Black Diamond Equipment sets the standard in dependable rock climbing, alpinism, and backcountry skiing gear. What started with an eighteen-year-old man with a hammer and anvil has emerged into an employee-owned, global company that outdoor enthusiasts know and trust. When it comes to gear, Black Diamond Equipment constantly dreams of what could be and criticizes what exists to engineer the best gear out there, through rigorous, hands-on testing. From crampons and helmets to probes and backpacks, Black Diamond Equipment brings simple, yet powe ... Learn more about Black Diamond Equipmentrful gear to the forefront of life on rock, snow, ice or mountain. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 67
  • 1-30 of 1983 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MT Tiff from Montana on Sunday, November 29, 2015
    These have great insulation and have long cinched gussets that are easy to work even with the mitts on. They are high quality and look like they will last and handle a lot of wear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sunny from Korea on Friday, November 27, 2015
    Faithful to the basics of gloves. I'm very happy to purchase it with competitive price at Sierra Trading Post.
  • Reviewed by telemarkedr from Calgary on Wednesday, November 25, 2015
    I have poor circulation and small hands . I found these gloves to be both warm and functional at low temperatures . They work for me to -20F . They are good for adjusting buckles , bindings, and taking skins on and off . The only negative is that the lining loses insulation value after about a years use . The lining comes in and out of the glove easily to facilitate drying on multi day drips. The snow cuff is excellent, easy to pull tight with either your teeth or the other gloved hand.
  • Reviewed by etkirsch from Virginia on Tuesday, November 24, 2015
    Fabric -- tightly woven Polartec, probably around a 150 weight. "Hard-face" fleece on the outside, soft on the inside. Stretchy.

    Fit -- Athletic cut. I'm 5'7", 150 lbs., 38-39 in chest, 31 in. waist and opted for the small. The fit is snug -- but not tight -- around the chest area and excellent around the waist and arms. Length is just below the belt. Can be comfortably layered over a base layer, but arms and chest are too snug to layer over anything bulkier (or you get the Michelin man look). Hood is small and is designed for wear underneath a helmet.

    Form -- Minimal form. No drawstrings or cinches. Hood is close cut and stetchy enough that if fits securely over your head (even when running), obviating the need for cinch cords. Two deep Napoleon pockets with mesh backing can be used for dumping heat, the pockets are also deep enough to securely hold some keys even while completely open. Zips are high quality, but not seam sealed. Construction quality is first-rate, the jacket should last a long time.

    Function -- The tightly woven fleece does a fairly good job of keeping the wind out, but of course, the flip side is the fleece is not as breathable as a more loosely woven fleece. The Napoleon's assist in dumping heat when necessary. The jacket also provides a measure of moisture protection -- you can wear it in a steady drizzle to light rain w/o it wetting out. A steady rain or heavier and you'll be in trouble.

    So the jacket does a great job of providing a measure of protection against wind/rain at the expense of some breathability. I find that I use it regularly for runs in inclement weather (where the snug fitting hood is very useful) and it will probably work fairly well for hikes and as a mid-layer for downhill skiing. I would not use it for heavy aerobic activities (unless you need the wind/rain protection), due to the slightly reduced breathability. Basically, this sits somewhere between a fleece and a softshell and fills that space very well. Oh, it also looks very sharp and can be used for around town wear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Skomorokh Denys from Ukraine on Monday, November 23, 2015
    great backpack with a comfortable suspension system
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tom from Massachusetts on Sunday, November 22, 2015
    Would buy again, very warm and as advertised!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Paul from Washington on Thursday, November 19, 2015
    Just what I ordered
  • Reviewed by Cam from Killington on Wednesday, November 18, 2015
    Had to replace the rechargeable batteries with new ones right away, only downside. The headlamp sits in my car and plugged in for the many times its been needed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snuff Daddy from Kansas City on Tuesday, November 17, 2015
    Obviously high quality, but they were so stiff it is hard to make a fist. Perhaps they will break in. Unfortunately they were too large on me. The girth of my hands is 8.5". I should have got a medium.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RR from Leadville, CO on Monday, November 16, 2015
    This gloves fit well and will be a nice glove for warmer days or when doing more aerobic activities, like cross-country skiing.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by George from NY on Tuesday, November 10, 2015
    Nicely detailed, well made gloves - exactly what I was looking for for backcountry skiing. Good grip with high breathability and some wind resistance. No insulation - intended for high activity levels. I typically fall between a medium and large but I ordered a medium for a close fit. The gloves are moderately stretchy so the fit was perfect but probably wouldn't be if you have long fingers.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiker Bud from Iowa on Monday, November 9, 2015
    Looked from the pictures like you could take the water holding baskets off as needed. You cannot. They adjust for size, but do not come off...
    Good for when we need to carry something, but not a lot. Good for our 90 minute jaunt through the woods if we need to carry a phone and other little stuff. Even a thin jacket won't fit in the pouch.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hawk11 from texas on Monday, November 9, 2015
    The climbing rating was hard to understand. I would not trust my life on these but they are very handy for many uses.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mario from Florida on Friday, November 6, 2015
    This jacket is one I am on the fence on. I fit in a Helly Hansen small, and am between a small and medium in most jackets, but this thing is so tight in the upper arms, shoulders and chest, that is rides into my arm pits, even in the medium. Granted, I am muscular in those areas, but my 5-8, 160 lb body should fit in a medium as my arms are not that long. Slim fit should refer to the mid-section, not the shoulders. I am going to try the large, but I have a feeling it will be too long. It is a shame because the material, construction and styling of the jacket are top notch, even if it is purple! ;)

