweight Gourmet Vegetarian meal packs help you enjoy tasty, healthy vegetarian meals on the trail without carrying extra weight.

Average Rating based on 118 reviews 4.186440 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 12
  • Reviewed by Amanda from Florida on Wednesday, October 21, 2015
    My boyfriend and I keep these in our pantry and just grab a few whenever we go do something outdoorsy. We're much more likely to go backpacking or camping when we don't have to worry about meal planning and grocery shopping. We can pack a bunch of them into our bear canister or bear bag. The ones we've had so far taste great. I'm grateful there's a vegetarian box available! That's super convenient. Considering each packet is usually about $8 individually, this is an incredible price and I need to buy more.
  • Reviewed by Julie A from Oregon on Wednesday, September 9, 2015
    This kept me perfectly fed on my 4 day, 3 night backpacking trek. The lasagna was the best dinner. The dinners with rice need a fair amount of time to rehydrate, as does the huevos rancheros because it has beans. Just be sure to read the instructions carefully, as some items are cooked in a pot, and with others you can just add hot water to the bag. This was very convenient at times when we were cold and exhausted and didn't want to do dishes. The deserts were a nice treat, especially the apple cobbler and the cheesecake. This saved me all of the trouble of having to come up with and shop for the menu. I shared with my boyfriend, and he brought a few additional things since he is not a vegetarian and we had more than enough.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mosin Kid from Oklahoma on Tuesday, September 1, 2015
    Food tasted great and was easy to store. Great product!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big Jer from Directly over the center of the earth! on Wednesday, August 26, 2015
    To call this a 3 day pack is putting the receiver on starvation rations. This wouldn't even feed a one soldier for 2 days.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by @adventuresofk8 from Indiana on Friday, August 21, 2015
    We like the food choices. The mashed potatoes, blueberry granola and red beans are rice are delicious.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alice from Missouri on Tuesday, August 4, 2015
    Husband and I ordered as a gift for our son's upcoming backpacking trip. The product has not been used as yet, but, the speed of shipment and the coupon along with the extra meal was a nice little surprise. Thanks.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TDS76 from Saint Paul, MN on Wednesday, July 29, 2015
    The meals we ate were delicious and filling. Unfortunately we just didn't see a need to have 3 desserts. I don't know about you, but I get enough sweets in the snacks we eat on the trail. And we weren't hugely fond of having two egg breakfasts, only because it requires a couple of steps for preparation and more cleanup than other meals. We generally don't have a lot of time for dilly-dallying in the morning.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Elaine from Minnesota on Tuesday, June 30, 2015
    We took this on the GR20 in Corsica. Meals were easy to prepare and tasty. Portions were a bit on the small side after lugging a pack up and down mountains. However, i was impressed enough to order more for a trek in the Rockies this summer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WIO from Michigan on Tuesday, June 16, 2015
    Good price on these but the dates are getting close so plan on using then this season or next.
    Several of the dessert things require a separate pan so if you're a minimalist leave those at home and use for car camping.
    I've eaten most of these items before and they are all pretty good at the end of a long day but freeze dried backpacking food is just that
    so don't expect miracles.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ALS from Tennessee on Tuesday, June 9, 2015
    This is the third time I have ordered this pack. The meals are surprisingly tasty, seeming to have more seasoning and flavor than a lot of Mountain House food. We particularly like the Katmandu curry and the red beans and rice. The deserts are also quite good. Many of the packages are also relatively healthy for food like this. One of the best parts is that with the discounts on STP this is cheap enough that we are using it for some car camping meals when we are tired and do not want to cook. As some others have mentioned, the expiration dates are a mixed bag, but everything has at least a couple of years and the food is good enough it will not last that long.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 12