Since 1951, Backpackers Pantry has given outdoor enthusiasts the nutritious, lightweight and great-tasting dehydrated food they need to keep on exploring the beauty of our natural world. Backpackers Pantry is the outdoor gourmet food you're looking for if you need nutritious, dehydrated backpacking food that packs light and satisfies your taste buds. With a wide variety of delicious, healthy camping meals, Backpackers Pantry offers easy to prepare, mouth-watering dishes that add enjoyment to backpacking, hiking, climbing and camping trips. Wi ... Learn more about Backpackers Pantrythout the water weight in Backpackers Pantry meals, they are relatively light; all you need to do is add hot water for a ready-to-eat meal. Backpackers Pantry offers camping meals, either dehydrated or freeze dried, ranging from breakfast to dinner and dessert. Look for unique outdoor creations like lasagna and Pad Thai, plus vegetarian meals like huevos rancheros and vegetable medleys. ... Less
Average Rating based on 311 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 32 »
  • 1-10 of 311 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PA Jim from Olympic Peninsula, WA on Thursday, July 3, 2014
    We used this on a recent 3 day backpacking trip and found it to be convenient, good quality, and filling.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dannio from SoCal on Wednesday, July 2, 2014
    My son and I ate some of these meals on a recent trek. They rehydrated fine, and were delicious. I really enjoyed the Jamaican Jerk spicy meal. We each packed a meal for every meal we would be on the trail, which turned out to be too much food. We split a meal, and that satisfied both of us even though the trek up the mountain was strenuous. We wound up eating half of what we brought, and were not hungry on the trail. While rehydrating a dinner, my son goofed on the apple dessert, thinking it would rehydrate in the pouch like the other meals. He already had it open before reading the instructions, which called for cookware (which we had with us); we ate it anyway and it tasted great, just soupy. I recommend the product for the taste. Buying it by the box cuts the price in half compared with buying individual meals at a retailer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Recreational hikers from Colorado on Sunday, June 15, 2014
    We purchased this for an upcoming backpacking trip, so we haven't tasted the meals yet. However, the price was a bargain compared to what we could purchase at outdoors outfitters stores.
  • Reviewed by Oregon Tree Hugger from Portland, Oregon on Sunday, June 1, 2014
    I was considering buying a couple of these for our Camping trip next month. Thought I'd bring them out and surprise the Kids.
    I'm a label reader, so when I saw that this was loaded with MSG (hidden) and GMO's...that pretty much did it for me!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Keith & Jen from St Louis on Thursday, May 8, 2014
    These freeze-dried meals are fantastic, and for the price Sierra Trading Post is offering them, it's impossible to pass up. We've ordered 3 of these boxes and plan to continue doing so as long as they're available. We only wish we could order individual items from the pack (the ones we like the best), but we're struggling through just fine :)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LikesTheRain from Washington on Wednesday, May 7, 2014
    My husband and I took these meals backpacking last summer. A few needed to be cooked, but most just need hot water. The portions were plenty for both of us.(He is known to be a big eater!) I found the egg dishes to be a bit funky tasting and haven't tried the deserts yet. The main dishes and sides were relatively good. These wouldn't be my first choice for a meal, but for backpacking they are great. We bought another set for this summer.
  • Reviewed by kLR Camper from California on Sunday, April 20, 2014
    Price was right and the reviews were better than average but I was disappointed.
    The corn was cold after the recommended wait, the beef stew was bland and had an off putting consistency.
    The pudding would not mix "until smooth" as per the directions.

    I threw most of it away and will not try the second package I bought.
  • Reviewed by Johnny the Hiker from New Mexico on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    Since this item was purchased for an emergency that has not happened as yet. I am familiar with this product from purchases in the past so I am sure it fulfill its intended purpose
  • Reviewed by Ta Tonka from Ozark Mountains on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    These cooked up easily and tasted fine, Be aware that they are dehydrated and not freeze dried. Several of the meals require 2 pans to prepare. great for winter packing but would have leave a couple of them home for long distance hiking. They're good tasting and quick if you use a cozy.
  • Reviewed by STNC from North Carolina on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    Bought a bunch for a class room discussion on astronauts. The price was right, especially compared to what these cost in museums!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 32 »
  • 1-10 of 311 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;