Black Diamond Equipment Orbit LED Lantern

Closeouts. Black Diamond Equipment's Orbit LED lantern provides lots of illumination in a lightweight package, with a dimming switch and a collapsible, double-hook hang loop.

Average Rating based on 60 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 60 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DGD from New England on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    Haven't put it to any hard test yet, but it is light in weight and compact, and puts out a reasonable amount of light.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bargin hunter from Montana on Friday, December 26, 2014
    this lantern seemed a bit high price wise but I thought Black Diamond would a product worth investing in. My first try putting in the batteries the lamp didn't light noticed when I went to check on the batteries they seemed a little hot so I figured I'd let my husband reload it with a new set. He did get the lamp to work for a couple of seconds the light went out and next thing we knew the lantern was smoking! This time the batteries got so hot it melted the plastic. Good thing we didn't give it as a X-mas gift it's and yeah going back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SuperCotet from New York on Tuesday, December 02, 2014
    Purchased one to use in my tent. It is very easy to carry as it compacts itself, bright enough to light up a tent. Couldn't be any happier with this lantern.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PDX Ruth from Portland, OR on Thursday, November 27, 2014
    This is a lot of light from such a small package. I like that you can dim it - an unusual feature. It does not seem quite as bright as another small lantern I have, but this is not as harsh. I have this as an extra, not primary, light for car camping, but I imagine it would work well for backpacking - it collapses down. Various useful ways to hang or sit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Agon,no BS from any mountain on Monday, November 10, 2014
    This a cute little light good for lighting a tent at night, not much else. Light weight.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Old Coach from Bellingham, Washington on Saturday, November 01, 2014
    I am just back from elk and deer hunting camp. This lantern illuminated out outhouse tent, and did a great job. A surprising amount of light for such a small package.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoorsman from California on Tuesday, October 28, 2014
    I have a ton of different camp lights, lanterns, etc. This by far has been one of the most useful. I've had one for about 8 years and figured why not get a second one when I saw it on Sierra. Good amount of light for it's size. Nice for inside a tent, in the back of a car, etc. It lights up smaller areas very well. It wont' light up a whole campsite like a big lantern. Maybe a table for eating outside.

    Smart design and very compact. I like how it collapses, which makes it impossible to turn on when packed in your bag. I've had that happen with others. The "on" button gets bumped during transport and turns it on in your bag. Then when you need it the batteries are dead. That can't happen with this light because the upper globe slides down over the base, covering the "on" button, when not in use.

    LED and the batteries (4 AAA) will last a long time. Easily an entire weekend of camping and most likely close to a week of camping. I can't say I've had to change the batteries much, but if I recall, on a 10 day car camping trip a few years ago I think the batteries lasted 5-6 days. And this was a late fall trip where we went to bed early read in bed because the sun went down at 5pm. So lots of evening use.

    Also has a hook on the top for hanging. I've hung it in my tent many times. Also hung it in my car a few times.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aspite1 from New York on Sunday, October 26, 2014
    This product is a great light for everything from car camping to backpacking to just having in-case you lost power in your home. I would definitely recommend as it is both light and compact as well as having the ability to change the amount of lumens it releases through the simple push of a button.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Linda from Seattle on Friday, October 17, 2014
    This lantern was a lot smaller than I thought it would be, but that is an advantage as it can be packed easily and still has a very bright light! A nice hook design as well, it splits so its easy to hang anywhere!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RunnergirlNM from New Mexico on Friday, October 17, 2014
    This is a lantern for a midget! I expected it to be much larger than it is, but oh well, it's Black Diamond. It will be a good backpacking lantern. It puts out more light that I thought it would for the size. I'll have to buy another lantern for car camping as I thought it would be much bigger.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 60 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.