Black Diamond Equipment Compactor Adjustable Ski Poles - Pair

Closeouts. With their innovative Z-Pole technology, Black Diamond Equipment Compactor adjustable ski poles fold up to an ultra-compact size that's ideal for ski mountaineers, backcountry snowboarders and winter travelers.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews 4.250000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Reviewed by AKANDY from Alaska on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    I've had lots of bad luck with BD ski gear in the past, but the super low price of these poles sucked me in. My mistake. These are light and pack up very small, but they're not durable and won't last in the mountains. The tips (about one inch beneath the basket) broke off both of the poles within the first two days of back country skiing with them. They were still usable, however, so I put off sending them back. But after a few weeks of use, they basically fell apart while skinning and I was unable to extend them. I'd recommend Leki or Komperdell, BD has no sense of quality control.
  • Reviewed by Andy from NH on Tuesday, February 11, 2014
    Quality BD poles for about 1/3 MSRP of the current version. Fold / extend easily and lock solid when deployed. Flick lock section is not removable, so these cannot be used with the BD snow saw.
  • Reviewed by Dave from Michigan on Monday, February 3, 2014
    Very often when a device is modified to reduce weight, size, etc., the is a compromise to achieve those desired benefits. When I ordered these poles I was very hopeful, based upon the ratings and reviews I found, and I was not disappointed! The mechanism for breaking these poles into their short, stowage length was slick, simple and didn't add significant weight. Simplicity was the key. The push-button/telescoping design to collapse them is great. The additional adjustment at the top end allows excellent range of adjustment. For example, the adjustment range of the length I ordered will accommodate me (at 6'2") and my wife (5'4") for hiking, downhill and cross-country!

    Very slick.
  • Reviewed by Traveller from Oregon on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    I am planning a trip to Europe this fall that will entail a lot of walking. I am in my late 60s with back problems. Walking with hiking poles allows me to walk at least twice as far as without them. These fold up and will easily fit in my carry-on bag (we travel light). I removed the snow baskets and put rubber tips over the steel ones. Great product!
  • Reviewed by Johnny Snowboarder from Vermont on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    Great adjustability and height. Light enough and easy enough to stow in pack and snowboard down after hiking to a peak. recommend
  • Reviewed by Jan from Lake Tahoe on Monday, January 20, 2014
    I got these poles for Christmas and I love how small they fold up. I was wanting to try them for hiking in the summer too and wondered if I could buy a pair of smaller baskets more suitable for hiking??
  • Reviewed by Sembob from Four corners Mt on Monday, January 13, 2014
    These poles do store away in a very compact package. But much more important they work very well and feel very strong when in use. Very good pole at a great price.
  • Reviewed by Kbhfarney from Wyoming on Sunday, January 5, 2014
    I got these for my husband for Christmas. He loves that he has a set of poles that will breakdown and pack easily. According to him, though, they are a little to "flimsy" (translation: lightweight) to use at the resort where we ski. I think based on the description of the product, they completely meet expectations. We're happy with the purchase!
  • Reviewed by Ben from Jackson Hole on Wednesday, December 25, 2013
    Great for using on ascents or traverses with a snowboard, might be a bit flimsy for full time ski use. Only flaw I noticed is that if the poles become packed with snow while in the folded mode, it can be difficult to get the shaft together quickly.
  • Reviewed by YumpinwithYanny from Colorado on Tuesday, November 19, 2013
    These poles are easy to fold up and throw in your backpack so they aren't hanging out while riding down the mountain after a good split. They are extremely durable and will hold up to any condition
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #