Black Diamond Equipment sets the standard in dependable rock climbing, alpinism, and backcountry skiing gear. What started with an eighteen-year-old man with a hammer and anvil has emerged into an employee-owned, global company that outdoor enthusiasts know and trust. When it comes to gear, Black Diamond Equipment constantly dreams of what could be and criticizes what exists to engineer the best gear out there, through rigorous, hands-on testing. From crampons and helmets to probes and backpacks, Black Diamond Equipment brings simple, yet powe ... Learn more about Black Diamond Equipmentrful gear to the forefront of life on rock, snow, ice or mountain. ... Less
Average Rating based on 1710 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 57 »
  • 1-30 of 1710 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tonebone from Minnetonka,Minnesota on Saturday, December 20, 2014
    My favorite for cross country skiing. Very warm for their weight. Run a little small would buy again yes!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DC from Chicago on Friday, December 19, 2014
    Low profile, low bulk, more dexterity than I expected. The cuffs would be my only reason to not give it 5 stars.

    I ordered these along with the MH Compulsion gloves. I wanted to really like the MH better, but these are the ones I'm going to end up keeping.

    The liner is nice and soft on these and the fit is pretty good. I have yet to find a ski glove that is a "perfect fit" and although these aren't it, they fit better than most gloves. I ordered a M because I like a tighter fit, but these still give me a bit of room both in length of the fingers and in overall feel. The outside material is much more pliable/flexible/softer than I expected. This equates to a bit more dexterity without having the different material at the joints that other, more expensive gloves have.

    The gloves are light and warm. The packaging is nice because they have a cold rating on them. From memory, I think these gloves were rated down to 0 degrees F. It's clearly labeled on the packaging, but Sierra doesn't show a picture of this. I really like the low profile of these gloves--my hands don't look like Wreck-It Ralph.

    My only issue is the cuff. I believe they are meant to go either above or below the jacket. What ends up happening with this dual sizing is that it's a bit small to go over the cuff and a bit large to tuck under once your jacket is on. My jacket cuff bunches up when I try to put these over my jacket which annoys me. The only solution is to put the gloves on first, then your jacket in order to get them under.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nordic skier from Vermont on Thursday, December 18, 2014
    i had a pair of these gloves that lasted for several years. I searched the local shops for a replacement to no avail. I am so pleased to have found them here at a much better price!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jeff from Boise on Tuesday, December 16, 2014
    Very sturdy, yet light. Fits perfectly on my pack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Omalizumab from Washington on Monday, December 15, 2014
    I bought this for my girlfriend. She is a runner and needed something to illuminate her early morning runs. I was worried that it would be a little too heavy and would bounce on runs, but it was no problem. The rechargeable batteries hold a charge for a long time, and it has plenty of illumination. The red LEDs make it more versatile and is great for reading. Highly recommended.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CebarElMate from Colorado on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
    Excellent quality, love BD. Seems like the sizes run a little large. I bought small, they fit perfect, I normally wear medium.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jung. Hoon from Seoul on Tuesday, December 9, 2014
    it's so very light. and bright.

