Backpackers Pantry Gourmet 2-Person, 3-Day Vegetarian Meal Pack

Closeouts. Backpackers Pantry's lightweight Gourmet Vegetarian meal packs help you enjoy tasty, healthy vegetarian meals on the trail without carrying extra weight.

Average Rating based on 101 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 11 »
  • 1-10 of 101 reviews
  • Reviewed by LilyCat'sMom from SF Bay Area, CA on Friday, August 15, 2014
    Our family doesn't backpack so I can't speak to how well these would work for backpacking. Got these to follow a friend's system of keeping some on hand for the emergency/earthquake food supply and then using the ones close to expiring for camping trips. So far we've tried the lasagna (a bit salty - helps to have some plain boiled pasta to mix it with to dilute out the saltiness), wild west chili with beans (WAY too salty even with extra added rice, couldn't finish it), sicilian mixed vegetables (also a bit too salty, okay if you mix it in with some plain lettuce), vegetable medley (again mixed with some lettuce, kids liked it but hubby thought the 'buttery sauce' tasted a bit odd), huevos rancheros (best to roll up in tortillas, maybe add a bit of fresh tomato or salsa if you have it). Desserts were pretty decent for a just-add-water thing (the cobbler takes a little more work, needs to be cooked in a pot)-and one package split between the 4 members of our family was enough for a little-bit-of-sweets after dinner.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kibbles and Bits from Ohio on Friday, August 08, 2014
    Everything tastes better in the wilderness! These are all pretty tasty, except for the Denver omelet, which could use a little more seasoning. The curry was a little spicy and pretty delicious. Easy to prepare a hot dinner after a day of hiking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by climbingbum from California on Wednesday, July 16, 2014
    Hey, it's backpacking food. Of course it's never the best, tastiest morsels you will ever put into your mouth; but as they say "hunger is the best sauce." I'm giving this review 5 stars for the quantity of food and for the steal of a deal that you are getting from Sierra Trading Post. To answer some other prospective buyers questions, these meals have expiration dates 2-3 years or more out. They are not expired!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LikesTheRain from Washington on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    My husband and I took these meals backpacking last summer. A few needed to be cooked, but most just need hot water. The portions were plenty for both of us.(He is known to be a big eater!) I found the egg dishes to be a bit funky tasting and haven't tried the deserts yet. The main dishes and sides were relatively good. These wouldn't be my first choice for a meal, but for backpacking they are great. We bought another set for this summer.
  • Reviewed by Disappointed from Tennessee on Sunday, December 01, 2013
    This is my second meal pack purchase. The food is okay, though the huevos rancheros were a wash. The complaint is that the packaging is not enviro or trail friendly. When for a two-week trek on the Appalachian trail with an assortment of dehydrated food brands. These were the most difficult to carrry until a trash recepticle was available: too bulky and rigid. This may not bother some, but I strive to hike/run as minimally as possible.
  • Reviewed by Adam from Wisconsin on Friday, September 27, 2013
    I am not a vegetarian. I liked that these were packaged in a 3 day pack so I bought them. I like the light weight and convenience of freeze dried meals when backpacking. They all taste pretty good. Some of the meals require a bit more prep work then just adding boiled water like some meals on the market. I would buy again
  • Reviewed by Pat in PG from Pittsburgh, PA on Thursday, September 26, 2013
    We haven't tried the food yet but have had other meals from the same company so that isn't a worry. Best thing was the variety in this group and we are truly looking forward to our backpacking trip (collecting gear). The price was incredible.
  • Reviewed by Fair weather hiker from idaho on Sunday, September 15, 2013
    My husband was very worried that the servings would not be large enough for both of us to share, but we had plenty of food. The dinners include a main course, side dish and dessert. The breakfasts were a bit small to share. The taste was good for a dehydrated meal. The meals were light weight and we ate out of the packaging most of the time, so dirty dishes were minimal.
  • Reviewed by Heather from TX on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    After becoming a vegetarian, I was wondering how I would swing this whole backpacking/camping thing that typically consists of hotdogs, jerky, or hamburgers. I found this meal package and was so excited. The previous reviews said the food was delicious so I went ahead and ordered it for me and my husband. In the overview, it says "2 servings of each" for the many different meals. I had the impression that it meant 2 individual packets of the Denver Omelet and 2 individual packets of the Cheesecake, etc. I figured my husband could carry his meals & I could carry mine. Also that way if he didn't want the omelet one morning, I could still eat it while he had the granola. When the package was delivered, I discovered this was not the case. You still receive 2 of each meal but they are in ONE packet. This means less weight because there isn't as much packing material however, the meals cannot be split between 2 backpacks as well AND if someone doesn't want to eat what you are eating, then you both have to carry leftovers around on the trail or waste it. Having 2 servings in one packet also makes it tricky to pack the meals in your backpack if you choose to hike alone or for only one day, you will be forced to carry extra food= extra weight. Wish it had been 2 individual packets of each meal..... I gave it 3 stars for this reason as well as I have not tasted the food just yet. Will write another review later to comment on flavors.
  • Reviewed by Nevada Native Hiker from Nevada on Monday, September 02, 2013
    I just completed the Ruby Crest Trail over three days (38 miles). I had two days worth of food from this package with me and I returned with leftovers. The meals were very tasty and flavorful. The egg breakfasts and apple cobbler required extra cooking with a "nonstick" pan. Sorry didn't have one of those in my pack!
    Good food, great price, and I ate better than my hike mate. Of course, I shared the cheesecake.
    Great meals and good value.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 11 »
  • 1-10 of 101 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.