Black Diamond Equipment sets the standard in dependable rock climbing, alpinism, and backcountry skiing gear. What started with an eighteen-year-old man with a hammer and anvil has emerged into an employee-owned, global company that outdoor enthusiasts know and trust. When it comes to gear, Black Diamond Equipment constantly dreams of what could be and criticizes what exists to engineer the best gear out there, through rigorous, hands-on testing. From crampons and helmets to probes and backpacks, Black Diamond Equipment brings simple, yet powe ... Learn more about Black Diamond Equipmentrful gear to the forefront of life on rock, snow, ice or mountain. ... Less
Average Rating based on 1598 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 54 »
  • 1-30 of 1598 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John on Whidbey from Freeland, WA on Sunday, July 27, 2014
    These carabiners are great looking and it is impossible to tell that they have color blemishes/etc.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cujo from Virginia on Sunday, July 27, 2014
    This is far and away the best headlamp I've owned. The button sequences only take a few seconds to learn, and it is as loaded with features as you can expect from this style of headlamp. The rechargeable batteries are a nice option, but you keep the longevity and power of standard batteries when you want it. The main beam is more than bright enough for most anything you'll use it for, as is the wide illumination. Best of all to me, you can access the red light without cycling through the white modes first. This is a very versatile lamp, for a good price. If you're disappointed in this light, your expectations were beyond unreasonable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by McKenzie the Climber from utah on Saturday, July 26, 2014
    This lantern is small enough that you can easily pack it away. It's still bright enough though to be of use. I also really like all of the color options.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lo from Utah on Friday, July 25, 2014
    This lamp is light and bright. It is everything I expected; I am very pleased with the quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Man Mountain from Eastern Pennsylvania on Wednesday, July 23, 2014
    At over 6'3" tall, there are few options for this category of pack for my torso length. This pack gave me the length I needed and the sale price was by far the best deal I found to replace a worn out lighter duty day pack in preparation for a 9 day vacation to Grand Canyon, Zion and Bryce Canyon NPs. The pack fits me as well as any small pack I've owned. I put a separately purchased 2 L hydration bladder in the built in area (it could fit up to a 3 L) and could fit up to a 1 L flexible bladder or water bottle in each of the side pockets. I carried ponchos, spare clothing etc for other family members in addition to my own on each of the day hikes we took on our trip. I used the compression bungees and loops at bottom to attach a pair of Trek Poles securely on the outside of the pack. I am satisfied with the purchase and am sure this pack will see a lot of use with my sons Scouting events and future family vacations.

    There are only two cons that kept me from giving this pack a 5 star rating:
    - The belt only adjusts out to a 39" maximum waist, which I either missed or was not stated in the specs. Not an issue for a lot of folks - but beware if you have a larger build. I bought a buckle and 2 ft of 1 " webbing for < $4 at a local supercenter and fashioned a waist extender that worked great.
    - The pack has only one belt pouch, two zippered pockets in the top cover (one internal & one external) and two side stretch pockets for organization of gear. Inside the main compartment, there is only the hydration bladder pouch / hang strap and the large open compartment. I'm looking at making some more minor modifications to better fit my needs, but others may not find this to be an issue.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SubieBru from Washington on Monday, July 21, 2014
    Perfect for the slopes or mountain hikes. So far I can fit everything in and around with comfort. The bladder is sweet, but i keep it half filled. just that added protection to hydrate on the trails during the summer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rhonda from Colorado on Saturday, July 19, 2014
    Great harness! Currently using this harness and wanted a spare to replace the one I'm using when it wears out. Very comfortable for those long days in the harness.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hikes with dogs from Washington on Saturday, July 19, 2014
    Good light quality. Since it is designed for kids, it requires a screw driver to change the batteries (provided). This can be kind of a pain if you want it for hiking, but we got several to put in our cars for emergencies, and they work great. I was afraid being designed for kids that the headband would be very small, but it is plenty big for an adult. Very good value!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CO Hiker from Denver on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    This little guy is perfect for backpacking, small and compact. I like that it folds down and that it has a dimmer switch to conserve batteries. Might want something with a little more power if you're looking to illuminate a big area, but this was more than enough to light up the tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JC from California on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    Bought this for myself to replace an old clunky miner-style headlamp. Love the rechargeable batteries, the size, and the brightness/intensity is great - it lit up the racoons eyes 50 yards into the forest!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JC from California on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    Bought this for my 7 year old...he's had a few other 'toy' headlamps that didn't hold up. He was so excited to get a 'real one' and loved it on our camping trip.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jack from Sydney on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    High quality, no complaints.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fly fishing bum from NC on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    I got this as a bday gift for my girlfriend cause she always steals mine. She didn't take it off her head the first night.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Badwater Spiderling from Santa Cruz on Sunday, July 13, 2014
