Black Diamond Equipment Ion Headlamp - LED

Closeouts. Don't find yourself in the backcountry without Black Diamond Equipment's Ion headlamp, offering lightweight, low-profile illumination for a variety of dark situations.

Average Rating based on 47 reviews 3.319148 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 47 reviews
  • Reviewed by Tiredof ChinaTradingPost from The Best Last Place on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    lights work great they are really old so the battery is weak at best plan on another $5 to get a new one
  • Reviewed by Al from San Francisco on Tuesday, July 9, 2013
    it may be small but you can adjust the angle of the light. it can easily be stowed too.
  • Reviewed by Chris from Washington on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
    I was looking for a small LED headlamp, as I cannot find a convenient way of mounting a pulsar II and this fit the bill. It is reasonably bright and very light weight. It does not seems to be water proof, however. When getting to the batteries there is no o-ring or seal. I think I can make it reasonably waterproof with some scotch tape (as I will not need to change the battery often with the > 12hr run time). Compared to my other heavier water proof headlamps this is a nice light weight change and I am looking forward to testing it this season.
  • Reviewed by Feldspars from NC on Sunday, May 19, 2013
    Bought 5 as gifts. My lamp broke and I thought I was at fault in not understanding the directions. To hear the same thing happened to he other 4 leads me to believe it's the lamp. The 4 recipients are experienced campers. The lamp is made so poorly that each broke when trying to insert the battery. I could understand the 12 year old having difficulty and perhaps forcing it but not the other 4 adults. Very disappointed.
  • Reviewed by Robdashu from Massachusetts on Monday, May 6, 2013
    The batteries have limited life, so I'll let you know when I use them!
  • Reviewed by Tele Jay from California on Tuesday, April 2, 2013
    I've owned one of these BD Ions for several years. It has generally ridden in my butt pack or briefcase for occasional use. It has been reliable and is bright for its small size. Recently, I made an Altoid's tin emergency kit and used the Ion for the light source (with the strap and bracket removed). It was as small as a good keychain light and significantly brighter. I bought several more at this good price to put in Altoid's tin kits, first aid kits, briefcases, etc. This product does use an unusual battery, but it is shipped with a battery and that battery will last a long time powering one LED. I have only replaced the battery once in my original Ion.
  • Reviewed by HokieTrax from Mountains of SW Virginia on Saturday, February 23, 2013
    I took this on a January cabin trip as its first test. Was disappointed in lack of brightness. I brought my older headlamp and glad I did. It could have been the battery in very cold weather or the battery was run down on the one I got. You can select lower power and higher power but didn't seem to make a difference. It is small and light. It may do better in warmer weather.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Widget from Shadow Hills, CA on Friday, February 1, 2013
    This headlamp is now a permanent part of my essentials kit despite use of a specialty battery. It is a back-up to my main headlamp and perfect for day hikes in case I happen to get caught out after sundown.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BT from RVA on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    great little light easy to use not bulky
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by givius from Georgia on Thursday, January 10, 2013
    This headlamp is real looks good , but difficult to find battery , and in first day I broke holder of main frame, to put new battery :)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jose from PRM on Monday, January 7, 2013
    Got after watching WranglerStar. I like it. Will get another.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Earthmother from Central Pennsylvania on Sunday, January 6, 2013
    Came from that great Christmas commercial on TV with bunch of little ones waiting for Santa with head lamps on!! Rec'd too late for Christmas Eve but they have a ball with them anyway -- one of our little guys didn't take his off for almost 24hrs!!
    Light extremely bright so are looking forward to summer when we can use outside at night!! Kids will look like fire flies flitting in the yard!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiker from Cherokee, NC on Wednesday, December 12, 2012
    Broke this item looking at removing battery
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Burt from Highland Lakes NJ on Sunday, November 18, 2012
    These will be presents; one for each person in my family, adult and child.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jannie from Michigan on Friday, November 16, 2012
    We have a horse farm and often need a light out in the pasture at night, but also need both hands. This light is perfect. We also walk the dogs at night and use this light all the time!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 2Tone from Colorado Springs, Colorado on Friday, November 16, 2012
    I loved the size but the light wasn't bright enough.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by EDQ from Colorado Springs on Friday, November 16, 2012
    Great lamp for reading the map or route topo, not the lamp you want to find the rap anchors in a snow strom
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by boatbossbsb from NH on Friday, November 16, 2012
    Bought a bunch for boy scouts but didn't realize replacement batteries are pricey/hard to find.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DrBlood from Harrisburg,PA on Friday, November 16, 2012
    The bracket that holds the light cracked
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by UltraPaul from Gilbert AZ on Thursday, November 15, 2012
    I ordered four of these lights. Three of the four are okay but I broke one of the lights trying to get at the battery compartment. I was following the directions for accessing the compartment and broke the gray plastic clamp piece. I had successfilly accessed the compartments and installed batteries on three others but broke the fourth one. Pretty disappointing but I did not pay a lot for the item.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Allen Lundergard from Mexican Hat, New Mexico on Thursday, November 15, 2012
    poor quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ultralight Adventurer from Rocky Mountains, CO on Saturday, October 13, 2012
    This is a great little headlamp. At first I thought it would't be bright enough— but for reading, camp chores, evening nature call it is definitely bright enough. I own two of these, one for my car and one for by backpack. It is so lightweight I forget it's on your head.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping, Day trip
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Bright, Lightweight, Long battery life, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by panda haven from Garden Grove, CA on Tuesday, October 2, 2012
    Great product for the kids. Battery replacement can get a little expensive because it does not use your regular AA or AAA batteries. However, I still recommend this item.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Adjustable Beam, Bright, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Barberhiker from Colorado Springs, CO on Wednesday, August 29, 2012
    Couldn't even open the thing without breaking the plastic piece provided to open it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Glenn the Fly Fisher from Los Angeles, CA on Tuesday, August 21, 2012
    Perfect for my vest or fanny pack when fishing the evening hatch.
    • Best Uses: Day trip, Emergency light, Fly fishing
    • Cons: Not applicable
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Bright, Durable, Extremely compact, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alpine Mike from South Lake Tahoe, CA on Tuesday, August 7, 2012
    Extremely lightweight but durable. Heard many great things about it so I decided to get it myself. It is definitely bright enough. Best uses are for ultralight backpacking.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Adjustable Beam, Bright, Durable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by daytripper from Morro Bay, CA on Thursday, July 19, 2012
    Useful for biking at night and as a safety accessory while hiking. Great addition to any emergency preparedness or safety kit.
    • Best Uses: Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Bright, Durable, Lightweight, Long battery life
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hmmm from Ashland, OR on Thursday, July 19, 2012
    I was unable to get it open to put the battery in, My son finally figured out how to get it in but it did not work. We don't know if the battery is defective or the light is defective. I haven't taken the time to send it back.....too busy to wast time dealing with it.
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TnHiker from Athens, Tn. on Friday, July 6, 2012
    Good as a backup lite and for camp duties. Not bright enough to hike with.
    • Best Uses: Backup, Camper Use, Day trip
    • Cons: No Beam Adjustment
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Juana from Tucson on Thursday, July 5, 2012
    My adult kids like to make fun of my constant use of head lamps but they are always 'borrowing' mine and keeping them. Now I have a stash. Good for walking around at nite, looking for something in the yard on a crevice so I'm not surprise by a rattle snake or brown recluse or other critter.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 47 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #