Black Diamond Equipment sets the standard in dependable rock climbing, alpinism, and backcountry skiing gear. What started with an eighteen-year-old man with a hammer and anvil has emerged into an employee-owned, global company that outdoor enthusiasts know and trust. When it comes to gear, Black Diamond Equipment constantly dreams of what could be and criticizes what exists to engineer the best gear out there, through rigorous, hands-on testing. From crampons and helmets to probes and backpacks, Black Diamond Equipment brings simple, yet powe ... Learn more about Black Diamond Equipmentrful gear to the forefront of life on rock, snow, ice or mountain. ... Less
Average Rating based on 1638 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 55 »
  • 1-30 of 1638 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ben from Washington on Thursday, September 18, 2014
    This is my second BD headlamp and it has not disappointed. Spot setting is extremely bright, could even be used as a headlight for bike commuting. The dispersed light setting is great for around the campsite for some less harsh light and the easy intensity modulation is super useful. Being a bit of a greenie, I also love the fact that I can use rechargeable batteries and that I can just charge it in the car anytime it runs low. Easy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt B. from Texas on Thursday, September 18, 2014
    I needed a smaller pack for daytrips and overnight adventures and this pack is perfect for both. Still large enough to fit my sleep system but not too large where I'm carrying unnecessary pack weight. The ergoActiv suspension makes this the most comfortable pack I've worn. Would have liked a 2nd hip pocket and for the hip pocket to be a little larger, but that's my only complaint. And as usual, the STP pricing made this a no brainer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by john from rapid city sd on Tuesday, September 16, 2014
    I really liked the design of this binding, returned due to ordering the wrong size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Allfieldnohit from Ohio on Monday, September 15, 2014
    The resin I say good and not great is because I have some great fleece gloves and they are the Manzella heavy-weight fleece gloves. They are better than these gloves. I also paid 40 bucks for them, so, you know, you get what you pay for.
    That being said the BD's are better than average fleece gloves and you can definitely use them in cold temps. They runs little small I think, not much, but a little. I got a large and they fit okay but if I try to make a fist they bind up. Think about grabbing you axe. I would get the XL if you normally get large like I do.
    All in all, good glove for the money.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Road Walker from Marin County on Friday, September 12, 2014
    This headlamp has a strong spot, which I love. It also offers a weaker light, if one doesn't need all the light of a spot. A vast improvement over the prior headlamps I have had, which only provided the weak light.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dave from California on Friday, September 12, 2014
    Great little lantern
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DAY from Coloradp on Friday, September 12, 2014
    Great Derailed savings on a quality Black Diamond daypack. Light weight, excellent suspension system, amazed at how much I can stuff into this pack. Thanks Derailed ... replaced my 45 year old Kelty daypack. Now my go-to ... stylin' with comfort, quality, greater capacity. Love it!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mofo83 from Seattle on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    I have had the Black Diamond Gizmo for awhile, which I thought was a nice basic budget headlamp.

    Then I got the Black Diamond Spot, which wasn't that much more expensive when bought from Sierra.

    Holy wow... I compared the two and almost felt bad for the Gizmo. The Spot seems to be about 100 times brighter, and it's not that much bigger or heavier.

    Plus, it has a ton of great bonus features: battery indicator, two white-light modes (beam and close-up light) which are both dimmable, plus a flashing strobe setting and a red-light mode.

    The headband is also a little thicker, and is very easy to adjust and is comfortable and feels secure.

    It also looks nice, which of course doesn't really matter but, hey, it's better than it being super ugly.

    I would HIGHLY recommend this headlamp - especially if you're considering a real cheapo one. Just spend an extra $10 and you'll be VERY happy you did.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ridgerunner from Knoxville, TN on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    Nice warm glove to use as a liner or a stand alone. Fit is good. Recommend.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kevin from Colorado on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
    Good Product. Don't worry about the blemishes, they are barely noticeable and can save you some money!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wilburwalker from Boulder, CO on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
    Love the continuous dimming feature. Only drawbacks are that there are so many possible lighting adjustments that controlling them is no longer intuitive (have to read the instructions and even practice at home) and that the pivot mechanism seems somewhat cheap.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ridgerunner from Knoxville, TN on Friday, September 5, 2014
    Great gloves. Comfortable, fit well and will keep your hands warm. Great for hiking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Song Bird from Connecticut on Thursday, September 4, 2014
    This headlamp has an intuitive design and can dim and flash. Great battery life with heavy use and brightest setting is very bright. Only complaint: Need a tiny screwdriver to access the batteries which is not a tool I'd normally carry on the trail.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BigHoleFisher from Montana on Wednesday, September 3, 2014
    Functional, minimalist task lighting for the backcountry or where ever.
  • Reviewed by Rhino from Oregon on Saturday, August 30, 2014
    I've owned about 5 different headlamps, and I think for the price my search is over. This is a really solid headlamp. It is lightweight, provides a wide range of light ranging from bright spot to soft, dispersed light, to late-night eye-sight-preserving red. On my last outing I was taking long-exposure and star stax shots with my DSLR, including making adjustments and new settings at 3:30am. We were in Central Oregon and the milky way was on full display... absolutely stunning. The red light LEDs helped me get around while preserving my night vision. It is comfortable and easy to use. Excellent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Florida Campers from South Florida on Friday, August 29, 2014
    The 2 older lights have served us well on at least 10 camping trips over 2 years. I don't know how to say how rough we are with them. We are careful with assembly and disassembly, but when the light is actually in use it gets dropped and rattles around in boxes with other gear and so on. We remove the batteries when not in use and they have been very dependable, compact, easy to use, and the dimmer function is great.

