Customer Reviews Of:
Black Diamond Equipment Ozone Climbing Harness

Closeouts. Keep your pack light and your safety measures heavy with Black Diamond Equipment's ultralight Ozone climbing harness. This harness keeps a low profile with a bullhorn-shaped waistbelt built with Kinetic Core Construction, which offers comfort without bulky padding.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews 4.111111 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aaron the Climber from Brookline, MA on Thursday, October 11, 2012
    My first harness is the Black Diamond Chaos in medium. It fit fairly well and was super comfortable when I first got it but I started losing weight as I continued to climb. The medium size became too large so I picked up the Ozone in size small. It's a tight fit but it's incredibly light weight. Perfect for indoor sport climbs where you don't need a million loops and want something that's fairly comfortable and light. I have noticed that the padding is a little stiffer than the Chaos but I believe over time it'll soften up. Currently, this is my go-to harness for indoor routes and it's way cheaper than the Chaos. The only other thing preventing a full 5 star review is that Black Diamond has some funky sizes. Wish they made something in between a small and a medium.
    • Best Uses: Indoor
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Comfortable, Simple
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by yositune from Alexandria, VA on Sunday, August 5, 2012
    This is a really comfortable harness but with only two gear hoops it would be unusable for trade and might be crowded for sport climbs. overall I love this harness.
    • Best Uses: Indoor, Outdoor, Sprint Climbs, Top Roping
    • Cons: Only two gear hoops
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Captain Dan from Bayfield, WI on Wednesday, August 1, 2012
    Inexpensive but fairly durable.
    • Best Uses: Beginning climbers, Indoor, Outdoor
    • Cons: Needs more adjust points
    • Describe Yourself: Getting Started
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Easy to fit, Simple
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by noy from Arkansas on Tuesday, July 17, 2012
    good fit
    • Best Uses: Indoor, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Simple
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Mayhem from AZ on Tuesday, July 10, 2012
    I normally really like Black Diamond harnesses and I always wear a size small, so I ordered this with confidence. Unfortunately it may be a dud for the brand:
    1. It fits a half size smaller than normal, so it BARELY fit me at 122 lbs and 5'5"
    2. The gear loops are very rigid and lay flat, touching your hips, leaving no room to clip gear onto them. They are basically not functional out of the box. Maybe they loosen up after a lot of use, but it's the strangest gear loop design I have ever seen. It makes the harness a gym harness and that's about it.
    3. This is supposed to be one of the new super light, minimalist, harnesses, but the back of the waist belt is still very wide like the more traditional BD harnesses. It would be a plus for some people and minus for others, but I wanted to mention it, since you can't tell from teh photos.

    Overall, this would be a good harness for the amazing Sierra Trading Post price as a gym harness or for beginners to use top-roping, but size up if you're uncertain of size.
    • Best Uses: Indoor, Short sport routes
    • Cons: Runs Small, Weird Gear Loops
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Simple
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by party time from Chicago IL on Wednesday, October 26, 2011
    Great harness for gym use. Lightweight and comfortable. No thigh adjustment but not a big deal. Right price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jack no big deal from pa on Saturday, October 15, 2011
    very light, good for the gym and sport climbs. I'm a 30-32 waist and the medium fits very well.
    • Best Uses: Indoor, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Simple
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by H.Rabbit from Concord, NH on Wednesday, July 27, 2011
    I've used several harnesses over the years in the $40 range. I finally decided to try a higher end one. What I really like is the weight of this harness. I do sport and trad so anything you can cut down on helps. It only has two gear loops but I usually use a sling so it wasn't a concern. The harness has a nice fit and slim profile. By that I mean it doesn't stick out away from the body much. My other harnesses tended to have gear loops, buckles, you name it that would stick out a few inches from the sides. This is nice in that it has a slimmer profile and less likely to catch on things. The waist is comfortable and is designed to sit a little higher which will take a little to get use to. The legs are a little narrow and pinch a little more than my old mammut harness but overall it is a few steps up.
    • Best Uses: Indoor, Outdoor, sport climbing
    • Cons: Only 2 gear loops, Thin leg straps
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Light weight, Slim profile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by walkabout from Decatur AL on Tuesday, July 12, 2011
    I bought this for my son. He wears a 31" pant and the M was adjusted as tight as it would go. He said it was comfortable but he needed more loops in the back.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Simple
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Sort by: