Black Diamond Equipment sets the standard in dependable rock climbing, alpinism, and backcountry skiing gear. What started with an eighteen-year-old man with a hammer and anvil has emerged into an employee-owned, global company that outdoor enthusiasts know and trust. When it comes to gear, Black Diamond Equipment constantly dreams of what could be and criticizes what exists to engineer the best gear out there, through rigorous, hands-on testing. From crampons and helmets to probes and backpacks, Black Diamond Equipment brings simple, yet powe ... Learn more about Black Diamond Equipmentrful gear to the forefront of life on rock, snow, ice or mountain. ... Less
Average Rating based on 1668 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 56 »
  • 1-30 of 1668 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fishunter from Oregon on Monday, October 20, 2014
    I own the same flashlight that does not recharge. It's been a great light for setting up camp at dark or doing chores around home. Now with the recharge version, I no longer need to worry about disposing dead batteries. Charging is easy using the USB port on the flashlight. I now have a brighter flashlight beam whenever using it.I highly recommend it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Linda from Seattle on Friday, October 17, 2014
    This lantern was a lot smaller than I thought it would be, but that is an advantage as it can be packed easily and still has a very bright light! A nice hook design as well, it splits so its easy to hang anywhere!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RunnerGirl NM from New Mexico on Friday, October 17, 2014
    This is a lantern for a midget! I expected it to be much larger than it is, but oh well, it's Black Diamond. It will be a good backpacking lantern. It puts out more light that I thought it would for the size. I'll have to buy another lantern for car camping as I thought it would be much bigger.
  • Reviewed by aprilsnow14 from Utah on Thursday, October 16, 2014
    I am about 5"3 and the size small fits me well. I have not used it for the overnight backpacking yet but I am sure this backpack could do it depending on how big the tent package will be. I used it for a day hike and felt happy about it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by compton from VA on Thursday, October 16, 2014
    I already owned this headlamp but when i saw the price on STP i bought another as a backup.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SuperbugZ from Minnesota on Monday, October 13, 2014
    I've used this bag several times now for short day hikes and longer overnights trips. I really like it. It's simple style and accessible pockets works great for my preferences. I don't like a million pockets and this one fits the bill. The water bottle holders on each side are oversized (as compared to most) so it can handle larger bottles or extra equipment easily. I do notice a difference with the 'swing arm' straps and I did not think it was too stiff. The chest strap does have to be cinched for this feature to work though, which doesn't bother m. Fit like a charm, just what I was looking for
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yolo from Eugene OR on Thursday, October 9, 2014
    I am always losing headlamps, so have gone through quite a few, and this is so far my very favorite, and for the price it really cannot be beat. Love the rechargeable plus alkaline options, as well as the amazing array of light modes and settings this has, all controlled by one simple button. Looks sharp and sturdy too. Love it, one of my best purchases I think!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ChefSpecial from Texas on Thursday, October 9, 2014
    Gets job done. Needed light source for around camp. I like the weather proofing rating and light output for it's size. I'll buy another for my wife.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kim from Brooklyn, NY on Wednesday, October 8, 2014
    I haven't used this light on a camping trip yet, but it seems to powerful. The lumens are very strong and the light has multiple modes (low, high, strobe, red). I recommend this product to others.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Josh from North Central Washington on Wednesday, October 8, 2014
    These Lanterns are great. I bought this one as a gift for my BIL for one of his Christmas gifts. I have the same lantern and it is very compact, and puts out a lot of light. A great buy, especially with one of STP's great coupons.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dudethatclimbs from tx on Wednesday, October 8, 2014
    Decent mini-screwgate locking carabiner. Cheap. Good to have a few around for various uses.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dudethatclimbs from tx on Wednesday, October 8, 2014
    Relatively heavy for a wiregate, nose snags on wires, slings, thin cords, bolt hangers, etc...
    But its cheap and available in multiple colors.
  • Reviewed by Lisa from Portland, Oregon on Tuesday, October 7, 2014
    This helmet has an extremely flimsy strap system that attaches to the helmet at only one point on each side of the head. This causes the helmet to shift and tilt, even when properly tightened. During a fall the head can easily become exposed. Or, the helmet could shift and choke you. Or, the flimsy plastic attached to the straps could break causing the helmet to fall off.
    I'm very surprised that this is a Black Diamond product. It's possible that this product was recalled, but Sierra Trade Post is selling it anyway.
  • Reviewed by hockey dad from midwest on Tuesday, October 7, 2014
    other reviews are spot on, battery life is good, ordering another one because it just flat-out rocks. Lights up my 2-3 person dome very well hanging from the loop at the peak inside. The cheap ones you get at local big-box hardware stores have gotten a lot better in the last year or so, but still don't hold a candle to this lamp.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brandon from Tennessee on Tuesday, October 7, 2014
    I love the different options on this headlamp. I am able to control the brightness exactly how I want with the dim option. Haven't had a headlamp that does that before. This is great for just car camping. If was going to be hiking for more than two days I might look into something a little bit brighter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Meghan from Wisconsin on Sunday, October 5, 2014
    Love my new headlamp. I am never without one and the new Black Diamond is perfect. Small and lightweight with good light range. Like the different settings available. Bought a colored one so I can find easily in black bag. Excited to use a lot this sled dog season !
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Camping Mom from Alabama on Thursday, October 2, 2014
    Probably meant for backpacking. Best little lantern- uses 4 AA batteries, has a reserve mode with dim light when batteries get low. folds down on itself for storage. It is smaller than I expected- so perfect hiking use- but works fine for camping too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MTGirl from MT on Thursday, October 2, 2014
    I bought these gloves as a liner glove to go inside my down mittens for winter for the extra warmth, while out snowshoeing. They can be worn separately as well and keep the hands cozy warm. They have a nice leather grip inside the palm which is nice if you wear them alone for grabbing things. I would like to order another pair. Great glove at a great price.
  • Reviewed by GM from California foothills on Wednesday, October 1, 2014
    I've been waiting a decade for this product. I have needed a good bright lantern, and wanted the efficiency of LED light source. This is just what I've been wanting. The light it produces is much brighter than I was expecting, even with NiMH batteries which are a bit lower voltage than Duracells.