    We paid full price for 2 a couple years ago and when we saw them at Sierra, we bought 2 more to add to our hurricane supplies.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fly fish Koz from Northern Michigan on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    I love the multiple settings, two levels for the red light and a dim and bright for the white light for late night hiking out of those remote locations. Best part is the USB rechargeable outlet. As soon as I get back to the FishCar I hook it up to the AV/Lighter source and I am ready for the next trip mousing some favorite rivers. I must warn you to read directions and beware> you can accidentally lock it off if you hold the ON switch too long. To re-activate you must hold it down again for 4 seconds. I panicked in the woods and thought it was dead, luckiliy was able to unlock the truck with remote and used the headlights to find my way back. Tight Lines,
    Koz
    www.truenorthtrout.com
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jcs from CO on Friday, August 22, 2014
    Good gadget for night dog walkings, early morning jaunts, etc. Doesn't look too dorky. Good fit
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Josh from Ohio on Wednesday, August 20, 2014
    For the price I thought this headlamp was great. Extremely easy to use when compared to others. I have had multiple headlamps and some can get really confusing with the different options. One button and I was able to figure everything without even looking at the instructions.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Day Hiker from North Carolina on Wednesday, August 20, 2014
    This pack fits exceptionally well and is more comfortable than comparable packs this size and larger. I am 6 foot tall with a 38 inch waist and a long torso. This pack has wide-placed shoulder straps and the waist belt easily accommodates my waist while absorbing the packs weight on my hips. The pack itself is narrow and requires it be packed with consideration for items placed vertically as there is just a single top access to the interior. The side packets are helpful for snacks or water bottle placement.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Taurren from south korea on Wednesday, August 20, 2014
    i stroll sometimes in night .as soon as i got this headlamp. wearing on head and went out . front view is enough for strolling.

    good value for your money
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shane from Washington on Tuesday, August 19, 2014
    I really like this little guy! It's wonderfully adjustable and bright. Very long batter light and lockout system. Would definitely recommend!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aleks from NYC on Tuesday, August 19, 2014
    As in blinding! Don't know how long battery will last and on/off switch is a bit annoying. Cheap plastic feel, but the beam is very strong.
  • Reviewed by joshuatrout from california on Monday, August 18, 2014
    Very bright spot and proximity lighting. USB rechargeable batteries last longer than conventional batteries but it is a really nice option that you can use regular batteries in a pinch. Great STP pricing and Black Diamond quality is unsurpassed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by charbel59 from Brighton. MA on Monday, August 18, 2014
    Great buy, great headlamp!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jam from SLC, UT on Thursday, August 14, 2014
    Classic nice performing lightweight headlamp. Great price on Sierra Trading Post.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kris from Florida on Thursday, August 14, 2014
    Maybe it was because I had an energizer headlamp for so long but this headlamp might possibly be the greatest headlamp ever. I love all of the different functions. It is nice because you don't have to cycle through three different modes to get to the one you want. It is very bright! I also really like the dimming function where you just hold down on the button and release when the light has dimmed or brightened to your liking. Black Diamond also includes a 1 year warranty which is nice.

    I would recommend this to a friend and purchase again.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Whitney from Louisville, KY on Wednesday, August 13, 2014
    Super bright headlamp. The dimming feature is very nice for when you don't want to blind your significant other in the middle of the night.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by G from Minnesota on Tuesday, August 12, 2014
    Use these for night biking, will use for backpacking. Seem great, will have to wait to see about the battery life.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cinderbilly from Flagstaff on Sunday, August 10, 2014
    Love this headlamp. My altime favorite! I love the dimmer feature so you don't have to have it on blindingly bright unless you need to!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 55 »
  • 1-30 of 1638 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;