Backpacker’s Pantry exists because you shouldn’t have to eat boring, bland food just because you’re miles away from civilization. Dating back to the 1950s, the Boulder, Colorado-based Backpacker’s Pantry brand takes pride in providing high-quality, dehydrated backpacking meals to outdoor adventurers all around the world. With minimal preparation, Backpacker’s Pantry food fuels your outdoor activities by combining freeze-dried and dehydrated ingredients, many of them organic, along with bold spices to create gourmet grub in a bag. By simply add ... Learn more about Backpackers Pantrying hot water, it’s never been easier to prepare, mouth-watering dishes like lasagna, pad thai, huevos rancheros, vegetarian Katmandu curry, apple cobbler and much more. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 42
  • 1-10 of 412 reviews
  • Reviewed by deb from outer space on Friday, January 29, 2016
    How are the astronauts supposed to replenish their ice cream supply if it can only be shipped in the U.S.?
  • Reviewed by Big Jer from Directly over the center of the earth! on Monday, January 18, 2016
    Use your common sense with any food product. Supplement with a it of fruit or sprouts. Always try these products at home. Educate yourself.

    A bit of honey here, a slice of apple there, throw in a bit of fresh green ground plants.....

    Don't blindly follow a review or some blog.
  • Reviewed by Otto from Washington, DC on Saturday, January 16, 2016
    The brand quality is good but there are two major issues. First, the expiration dates on each package vary but all are within a year. That makes these useless for your emergency food shelves / kits, and instead only camping and only in the short-term. Second, out of the 18 packages in the box, only 1 was fully vacuum sealed. The contents of all 17 others were loose fill and not vacuum packed as they should have been (think vaccum packed 1 pound coffee bags). It's too bad given the sweet deal on these but are misrepresented.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by oregunluv from oregon on Friday, January 1, 2016
    stocking stuffers
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tom from PA on Wednesday, November 4, 2015
    Used this as a learning tool for my grand children. I told then about the space race the importance and i used the ice cream and tang to help bring the lesson to life.
  • Reviewed by Amanda from Florida on Wednesday, October 21, 2015
    My boyfriend and I keep these in our pantry and just grab a few whenever we go do something outdoorsy. We're much more likely to go backpacking or camping when we don't have to worry about meal planning and grocery shopping. We can pack a bunch of them into our bear canister or bear bag. The ones we've had so far taste great. I'm grateful there's a vegetarian box available! That's super convenient. Considering each packet is usually about $8 individually, this is an incredible price and I need to buy more.
  • Reviewed by Edison in SM from California on Saturday, September 12, 2015
    We bought a number of these packages in order to be able to go backpacking at a moments notice. My wife has celiac, and so we purchased some other gluten-free packages to supplement this,
    We took this package on a recent three day trip, and we were pleasantly surprised by the variety and tastiness. Even though dehydrated will never truly compare to fresh food, the convenience factor is amazing. The desserts are great (and since things like crust are in separate packages, even my wife could share... darn). The entrees are all very satisfying. The packages are supposed to be for two people - and most of them are adequate portions, though I was disappointing in some of the vegetable packages (very small), but overall, we are pleased. I would still recommend that this package be supplemented with snacks, dehydrated/freeze dried fruit, etc., but you can't go wrong with this package - particularly when they are on sale!
  • Reviewed by Julie A from Oregon on Wednesday, September 9, 2015
    This kept me perfectly fed on my 4 day, 3 night backpacking trek. The lasagna was the best dinner. The dinners with rice need a fair amount of time to rehydrate, as does the huevos rancheros because it has beans. Just be sure to read the instructions carefully, as some items are cooked in a pot, and with others you can just add hot water to the bag. This was very convenient at times when we were cold and exhausted and didn't want to do dishes. The deserts were a nice treat, especially the apple cobbler and the cheesecake. This saved me all of the trouble of having to come up with and shop for the menu. I shared with my boyfriend, and he brought a few additional things since he is not a vegetarian and we had more than enough.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mosin Kid from Oklahoma on Tuesday, September 1, 2015
    Food tasted great and was easy to store. Great product!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big Jer from Directly over the center of the earth! on Wednesday, August 26, 2015
    To call this a 3 day pack is putting the receiver on starvation rations. This wouldn't even feed a one soldier for 2 days.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 42
  • 1-10 of 412 reviews
;