    really good
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by joni the biker from maine on Monday, December 8, 2014
    These fit perfectly! I love the way they are made. I really haven't tried them outdoors in the cold so hopefully they will keep my hands warm in here in maine. The 5 star is for the quality only!!!
  • Reviewed by Aaron from Portland, OR on Thursday, December 4, 2014
    I've been using these around town and stilling on trails, nothing rough. They are holding up fine. They are decent cool weather gloves - my hands start getting cold in the low-mid 30F. Sizing is mediocre - the size large fits my hand, but I have excess material at my fingertips. That being said, I have fair dexterity in these. I will buy another brand next time I need some soft-shell gloves.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SuperCotet from New York on Tuesday, December 2, 2014
    Purchased one to use in my tent. It is very easy to carry as it compacts itself, bright enough to light up a tent. Couldn't be any happier with this lantern.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Billie the Nurse from Alabama on Tuesday, December 2, 2014
    Great fit. Warm and comfortable. I am very pleased with my purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by masslinden from Georgia on Friday, November 28, 2014
    I was very pleased with the quality of the piece, especially the strength of the adjusting clip. My only caveat is that I did not understand that each unit had two poles, so I had mistakenly bought two sets of two, when in fact I only needed one set.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PDX Ruth from Portland, OR on Thursday, November 27, 2014
    This is a lot of light from such a small package. I like that you can dim it - an unusual feature. It does not seem quite as bright as another small lantern I have, but this is not as harsh. I have this as an extra, not primary, light for car camping, but I imagine it would work well for backpacking - it collapses down. Various useful ways to hang or sit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Antonio from Ohio on Saturday, November 22, 2014
    Just want to say first off that I love just about anything that black diamond puts out. That being said this is my first black diamond pack and it was worth every penny. I am 5'11" about 175 lbs with an athletic build and the medium pack fits me perfectly. This pack allows you to have a hydration pack, has gear loops and a top loaded design. I bought this pack to climb with and it does that job well I can fit my harness, chalk bag, climbing shoes, 2liter camelbak, 32oz nalgene, extra clothes, food, cell phone, wallet,keys,extra biners, sleeping bag, hammock, rain fly and still have room for more. Great product I would recommend it to anyone!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JacquieeeG from Vermont on Thursday, November 20, 2014
    I love these gloves for winter hiking! They keep my hands warm but not to the point of sweating. If they get wet they dry quickly. I still have enough dexterity to do zippers and buttons.
  • Reviewed by Davy Crockett from Tennessee on Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    Decent and well-made backpack and a good size for a day climb. A generous but narrow 35L volume, which I feel helps with balance.


    Cons:

    (1) Straps a bit too narrow for me. I generally prefer a bit more padding and/ or width.

    (2) The "Sulfur" color depicted on the website is NOT YELLOW--nor as one would expect the color of actual sulfur to be (YELLOW). Twice I received and twice returned the backpack mainly because it is actually a sort of PEA GREEN.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tom s. from alstead, nh on Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    Great gloves. perfect fit, excellent quality workmanship, nice "grippy" palm. Ice not here just yet but will be perfect for climbing.
    Perfect balance of warmth and dexterity.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cold Feet but Warm Heart from Alaska on Monday, November 17, 2014
    Great pack! I was able to fit all of my avalanche gear and enough warm clothes and food for an overnight hut trip. Boots and skis hanging from the pack. Great pack!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sleddog girl from KS for now on Monday, November 17, 2014
    Or maybe my fingers are just stubbish. That's probably the case. Anyway, they still worked out fine because the extra room allows for a thin liner to be worn underneath. . .but that does make for more bulk and less dexterity. And that probably wouldn't present a problem unless you are me, and you're using these to walk three Siberians with. You need every advantage you can get, with bulklessness (! I think I just made up a new word!) and dexterity close up to the top of the list so far as gloves go. Well, we'll see. . .how far off is Spring?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Teva fan from Summit County, Colorado on Saturday, November 15, 2014
    Have been looking around for a ski glove that would keep my hands warm during those really cold days on the mountain. I ski about 50-60 days a season...mainly moguls in the mountains of Summit County, Colorado. I didn't want a mitten because I like having my index finger free for my ski poles....it's a skier thing. I looked at Hestras, REI brand, and Outdoor Research High Camp. I ran into some guys on the chairlift at A-Basin and asked them how they liked their BD lobster claws They both highly recommended them. I asked if they were durable and warm. They showed me that after one season no seams were coming apart and that they recommended using Nikwax to waterproof the palm area.The one guy even let me try them on....they felt really warm. The feature they liked was the removable liner and that the inside of the glove did not have separated fingers. I was sold and ordered them for my Christmas present to myself from my wife! I'll let ya know how they work out after Christmas (2014).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gumper from Cottonwood Heights, UT on Friday, November 14, 2014
    When I saw these I "jumped" on them; I have a pair that I purchased in a retail store. They are great all-around warm gloves, can drive in them. I wear them all winter long as I'm a ski instructor & like a nice-looking tough glove to wear back & forth to the slopes. These become my Spring ski gloves. I wear a S glove, ordered in S, perfect. I would recommend to not hesitate on these.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ken from Virginia today on Thursday, November 13, 2014
    Very versatile headlamp. Many settings plus the red lamp for nighttime use. Very nice feature is to be able to dim the lamp as needed. Very bright when required and dims nicely for tent use. Comes with batteries .

