Black Diamond Equipment sets the standard in dependable rock climbing, alpinism, and backcountry skiing gear. What started with an eighteen-year-old man with a hammer and anvil has emerged into an employee-owned, global company that outdoor enthusiasts know and trust. When it comes to gear, Black Diamond Equipment constantly dreams of what could be and criticizes what exists to engineer the best gear out there, through rigorous, hands-on testing. From crampons and helmets to probes and backpacks, Black Diamond Equipment brings simple, yet powe ... Learn more about Black Diamond Equipmentrful gear to the forefront of life on rock, snow, ice or mountain. ... Less
Average Rating based on 1526 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 153 »
  • 11-20 of 1526 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fretlessdavis from Arizona on Wednesday, April 09, 2014
    This is a fantastic headlamp for the price, and not just for kids! I have had a Black Diamond Spot, a BD Storm, and a Princeton Tec Fuel. All three have had bracket issues, and even the most durable one (the Storm) broke within a few months.

    This headlamp is kid proof, and so far, durable enough for me. I haven't used it extensively yet, but the bracket is definitely beefier. The smaller headband caters to my head size well. It's splash proof, and rated to the same standards as all my other headlamps except the Storm (fully waterproof)

    It's a bit smaller and lighter than others, too. 18 Lumens is more than enough light to hike at night, or set up camp. Not too bright to use inside the tent either, and it even dims!

    For the money, this is the best headlamp value out there. Wouldn't use it for serious caving, but then again, I wouldn't use my caving headlamp backpacking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Al from COS, Co. on Monday, April 07, 2014
    BD can, and should; put a little more heft into the plastic.

    I.E. I found an old Petzl along the path some time ago; buried under debris; with only the headband peeking out... cleaned up; scrubbed the contacts; and yeah, like new. Strong, heavy plastic casing.

    The casing/shell on the BD is thin. Too thin, too flexible; and seems to even be brittle.

    Not a 'bad' item per se; but one that seems to be limited in the 'how long until it cracks, and can't be used anymore' aspect.

    I am *not* a fan of disposable camping gear.

    Three stars for being OK, but it should be a five star; except for the under-build of the structure itself. :/

  • Reviewed by Jammer from New Hampshire on Monday, April 07, 2014
    As working a wall at a climbing gym, I had observed cross loading of biners when a little slack was in the belay system, causing the Gri-Gri's to rise up the spine of a biner. Using the GridLock eliminates any possibility of this happening.
  • Reviewed by Amber from Minnesota on Thursday, April 03, 2014
    Awesome boots. I am normally a size 7.5-8 in shoes and 25 fit great.
  • Reviewed by JVC from DE on Thursday, April 03, 2014
    Lightweight pack with a well designed internal frame that can comfortably support heavier loads
  • Reviewed by M. Q. M. from West Virginia on Tuesday, April 01, 2014
    This pack has plenty of room for all the gear and lunch you need for an extended day trip. Very comfortable and distributes the weight perfectly.
  • Reviewed by SMNP Hike from TN on Monday, March 31, 2014
    Never hiked with poles before, and these worked great. We purchased 2 different types and both were light and allowed us to hike a narrow, steep, slippery, wet, leaf and rock covered path. It was raining and cold with numerous water crossings, and these poles kept us going safely, preventing us from falling numerous times. The grips on these were more comfortable than the cork handles and the poles worked flawlessly.
  • Reviewed by sol from south lake tahoe on Monday, March 31, 2014
    very good
  • Reviewed by Brannon32 from Vallejo, CA. on Sunday, March 30, 2014
    I would suggest this backpack for people who are going to be out in the country. It's very comfortable to wear and has plenty of space for a long day hike. Although there are spaces for pens and other stationary items, the center zip does not allow for easy access, especially when the pack is full. For that reason, I would not suggest this pack for the student who will need to be access this area often.
  • Reviewed by Lettucelord the Alpinist from Washington on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    Purchased this pack at the beginning of winter. Been using it for all my winter peak bagging. Great pack. All the gear holding capabilities are nice. From helmet to dual ice axes, rope, snow pickets, everything. You can pack it all along your extra layers and food/camelback for the day. The perfect size. I would give it five stars but the little clips for buckling and unbuckling your ice axes are almost impossible to use without removing your gloves.. which really sucks in the winter.

    Note the new ergoACTIV suspension is fantastic for ice climbing! The pack does not restrict your movement AT ALL.

    Also, pack not waterproof, just sorta resistant... :(
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 153 »
  • 11-20 of 1526 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;