Black Diamond Equipment sets the standard in dependable rock climbing, alpinism, and backcountry skiing gear. What started with an eighteen-year-old man with a hammer and anvil has emerged into an employee-owned, global company that outdoor enthusiasts know and trust. When it comes to gear, Black Diamond Equipment constantly dreams of what could be and criticizes what exists to engineer the best gear out there, through rigorous, hands-on testing. From crampons and helmets to probes and backpacks, Black Diamond Equipment brings simple, yet powe ... Learn more about Black Diamond Equipmentrful gear to the forefront of life on rock, snow, ice or mountain. ... Less
Average Rating based on 1751 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 59 »
  • 1-30 of 1751 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alaskan Guide from Alaska on Sunday, January 25, 2015
    Only used the boot a few times but it seems to do well. Hiking/skinning is comfortable and the boots feels fairly light weight. Out of the box the boots were comfortable. I put a different insole in the liner to add some padding to the sole. Watch out for the heel cup padding, caused me some irritation but only after a few hours of skinning with thinner socks. Swapped to some thicker socks after the liners packed out some and had no more problems. Boot seems true to size. I have a higher volume foot/high arch and the boots do fine. Skis well. Was concerned if these would have enough weight/stiffness to push a fatter ski. No problems. Overall solid boot and sufficiently warm for winter skiing. Can't beat the price point.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ellen from Utah on Friday, January 23, 2015
    fun skis for a great price! a little chattery on hardpack but thats to be expected from such a light ski
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by UnicornVindaloo from California on Thursday, January 22, 2015
    took it on a night hike and it was super comfortable, and lit the way for four of us since everyone else forgot their lamps. plus you don't need a screwdriver to change the batteries which is great, because one person in our group coulda had a lamp, but hers apparently required a screwdriver to get into the battery part which she didn't have! Very happy with this one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pine Cone from Western Washington on Wednesday, January 21, 2015
    I got a couple of these after using its larger sibling, the Black Diamond Apollo.

    This one is less than half the size of the Apollo, and it has a flashlight mode as well as the lantern mode. It would be great for backpacking or kayak camping. The smaller size is made possible by using AAA batteries so the battery life isn't as long as with the AA battery powered Apollo, but even with enough spare batteries to match the Apollo it would still be smaller and lighter than the Apollo so the Orbit would be my choice where space is limited. I have one in my car's emergency kit, and another out at our cabin. Gave a couple of these away as Christmas gifts this year. Wish I had had one of these years ago when we would go backpacking in the High Sierra. The Orbit beats the heck out of a candle lantern...

    Collapses to a small package which also keeps the switch from being turned on when packed up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pine Cone from Western Washington on Wednesday, January 21, 2015
    I have bought 5 or 6 of these now. I got one a few years back and used it camping and really liked it. Got a couple more for me and a couple for gifts. This year the power was out for a couple of days. These lanterns worked well around the house. I would use the Black Diamond Orbit for backpacking since it is smaller and lighter, but it runs on AAA batteries.....The Apollo runs on AAs which means it has a much longer battery life.

    The wire legs help lift it off a table to give a bit more useable light for playing cards or reading vs the shorter and smaller Orbits. The hooks on top make it easy to hang up in a tent or shade shelter. Folds up small and pretty much indestructable package.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PuR from Charlotte on Wednesday, January 21, 2015
    black diamond makes great gear all the way around
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dachswan from North Dakota on Tuesday, January 20, 2015
    I purchased these gloves for my husband for Christmas. I was looking for a mid-weight glove for warmer winter conditions (around 30°F). When these arrived, they seemed like they were pretty bulky to be worn for mild temperatures, but I believe the tag stated they would be appropriate for 40°F. As it turns out, they were too small and had to be returned, so I can't speak to their functionality. My husband usually wears a size Medium in most gloves and would have been better off with a size Large (which were out of stock).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mtngrl from Asheville on Monday, January 19, 2015
    These gloves are warm when out for walks with the dog. They have relatively slim fit so if your hand is on the upper end of the measurements for a size you may want to go up a size depending on how tight of a fit you want. They are not touchscreen compatible, but not a big deal to me.
  • Reviewed by Tom from RI on Thursday, January 15, 2015
    Failed,on the Kalalau! Had to put a folded bandaid inside to make connection!!! Up until then, I thought it was light, bright and inexpensive...

    You people who write reviews saying "I haven't used it yet, but..." need to cease and desist!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Savvy shopper from NyNy on Wednesday, January 14, 2015
    Bought 2 pair, one for me in a small and one for the hubby in large. They are very warm. Great for all the dog walking and winter hiking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt the Hiker from Boston on Wednesday, January 14, 2015
    These are the best gloves i own, hands down. I have worn them in windy temps down to -1 F. The wind proof fabric keeps your hands warm at much lower temps than you would expect from this thickness of fabric. They also are very sturdy and durable and look good enough to wear at work or more formal places.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DGD from New England on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    Haven't put it to any hard test yet, but it is light in weight and compact, and puts out a reasonable amount of light.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Melinda from Brooklyn on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    There's a nice array of settings, however it seems a bit fragile when you are putting the batteries in.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gardening Gal from North Carolina on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    A very bright light for reading or using in dark corners of the house. The dust pockets have been exposed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SanDiegoMitch from Pacific Beach on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    So I have never wore a headlamp and I was worried that this would be flopping around on my head while I ran. The profile of this is so close to your head and the weight is evenly distributed. I can shake my head hard and this will not move.

