Black Diamond Equipment sets the standard in dependable rock climbing, alpinism, and backcountry skiing gear. What started with an eighteen-year-old man with a hammer and anvil has emerged into an employee-owned, global company that outdoor enthusiasts know and trust. When it comes to gear, Black Diamond Equipment constantly dreams of what could be and criticizes what exists to engineer the best gear out there, through rigorous, hands-on testing. From crampons and helmets to probes and backpacks, Black Diamond Equipment brings simple, yet powe ... Learn more about Black Diamond Equipmentrful gear to the forefront of life on rock, snow, ice or mountain. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 ... 208
  • 21-30 of 2078 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brew_moon from WI on Wednesday, January 27, 2016
    Very compact, gives nice light. Awesome price--I can live with yellow for the savings.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tallgirl from michigan on Wednesday, January 27, 2016
    I am a 6ft tall female who has a hard time finding jackets with long enough sleeves, so I end up shopping the mens dept. This jacket is soft and super lightweight, so it doesn't feel boxy as men's jackets can. Surprisingly warm. Good tail and sleeve length. Roomy pockets. Blue color is nice.
  • Reviewed by Jon Anthony from CA on Tuesday, January 26, 2016
    These poles are 120 from end to end. Must be no standards with some manufactures since other brand 120 only measure the actual pole and not the upper hand grips. So these were short too short for my use. Also the bottom tips are small baskets and some harden plastic only. However they did seem well made and EZ to fold as noted.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bruce the biker from Louisville, ky on Tuesday, January 26, 2016
    Very nice jacket I bought for my wife
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hong Dan sarah from portland on Tuesday, January 26, 2016
    very comfortable , a little longer.But it derserved to be worth of this price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wyoming Mom from Wyoming on Monday, January 25, 2016
    Warm and lightweight, but mostly outstanding because of its fit. The wrists and waist are snug fitting without annoying elastic due to the softshell panel. The hood is very adjustable and almost doubles the warmth of the jacket. A superior garment!
  • Reviewed by Midwest Outdoorsman from Midwest on Monday, January 25, 2016
    This jacket might fit in certain people's arsenals, but it didn't work in mine. The jacket has many features of a shell: wind resistance, numerous pockets, large hood with adjustments, etc. The fit, however, is more like a mid or base layer. It is too tight in the sleeves to go over anything but a thin base layer and it does not have the cuff adjustments that would be required of a shell. It also doesn't offer good precipitation resistance like a shell would. The fabric was rough and slightly itchy when worm over bare skin. It was also a little noisier than most jackets of a similar weight. The outer fabric was the type of material that catches on dry skin. The quality is good, but this garment just doesn't work in my kit. It certainly might be what others are looking for though.
  • Reviewed by Midwest Outdoorsman from Midwest on Monday, January 25, 2016
    This jacket has become my go-to jacket in the short time I've owned it. It is warm enough that I can wear it on short trips in 10-30*F weather without being too cold (although I do usually run hot). At the same time, I do not overheat while walking around a store or riding in the car. The materials feel durable and are comfortable to wear over a t-shirt, base layer, or even a thin mid-layer of merino wool or the like. There are more than enough pockets, each of which features a solid feeling zipper. The jacket is long enough that it dips below my waist slightly to form a good seal with snowpants. The athletic cut fits perfectly under a shell. This jacket was just what I needed while skiing. It kept me warm without over heating and had great range of motion. It is also surprisingly light, especially for how warm it is. The Pertex fabric held up well to a few tumbles on the hill.
  • Reviewed by Midwest Outdoorsman from Midwest on Monday, January 25, 2016
    These mittens are very warm and feel extremely well made. They are lined with a soft fleece that feels good on the hand and does a nice job of soaking up sweat. My hands were very warm while skiing in 20*F weather. There were a few times I had to switch to lighter gloves as my hands were getting too warm even. The double adjustable gauntlet allows tightening at the wrist, as well as at the end which makes for a tight fit and no worry about snow entering or the mittens falling off. I didn't get a chance to dunk them to test waterproof-ness, but there did not seem to be able moisture entering from the outside. The material used for the palm is a supple leather that grips well and is soft to the touch.

    Great piece of gear at a great price from STP!
  • Reviewed by Midwest Outdoorsman from Midwest on Monday, January 25, 2016
    Comfortable layer to wear over just a t shirt even. Similar weight to a sweatshirt or light jacket. Inside layer is soft fleece, outside is a more abrasion resistant hard faced fleece. This piece is cut with the typical Black Diamond athletic fit. The arm holes are high and tight, but allow for good movement with little restriction. Sleeves are on the narrower side, you might be able to slide a thin base layer underneath but not much more. Good cut for a mid layer, as it slides easily under just about any shell. I am right around 6' and 175lbs and the size Medium fits nice and slim without being too snug.

    The Tangent does not have pockets near the waist for you hands or belongings, instead it is equipped with 2 napoleon pockets that also double as vents. The pockets are mesh lined, so they might not be a good spot for keys and such. I have not tested the Tangent in any form of precipitation yet. I do not believe the fabric is treated with any type of DWR so I wouldn't expect it to stand up to any form of serious or prolonged precip.

    I found this jacket to be much more comfortable than the Black Diamond Stack jacket that uses WINDSTOPPER instead of Wind Pro. The WINDSTOPPER in the Stack jacket was uncomfortable on the skin and a little noisy. It also wasn't nearly as soft.

    I would certainly purchase this product again, especially at STP's wonderful clearance prices. Can't recommend their service highly enough.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 ... 208
  • 21-30 of 2078 reviews
;