    Camping when days are shorter mean that meals and other camp chores happen after dark. Flashlights and headlamps don't really do the job for me, though I've got some of each. This lantern spreads the light around so you can work normally. I'll use it inside my converted minivan since I do lots of road trips and always have inside "housekeeping" to do after a busy day. Features I like include the compact size, pleasing shape, and especially the bright light. I'm sure the dimmer will extend battery life almost indefinitely.

    Too early to comment on durability, but it seems to be well made, and convenient, compact but very bright. It's easy for me to give this a top recommendation.

    Pick up four AAA NiMH batteries with a charger and car adaptor -- your car camp trips will be transformed.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Perx from New Hampshire on Wednesday, October 1, 2014
    Love the ability to adjust the brightness on this lamp. I use it when I'm out bicycling at night, camping, plumbing, whatever, and it's a little champ about it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SpiritHiker from Arizona on Wednesday, October 1, 2014
    I like that this uses AAA batteries so that I can easily swap out rechargeables and it seems small and light enough for backpacking. My only qualm is that it could be a little brighter on the highest setting - I do like that the light is adjustable in terms of brightness, so overall, very nice!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RidgeRunner from Knoxville, Tn on Wednesday, October 1, 2014
    Not the lightest carabiner, but will do the job.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Heather Feather from North Carolina on Wednesday, October 1, 2014
    Super bright, comfortable strap, multiple settings including the red setting. I am very happy with the headlamp.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by oodelally from Maryland on Wednesday, October 1, 2014
    This is my first black diamond pack, and it definitely won't be my last. The ergoACTIV suspension is amazing. It improves mobility like you wouldn't believe. Hauling this up with me on a climb or wearing as I'm setting up a rap anchor is no problem. The size of the epic 35 is perfect for me. I needed a long backpack for my 6'4", thin frame, and they had the perfect size for me. It's made of durable material, but I haven't put it through enough abuse to comment on overall durability yet. From the little I've used it though, black diamond has completely won me over.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by augie from New york on Monday, September 29, 2014
    Excellent item I chose. Lumens fit the bill. I like the rechargeable battery ability. Product is top quality
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by North Dakota Outdoorsmen from North Dakota on Wednesday, September 24, 2014
    I found the light to be extremely bright. I have not used it in long situations yet to see how well the batteries hold up, but i did move my grass one night with the light and it covers the area in front of you very well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NatefromVT from Boston, MA on Wednesday, September 24, 2014
    I used one of these last winter during a 4-day Avalanche training course, and it worked like a charm. The saw blade has a 30 cm mark noting how deep to cut for a shovel-shear test, and it can be attached to the bottom end of an adjustable ski pole (I have a set of Black Diamond poles that work great, can't comment on other brands or models) for a Rutschblock test.
    I'm only giving 4/5 stars because the saw came bent, and needed to be straightened. Also, the lack of documentation around compatible ski poles means there could be a few returns out there. Otherwise, this is a good product at a great price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kamui from USA on Tuesday, September 23, 2014
    The bright mode is really bright, the dim mode is perfect when you don't want to blind people. It's also very comfortable and light. The notched latch to lower the lamp worked great too, some of my friend had ones that couldn't be angled downwards, so it was a huge advantage having this.

    The cons, it's not so easy to switch between the regular mode and the red lights, it requires doing long presses. The red light is super dim, even the cheaper Energizer models had a strong red light mode.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by happy camper from California on Monday, September 22, 2014
    Great for camping or when riding bike at night or when power goes out.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dollybear from Arizona on Sunday, September 21, 2014
    I've used this once on a canyoneering day trip. It's lightweight and simple to adjust. I would recommend!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 56 »
  • 1-30 of 1668 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;