Customer Reviews Of:
Black Diamond Equipment Epic 35 Climbing Backpack - Internal Frame

Closeouts. Black Diamond Equipment's Epic 35 climbing backpack is ready to haul a day's worth of climbing gear. It features a welded crampon patch, ice-tool PickPockets and a large main compartment.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews 4.333333 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ashley from Ohio on Monday, October 19, 2015
    This backpack worked great. Had it for four days of climbing at Red River Gorge and it held everything I needed. I was able to put all my gear (climbing shoes, tevas or hiking boots, extra jacket, harness, quickdraw, slings) and food. I put the rope on top where it has clips on the side and top to hold it tight and nothing slipped out. I still had room for some more gear. Not sure if the S/M 35 frame would also fit all the trad gear but it might.
    Has two great big pockets on the head of the backpack- one on top and one underneath which are great for stuffing food and anything you want to get to quickly (like a guide book or phone).
    It also fits very comfortably. I am 5'4'' and was able to secure it down comfortable to me but it could fit much larger people if not cinched. The hip belt is super comfy and moves with you as you walk which is a really cool and nice feature.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Abe from CT on Tuesday, September 22, 2015
    I don't hike a ton but decided that I wanted a nice bag to hike with when I do. I love everything about this bag so far! The suspension is really neat and really saved my shoulders on a long hike. My only complaint is the center piece on the waistband (the round padded thing on the back of the pack that swivels) kinda digs into your back after a while. I am not sure if this will get worked in as I use it (was first time using it on a 10 mile hike) or if it is just gonna be like that, but it was kinda uncomfortable for a bit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt from San Diego on Monday, February 2, 2015
    Extremely comfortable pack with very well thought out gear compartments and a solid build. Haven't had it out in 'weather' yet, but based on the materials and construction, I'm not concerned. Only knock on the product is the hydration bladder storage. With the crampon and ice axe compartments, this pack was clearly made for cold weather usage, but I had real trouble fitting my insulated reservoir in. Overall, very happy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Beth the Climber from Alabama on Tuesday, December 30, 2014
    This was a Christmas Gift for a young lady. She loved it and is using it this week to go camping and rock climbing.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Antonio from Ohio on Saturday, November 22, 2014
    Just want to say first off that I love just about anything that black diamond puts out. That being said this is my first black diamond pack and it was worth every penny. I am 5'11" about 175 lbs with an athletic build and the medium pack fits me perfectly. This pack allows you to have a hydration pack, has gear loops and a top loaded design. I bought this pack to climb with and it does that job well I can fit my harness, chalk bag, climbing shoes, 2liter camelbak, 32oz nalgene, extra clothes, food, cell phone, wallet,keys,extra biners, sleeping bag, hammock, rain fly and still have room for more. Great product I would recommend it to anyone!
  • Reviewed by Davey Crockett from Tennessee on Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    Decent and well-made backpack and a good size for a day climb. A generous but narrow 35L volume, which I feel helps with balance.


    Cons:

    (1) Straps a bit too narrow for me. I generally prefer a bit more padding and/ or width.

    (2) The "Sulfur" color depicted on the website is NOT YELLOW--nor as one would expect the color of actual sulfur to be (YELLOW). Twice I received and twice returned the backpack mainly because it is actually a sort of PEA GREEN.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by alex from okc on Monday, November 10, 2014
    I tgought that it was a great pack, I used it for a 3 days ticking trip and was very happy with it. I was able to stuff 3 days worth of clothes, a sleeping bag, food and a 2l water bladder. I used the side straps to strap a tent and a pad. Great Bag!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by oodelally from Maryland on Wednesday, October 1, 2014
    This is my first black diamond pack, and it definitely won't be my last. The ergoACTIV suspension is amazing. It improves mobility like you wouldn't believe. Hauling this up with me on a climb or wearing as I'm setting up a rap anchor is no problem. The size of the epic 35 is perfect for me. I needed a long backpack for my 6'4", thin frame, and they had the perfect size for me. It's made of durable material, but I haven't put it through enough abuse to comment on overall durability yet. From the little I've used it though, black diamond has completely won me over.
  • Reviewed by Alex from Bellingham, WA on Thursday, October 24, 2013
    The Epic 35 is a pretty cool, feature loaded pack. An uncomfortable flaw I don't like, though, is the hipbelt. Like the Speed 40, the 25 mm buckle width digs into the gut with a 35-40 lb load. In size medium, it also doesn't wrap around as fully as the Speed 40 hipbelt, making it a touch more uncomfortable. It's a shame too, since the Epic 35 has a much more robust internal frame (6 mm vs 4 mm wire). Also the ergoactive pivot is pretty cool, though a little weird at first. Neat thing is that the pivot attaches directly into the frame, transfering load into the hips exceptionally well. Free floating shoulder harness is great. Really like the pick pocket holder for the ice axe, as it completely swallows the pick of the axe, leaving nothing pointy exposed. Crampon patch is a really nice feature, though it extends the center of gravity out a bit further. It's unfortunate that the lid is not removable, and the internal frame is not removable either. Fits rack, helmet, and harness with just a little room left over.
  • Sort by: