Black Diamond Equipment sets the standard in dependable rock climbing, alpinism, and backcountry skiing gear. What started with an eighteen-year-old man with a hammer and anvil has emerged into an employee-owned, global company that outdoor enthusiasts know and trust. When it comes to gear, Black Diamond Equipment constantly dreams of what could be and criticizes what exists to engineer the best gear out there, through rigorous, hands-on testing. From crampons and helmets to probes and backpacks, Black Diamond Equipment brings simple, yet powe ... Learn more about Black Diamond Equipmentrful gear to the forefront of life on rock, snow, ice or mountain. ... Less
Average Rating based on 1527 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 153 »
  • 21-30 of 1527 reviews
  • Reviewed by Lettucelord the Alpinist from Washington on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    Purchased this pack at the beginning of winter. Been using it for all my winter peak bagging. Great pack. All the gear holding capabilities are nice. From helmet to dual ice axes, rope, snow pickets, everything. You can pack it all along your extra layers and food/camelback for the day. The perfect size. I would give it five stars but the little clips for buckling and unbuckling your ice axes are almost impossible to use without removing your gloves.. which really sucks in the winter.

    Note the new ergoACTIV suspension is fantastic for ice climbing! The pack does not restrict your movement AT ALL.

    Also, pack not waterproof, just sorta resistant... :(
  • Reviewed by Telemark Biker from Central New York on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    These fit well in my packed out Garmont energy tele boots. The tongue and upper cuff added height and stiffness to the boots which I like. These will pack out a bunch I am sure, but it is nice to not have to wear extra thick socks. I even had to move the buckles to even get then buckled at first. The tongue is not sealed to the rest of the fore foot as is the case with the current model. That hasn't been a problem yet.
  • Reviewed by Will from New England on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    Not climbing on (even cosmetic) 2nds, I bought this for outfitting someone for a backpacking trip.
    Good shape, good color, smooth operation. Excellent. A cosmetic blemish is laughable… I'll blemish it cosmetically before a week is out. Price is ok. $1 less and I would buy 10 more.
  • Reviewed by Kevin from Washington state on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    First let me preface this by saying I've been buying from Sierra Trading post for about 10 years now and I've always gotten top shelf items at deeply discounted prices. This last order was left on my front porch and disappeared while I was on a short weekend vacation. I called Sierra and they made it right with no questions asked. That is a level of service not seen often. My second package arrived very quickly with all it contents.

    This head lamp is very nice. It is comfortable and very bright (rated at 90 lumens). I turned off all the lights in the house last night and it's bright illumination is great. It can also be dimmed which is not advertised, and was a bonus to find out. It doesn't state the it is water resistant or proof but I bought it in case there is a power outage not for camping. The construction appears to be quite good. Overall fit and finish is nice. It separates in half to put the batteries in. When closed the seem is tight. If you were hard pressed you could tape or vasoline the seem to make it better suited to harsher outdoor weather, but I believe it would work just fine in the rain.

    Overall, I think it was well worth the money, especially considering I got it for $19.
  • Reviewed by Forest Gump from Montana on Thursday, March 20, 2014
    The aspect is:
    - light
    - wide enough for powder
    - narrow enough at the waist to put them on edge on the groomers
    - a medium flex ski suitable for most
  • Reviewed by Big Papa Brian from Colorado on Thursday, March 20, 2014
    Had a black one. I used and abused it and it finally went out when my kid pulled it apart. I use this around the house even more than outdoors. My wife often goes to bed before me and I often get up before her. The lantern sits by my bedside and I use it almost daily. For outdoors, this lantern is very lightweight and takes up little space. Great to light up an area for a small group and hangs nicely in a tent. I love the ability to dim the lantern for a great soft glow and long battery life. Just ordered this green one and I love the color.
  • Reviewed by Skon from Wyoming on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    Perfect size and set up. Love the avy-specific tools pocket. My shovel is always close at hand there, but never in the way. Other pockets all well designed and accessible. Insulation on hydration sleeve works well...water didn't freeze.
  • Reviewed by Aimee, Search and Rescue from Santa Fe on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    These skis are extremely lightweight, have a good nice flex but not too much, nice thin waist helps with a tight gait, great reaction to bumps and crusty snow! I love them.
  • Reviewed by Team Run Amok from Bitterroots, Montana on Monday, March 17, 2014
    Fortunately, I have not yet had an opportunity to test the Avalung function! It has been an earthshaking year for avalanches
    in NW Montana and many other areas in the northern Rockies. So I have not strayed into ANY area with an appreciable risk.

    Good points:

    1) Fits well enough, and suspension is so good (I am 6-0, and bought M/L size) that 20 + pounds is hardly noticeable)
    2) Lots of compartments
    3)VERY easy to use ski straps)
    5) Helmut carrier
    5) Price was so reasonable, it would have been a great deal even without the Avalung.
    6)Great overall design.
    7) Should hold plenty of gear for a very long day trip.

  • Reviewed by Chels from Colorado on Monday, March 17, 2014
    I used this pack on a climbing trip last week, and it was great! I'm 5'5'' with a small torso, and the small fits great. It just fit all I needed for a day of climbing- harness, rope, shoes, water, snacks and a full rack. I like the pockets on the hip belt, great for my keys and lip balm. Definitely a great price for a good product, Black Diamond knows it's gear.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 153 »
  • 21-30 of 1527 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;