    Only downside is that the switch is is push button type and I have had it come on inside my pack when the pack shifts around or when removing or putting my back on. Need to figure out a good way to lock the switch..
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dr J from Cedar Rapids on Tuesday, November 11, 2014
    It is so light weight that you hardly know you are wearing it. It is not the brightest light on the face of the earth, but it is adequate for hiking. Probably not bright enough for working after dark outside doing construction , farm work , yard work, etc.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by harinzzang from south korea on Tuesday, November 11, 2014
    I bought a really good product at an affordable price . The best~!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by alex from okc on Monday, November 10, 2014
    I tgought that it was a great pack, I used it for a 3 days ticking trip and was very happy with it. I was able to stuff 3 days worth of clothes, a sleeping bag, food and a 2l water bladder. I used the side straps to strap a tent and a pad. Great Bag!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Agon,no BS from any mountain on Monday, November 10, 2014
    This a cute little light good for lighting a tent at night, not much else. Light weight.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rangefinder from Central NY on Monday, November 10, 2014
    I've worn these numerous times in 20-35 degree weather and found them to be very warm. For me they're true to size (L) and I don't have to take them off to perform simple tasks like locating key from my keychain and using it to open a door or lock. I may order another pair. Thanks ST and thanks Black Diamond.
  • Reviewed by hubbub from Idaho on Sunday, November 9, 2014
    purchased in the last month for day hiking hilly terrain. versatility is its best feature. flicklock pro allows easy and secure adjustment between 120-140 cm. rubber and carbide tips are interchangeable and replaceable. there is an extended grip surface. the grip diameter is noticeably narrower than those on the antishock poles i've been using recently. the pole strap is attached to the pole by a narrow cord which appears like it could be a troublespot later. the standard pole strap size is M-L and has a velcro closure for a secure fit. manufacturer doesn't offer a way to add snow basket, so this is a 3 season pole.

    much to like about this one. from my perspective, a beefier grip and a visibly stronger attachment between the pole strap and pole would have earned a 5 star rating.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cho from DE on Saturday, November 8, 2014
    good
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Markdouglas from Upstate NY on Wednesday, November 5, 2014
    Heavy fleece glove that runs small but is true to the sizing chart on Black Diamond. Extra large is 9.5/10 hand measurement which is usually a large in some other gloves. I measure 9.5 and the glove fits snug, but not too tight. I have longer fingers and they fit perfectly. I wasn't sure what the 300 weight meant but believe it's the heaviest weight of Polartec fleece, 100 being light and 200 being medium. To use these as liners you'd have to have a pretty big over glove that's just a shell. Other wise you'd have too much material between your fingers. Or a large mitten would work well.
    These gloves have a weird seam up the palm side near the thumb. Bothersome when you pull the glove on but not a bother when on as the seam follows the line from the center of the wrist to between the thumb and first finger. Saw this same seam in reviews of other gloves, some don't mind it, some do.
    Goatskin leather covers the whole palm and goes halfway up the thumb and first finger - for holding a hiking pole or something similar, I suppose.
    They go up the wrist enough to prevent an opening between the glove and a jacket.
    They seem to be stitched up pretty well so I'd say they are a great deal with the coupon
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 57 »
  • 1-30 of 1710 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;