    If You are slender, I would really recommend this, but if you are chubby or have an athletic build you may have to return it because of fit. Size up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chuck S from Signal Mountain. TN on Thursday, November 5, 2015
    This is a great little lantern. It was smaller and brighter than I thought it would be. The built in flash light is a nice feature and when it is on with the lantern it dose a good job of lighting up a table top area.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rick the Urban Hiker from New York on Wednesday, November 4, 2015
    Nice basic light weight vest. I'm 5'-6" and 158 lbs and the vest fits tight, however it feels comfortable. It is ok up to low 50's for me any lower temps would have to layer with another jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Derek from China on Monday, November 2, 2015
    ergoACTIV is amazing design, very comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HZY Hu from portland on Friday, October 30, 2015
    good produclt!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hunting from Idaho on Wednesday, October 28, 2015
    Un-boxing this lamp I was surprised how little it was. I didn't read the descriptions, but that is not a negative for this product. I rather liked how small it was and collapsed into itself, great for keeping my packing small. I used this lamp to light up my 12x12 wall tent. It lit up the tent just fine, I left it running, on full, for eight hours before the batteries failed. I am not upset by this, just be sure to bring extra batteries if you plan to use it all night for several nights.

    5 stars for size, output and functionality (self standing and or hanging)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Andy O... from Duvall, WA. on Wednesday, October 28, 2015
    It is a cool product for the price I hope to try it out this week in the woods. I would also like to get the rechargeable kit for it do not have to waist the money on alkaline batteries...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Andy O... from Duvall, WA. on Wednesday, October 28, 2015
    This pack is so cool in the way it pivots on the hip belt. It can easily ajust the belt up and down for that perfect fit with the allen head wrench that is in the hip stow pocket. I bought this to replace my old training pack and so far it looks like a good step up...
    Ps the pack runs smal so I step to the large from the medium and I am 5 foot 10 inches...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Carol from New York on Tuesday, October 27, 2015
    My husband loved the fit of these and likes that they are not bulky. He has an inseam of 30 and these are the perfect length for him. And they pack small, which will be nice when we travel.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sue the hiker from Washington on Tuesday, October 27, 2015
    I haven't had a chance to hike with these yet, but I think they will be great. They are very light weight. My husband used Black Diamond Z poles on our recent rim to rim in one day hike across the grand Canyon and he had no problems with them. Be aware that they are not adjustable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by oceandrifter from Texas on Sunday, October 25, 2015
    This little lantern packs a lot of punch. I found it to be very useful for car camping trips and even power outages. Illuminates a large area and I love that you can convert between flashlight and lantern modes. Since it is lightweight it is easy to hang in a tent at night.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tom from Wisconsin on Friday, October 23, 2015
    Well made good stitching good materials
    Can't go wrong with this pack
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by On the run from New England on Thursday, October 22, 2015
    I'm a runner and am often out at 5:00 a.m., well before sunrise. After researching different headlamps for runners, this one was clearly a favorite among reviewers. I've had it out several times already after getting it last week and I love it. Great brightness and reach on the headlamp, and I like that there is also the back red light. Also love that is is rechargeable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jerry Norton from Saint George, Utah on Wednesday, October 21, 2015
    Easily holds a cellphone or small tablet. I use it mostly for carrying a Nexus 7 2013 LTE (in a case) and a light jacket or long sleeved shirt and my wallet when I'm out walking. The pack has a key strap and hook inside a zipper pocket that is distal when the pack is worn and a sleeve pocket that is proximal, which I suppose is there to hold a small flat water reservoir, because there is a little orifice in the pack's top through which you could pass a bite valve and drinking tube.

    With waist packs I've noticed that the bigger they are the more unwieldy and the worse the fit, especially when loaded. This one is one the good side of manageable.
  • Reviewed by Beaker from PA on Tuesday, October 20, 2015
    A nice mid weight layer that is sized for taller guys. At 6'2"/210lbs- the large is a good fit. This vest is more of a technical layering item than a fashion item. If you want it to be more stylish I'd recommend sizing up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by v from vermont on Tuesday, October 20, 2015
    Excellent price................nice warm gloves!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SLO from Californis on Monday, October 19, 2015
    Comfy, loose fit and lightweight - perfect for a hot day
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 67
  • 1-30 of 1983 reviews