    The light is dimmable and has a back red light which flashes.

    I have only used it a couple times, and have not yet charged it, but at the moment I love this thing.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Spud from Idaho on Monday, January 12, 2015
    These are great gloves for those super cold days on the ski hill. I've also used them for a couple snowmobile expeditions and have no complaints If there is any downside it would be their bulk is a bit restrictive but it always seems to be a compromise between warmth and dexterity in gloves. Cold hands but don't like mittens, try a pair of these.
  • Reviewed by David from MIchigan on Sunday, January 11, 2015
    Seriously disappointed in these gloves and will be returning. Made for only moderate conditions. On inspection, after receiving these I looked at the attached Thinsalate label and it showed that the 70g of insulation is only good for their 2 out of 4 conditions. Severe conditions has between 150 to 200g.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dimako from Upstate, NY on Saturday, January 10, 2015
    Can't describe, but something did not go right with these gloves. Was it the fit? seems?
    I sent them back
  • Reviewed by cert417 from New York on Saturday, January 10, 2015
    Been running these for 3 seasons now... Great at almost everything, holds extremely well on "eastern hard-pack" quick responding, and handles GS speed well. Very good mogul ski if your willing to let ski do work and don't try to overpower. only issue is it's not great in powder.. a stiff ski, need to use a light touch. I'm 5' 10" 200lbs. expert skiing for 40 years
  • Reviewed by Green Rose from Idaho on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
    Awesome beanie that fits like a beanie should! The pink print is so fun and looks great with dark hair. It's warm and stays in place.

    Great purchase!
  • Reviewed by Green Rose from Idaho on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
    We've been walking our dog for 10 years every day, early in the morning, which means using a headlamp for 10 of the 12 months in a year. As our dog gets older, the dark mornings seem to be a little harder, enter this headlamp...its bright and lights up the morning! It is also quite lightweight on your head and the cord is long enough to stash the battery in any pocket on your jacket. At first I thought the cord would bother me, but I put it over my shoulder and totally forget about it! All the different settings are great and there's even a red LED to help you save your night vision when necessary.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Two Maine Coons from Austin, TX on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
    First ordered extra small, size 7 1/2, too small. Reordered small, perfect fit. Not too bulky. Keep hands warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DaveNVa from Newport News, Virginia on Saturday, January 03, 2015
    I have always used Black Diamond Equipment when possible. One of the red lights on this particular headlamp does not work, I don't use the red light function much so its not really a big deal.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Silent Witness from Korea on Friday, January 02, 2015
    I am disappointed with Black Diamond Equipment StormWeight Gloves - Windstopper® Fleece
    Because of tag seams, I have chafting on my wrists
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Down River from Idaho on Friday, January 02, 2015
    Impressive little light, especially for the price. I've owned a number (too many to remember) headlamps over the years. From a first gen Petzel that ran on C batteries, to the modern LEDs. This little guy rocks! I'm a commercial river guide who uses a headlamp from sundown to sleep, and this one fits the bill nicely. I especially like the red lamp option. Anyone who has worked after nightfall in an environment with insects knows that a headlamp turns your face into a giant beacon-not cool. The red light doesn't attract them nearly as much, nor does it detract from your night vision. For someone looking for a economical headlamp to use around camp or on the trail, you won't be disappointed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GM9 from Missouri on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    Really nice, form fitting gloves that are very warm and windproof. Haven't spent extended time outside with them in cold weather yet but was doing some chores out in windy, 28 degree weather and they kept my hands very warm for the 20-30 minutes I was outside. Never did get even a hint of the cold in my hands or fingers. I think these are going to be great for general winter use (walking around, driving, etc.). Only negative is that the seams in the ends of the fingers are slightly uncomfortable but that might have been better if I had a bigger size.

    I would definitely buy these gloves again and am going to get some for my wife and kids.
  • Reviewed by rthorpe from vermont on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    This is a great boot out of the box, so many adjustments, great in and out of bounds. Fit true to size with some room in the toes. Very happy with purchase.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wendy the Camp Mom from WA on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    We bought this for our son for Christmas. Ordered it a tad late but it got here on time, without having to pay extra for a speedy delivery.
    The headlamp was in great condition, looks very cute and easy to use. One feature I really love is that it will turn off by itself after a few hours, since he tends to leave his flashlights on. It will be fun to use for fort time around the house and awesome for camping this summmer!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pine Cone from Western Washington on Tuesday, December 30, 2014
    I have earlier versions without the flashlight option and really like them. That said, having it be a flashlight as well is quite handy. Not as bright and focused as single-purpose flashlights, but more than adquate for normal camping needs. This would be a great weight savings compared to carrying both a flashlight and a lantern.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pop T from Pa on Tuesday, December 30, 2014
    Black diamond makes great products these gloves fit me good keeps the hands warm and dry even in sub zero temps and they take a beating as a avid rock/ice climber and mountaineer for almost 30 years started using black diamond gear about 20 years ago and have never need disappointed
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 59 »
  • 1-30 of 1751 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;