    I bought this and the Highgear mini lantern at the same time. Though the HIghgear is brighter, it is also heavier because it uses AA size batteries, whereas the BD uses AAA. I like the light weight, look, and feel of this little lantern. It has little rubber feet that will give it good stability if you set it down on a boulder or other uneven surface. It's also much more compact than the Highgear, and compacts even further when you turn it off and "close" it by sliding the globe down over the torso. The light it casts is much mellower than the HIghgear, which is bad if you have weak eyesight and are trying to use it as task lighting, but good if you just want to go to the bathroom in the night without blasting bright light into everyone's tent. Added mellowness feature: if you hold the switch for a couple of seconds it will dim the light. You can choose where in the continuum to stop the dimming, so there are a range of light intensity options. I"m not a backpacker but I imagine the compact size and lightness of this lantern would make it a good choice for backpacking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Prizzie from California on Saturday, July 12, 2014
    I purchased this headlight after reading a positive review. Haven't had a chance to use it on the trail but tried on at home and walked around in the dark, worked great, planning an overnight trip to the sierras this fall and looking forward to having this in my pack
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AltaDave from Wyoming on Thursday, July 3, 2014
    Lots of options on this - I really like the night vision preserving red light only feature, which my other headlamps don't have. I haven't had a chance to make use of the main spot so much yet, but that's probably also a bonus over my old model.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Morgan the missionary from Kentucky on Friday, June 27, 2014
    I purchased this to take on a mission trip to Mexico where I would be living in the desert for 7 days. This light is awesome and worked better than expected. The high beam is extremely bright and functionality is very easy and intuitive.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by muir from sierra nevada on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
    I have had great success with Black Diamond lamps. This new one is the evolving improvements in them. Adjustable brightness is nice. Quality elastic straps are a must.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jules E from New York on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
    I am very happy with these poles. They have comfortable grips, they're lightweight, sturdy, they have a great locking mechanism, and the price is reasonable. I would have given them 5 stars if they would have included the rubber tip protectors (which I ordered separately later).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by w Scottt from Washington State on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
    Bought these for hiking in the Cascades. Having tried them out but they feel strong.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alchemist 55 from New York on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    It's small but lights up everything. Wasn't sure but it's awesome. !! Light weight. Easy to store
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JM from NY, NY on Monday, June 23, 2014
    Very small and light. Perfect for a tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Grasscycler from Seattle, WA on Saturday, June 21, 2014
    We love all its many features. We bought four of them and couldn't be more pleased. I love the red light, night vision saver. Just have to teach the kids how to use them as they are a bit tricky to learn because they have so many functions. Awesome headlamp, you won't be disappointed.
  • Reviewed by Erik from Dallas on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    These are defiantly the kid version not the climber version of a nice headlamp. Not as bright as some others, and works too hard at being safe from the kids, like the screw locking in the battery, except what about when the adult needs to change the batter... I think I can teach my kid to not take the batteries out of his lamp, but on the other hand I am not sure I always want to need to be carrying a small screw driver to be able to change the batter..
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Daisy D from California on Monday, June 16, 2014
    Great product, exactly what expected. Perfect for my hikes. Tried them out and work great.
  • Reviewed by Bugsy McGraw! from Tennessee on Monday, June 16, 2014
    I bought this light based on reviews from others. Its fantastic. My favorite feature is that you can dim the light to fit your application... If you're walking at night it's bright and lights the way, but if you're reading in your tent...it will dim down to make that possible as well. The fluorescent color makes it day to find at night...I'm happy with my purchase! STP prices are amazing!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by percy from NY on Friday, June 13, 2014
    very good
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The guy you thought you saw from ADKs on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    Since this headlamp didn't cost much I'd say it's worth the money but I wouldn't want it for my primary headlamp. It seem to be cheaply constructed and I don't think it will hold up all that well but it does only take 2 AAA and has a relatively long battery life. Also the variable dimming feature is nice in a headlamp of this price point.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Camper from WA on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    works great, I like the multiple light settings.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jimbo from Cytbank on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    Their are times when you don't have to pay top dollar to get a top of the line item - this is a case where you may a minimal amount to get a set of trekking poles that will meet your needs time and time again - over many decades!!Highly recommended for the first timers - last set of poles that you will ever need!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 54 »
  • 1-30 of 1598 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;