Backpacker’s Pantry exists because you shouldn’t have to eat boring, bland food just because you’re miles away from civilization. Dating back to the 1950s, the Boulder, Colorado-based Backpacker’s Pantry brand takes pride in providing high-quality, dehydrated backpacking meals to outdoor adventurers all around the world. With minimal preparation, Backpacker’s Pantry food fuels your outdoor activities by combining freeze-dried and dehydrated ingredients, many of them organic, along with bold spices to create gourmet grub in a bag. By simply add ... Learn more about Backpackers Pantrying hot water, it’s never been easier to prepare, mouth-watering dishes like lasagna, pad thai, huevos rancheros, vegetarian Katmandu curry, apple cobbler and much more. ... Less
Average Rating based on 342 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 35 »
  • 1-10 of 342 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jonathan from Virginia on Sunday, November 30, 2014
    These Tasty meals save pounds on the back; the flattened pouches are airtight and small. Stand-alone meals allow you to pick and choose what to take on your next trip. Freeze-dried meals area great way to break-up the monotony of typical trail-fare and with a discount from Sierra Trading Post, the relatively expensive per-meal cost makes this package truly a great buy. Freeze-dried meals are shelf-stable for a few years, so don't worry about eating through all the meals in one trip.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jonathan from Virginia on Sunday, November 30, 2014
    Tasty meals save pounds on the back, the flattened pouches are airtight meals allowing you to pick and choose what to take with you on your next trip. Freeze-dried meals area great way to break-up the monotony of typical trail-fare and with a discount from Sierra Trading Post, the relatively expensive per-meal cost makes this package truly a great buy. Freeze-dried meals are shelf-stable for a few years, so don't worry about eating through all the meals in one trip.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JJ from NY on Sunday, November 23, 2014
    Food arrived with a seven year lifespan. All meals were sealed and in good condition. The cost per meal, although high, was nicely reduced by STP's offered discounts. I am pleased that I did not recieve food about to expire but rather newly produced product. Interesting meals combo's make this meal pack a good choice for those seeking something more appetizing than traditional MRE's.. Recommended.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from Colorado on Saturday, November 22, 2014
    Good dating on these products but we plan to use them much sooner. Great selection of choices (bought both meat and veggie). Already packed in backpack for trial. Planning Spring backpack trip.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BB from NY on Thursday, November 20, 2014
    I ordered 10 containers of this astronaut ice cream and will now have to order more... it's addictive and tasty and creamy. Even my toddler loves it. The only downside is the high fat content... and it kind of sticks between my teeth for a while. Delicious and highly recommended. Expires in 2017.
  • Reviewed by Oldmanadrift from Colorado on Sunday, November 16, 2014
    Peas, corn and potatoes are all starch! The small amount of beef is limited in amount and also only resembles beef (parts is parts?). I suggest adding the corn to the stew before adding 1 cup of boiling water (if it needs more moisture add a little hot water). Like other reviews it's more like soup than stew. Also like the other reviews the pudding stays lumpy, starting with a table spoon or so of hot water might help to make smooth past then add more water.

    To get some protein into the meal, add an envelope of Spam Singles or a small can of cooked chicken. If you want more beef, simmer some (homemade) beef jerky in the water to make the stew.

    Overall It's better than many dehydrated meals I had and is not as good as others. I think it's worth getting with an "extra discount". Many dehydrated meals are packaged to make 2 person quantities, this meal is about right for one especially with an envelope of Spam Singles etc.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Victoria from Kodiak, Alaska on Friday, November 14, 2014
    These meals are staples for hunting, hiking, or just for an emergency supply. Can't beat the delicious taste for an awesome price of $35, that's huge savings! We love sierra trading post and love the fact they ship to Alaska!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scott 29 from Utah on Friday, November 14, 2014
    Great food at a reasonable price. Makes camping a little more civilized.
  • Reviewed by BB from NY on Tuesday, November 11, 2014
    This astronaut ice cream is a tasty special treat that is satisfyingly crunchy, and my 2-year-old daughter loves it, too!

    My packages arrived with an expiration date of January 16, 2017. Others might find it helpful to know that this product was "produced in a facility that processes peanuts, milk, soy, what, gluten, egg and tree nut ingredients." Also, one serving (one package) is 20% of daily value for fat. Worth it, though!
  • Reviewed by coruscate from Petaluma on Monday, October 27, 2014
    Car camping, backpacking, earthquake/emergency kit, these meals are fantastic on their own. Rolled into a 3 day meal pack is brilliant. The price is sweeter than the dessert almost. Satisfies our family from the high standards of mom to the quantity standards of dad (6'3" and big) as well as the interest of our 3 year old hiking champ. We may not have ordered enough.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 35 »
  • 1-10 of 342 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;