Black Diamond Equipment sets the standard in dependable rock climbing, alpinism, and backcountry skiing gear. What started with an eighteen-year-old man with a hammer and anvil has emerged into an employee-owned, global company that outdoor enthusiasts know and trust. When it comes to gear, Black Diamond Equipment constantly dreams of what could be and criticizes what exists to engineer the best gear out there, through rigorous, hands-on testing. From crampons and helmets to probes and backpacks, Black Diamond Equipment brings simple, yet powe ... Learn more about Black Diamond Equipmentrful gear to the forefront of life on rock, snow, ice or mountain. ... Less
Average Rating based on 1697 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 57 »
  • 1-30 of 1697 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Antonio from Ohio on Saturday, November 22, 2014
    Just want to say first off that I love just about anything that black diamond puts out. That being said this is my first black diamond pack and it was worth every penny. I am 5'11" about 175 lbs with an athletic build and the medium pack fits me perfectly. This pack allows you to have a hydration pack, has gear loops and a top loaded design. I bought this pack to climb with and it does that job well I can fit my harness, chalk bag, climbing shoes, 2liter camelbak, 32oz nalgene, extra clothes, food, cell phone, wallet,keys,extra biners, sleeping bag, hammock, rain fly and still have room for more. Great product I would recommend it to anyone!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JacquieeeG from Vermont on Thursday, November 20, 2014
    I love these gloves for winter hiking! They keep my hands warm but not to the point of sweating. If they get wet they dry quickly. I still have enough dexterity to do zippers and buttons.
  • Reviewed by Davy Crockett from Tennessee on Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    Decent and well-made backpack and a good size for a day climb. A generous but narrow 35L volume, which I feel helps with balance.


    Cons:

    (1) Straps a bit too narrow for me. I generally prefer a bit more padding and/ or width.

    (2) The "Sulfur" color depicted on the website is NOT YELLOW--nor as one would expect the color of actual sulfur to be (YELLOW). Twice I received and twice returned the backpack mainly because it is actually a sort of PEA GREEN.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tom s. from alstead, nh on Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    Great gloves. perfect fit, excellent quality workmanship, nice "grippy" palm. Ice not here just yet but will be perfect for climbing.
    Perfect balance of warmth and dexterity.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cold Feet but Warm Heart from Alaska on Monday, November 17, 2014
    Great pack! I was able to fit all of my avalanche gear and enough warm clothes and food for an overnight hut trip. Boots and skis hanging from the pack. Great pack!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sleddog girl from KS for now on Monday, November 17, 2014
    Or maybe my fingers are just stubbish. That's probably the case. Anyway, they still worked out fine because the extra room allows for a thin liner to be worn underneath. . .but that does make for more bulk and less dexterity. And that probably wouldn't present a problem unless you are me, and you're using these to walk three Siberians with. You need every advantage you can get, with bulklessness (! I think I just made up a new word!) and dexterity close up to the top of the list so far as gloves go. Well, we'll see. . .how far off is Spring?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dexter Rutecki from Summit County, Colorado on Saturday, November 15, 2014
    Have been looking around for a ski glove that would keep my hands warm during those really cold days on the mountain. I ski about 50-60 days a season...mainly moguls in the mountains of Summit County, Colorado. I didn't want a mitten because I like having my index finger free for my ski poles....it's a skier thing. I looked at Hestras, REI brand, and Outdoor Research High Camp. I ran into some guys on the chairlift at A-Basin and asked them how they liked their BD lobster claws They both highly recommended them. I asked if they were durable and warm. They showed me that after one season no seams were coming apart and that they recommended using Nikwax to waterproof the palm area.The one guy even let me try them on....they felt really warm. The feature they liked was the removable liner and that the inside of the glove did not have separated fingers. I was sold and ordered them for my Christmas present to myself from my wife! I'll let ya know how they work out after Christmas (2014).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gumper from Cottonwood Heights, UT on Friday, November 14, 2014
    When I saw these I "jumped" on them; I have a pair that I purchased in a retail store. They are great all-around warm gloves, can drive in them. I wear them all winter long as I'm a ski instructor & like a nice-looking tough glove to wear back & forth to the slopes. These become my Spring ski gloves. I wear a S glove, ordered in S, perfect. I would recommend to not hesitate on these.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ken from Virginia today on Thursday, November 13, 2014
    Very versatile headlamp. Many settings plus the red lamp for nighttime use. Very nice feature is to be able to dim the lamp as needed. Very bright when required and dims nicely for tent use. Comes with batteries .

    Only downside is that the switch is is push button type and I have had it come on inside my pack when the pack shifts around or when removing or putting my back on. Need to figure out a good way to lock the switch..
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dr J from Cedar Rapids on Tuesday, November 11, 2014
    It is so light weight that you hardly know you are wearing it. It is not the brightest light on the face of the earth, but it is adequate for hiking. Probably not bright enough for working after dark outside doing construction , farm work , yard work, etc.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by harinzzang from south korea on Tuesday, November 11, 2014
    I bought a really good product at an affordable price . The best~!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by alex from okc on Monday, November 10, 2014
    I tgought that it was a great pack, I used it for a 3 days ticking trip and was very happy with it. I was able to stuff 3 days worth of clothes, a sleeping bag, food and a 2l water bladder. I used the side straps to strap a tent and a pad. Great Bag!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Agon,no BS from any mountain on Monday, November 10, 2014
    This a cute little light good for lighting a tent at night, not much else. Light weight.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rangefinder from Central NY on Monday, November 10, 2014
    I've worn these numerous times in 20-35 degree weather and found them to be very warm. For me they're true to size (L) and I don't have to take them off to perform simple tasks like locating key from my keychain and using it to open a door or lock. I may order another pair. Thanks ST and thanks Black Diamond.
  • Reviewed by hubbub from Idaho on Sunday, November 9, 2014
    purchased in the last month for day hiking hilly terrain. versatility is its best feature. flicklock pro allows easy and secure adjustment between 120-140 cm. rubber and carbide tips are interchangeable and replaceable. there is an extended grip surface. the grip diameter is noticeably narrower than those on the antishock poles i've been using recently. the pole strap is attached to the pole by a narrow cord which appears like it could be a troublespot later. the standard pole strap size is M-L and has a velcro closure for a secure fit. manufacturer doesn't offer a way to add snow basket, so this is a 3 season pole.

    much to like about this one. from my perspective, a beefier grip and a visibly stronger attachment between the pole strap and pole would have earned a 5 star rating.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jms from DE on Saturday, November 8, 2014
    good
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Markdouglas from Upstate NY on Wednesday, November 5, 2014
    Heavy fleece glove that runs small but is true to the sizing chart on Black Diamond. Extra large is 9.5/10 hand measurement which is usually a large in some other gloves. I measure 9.5 and the glove fits snug, but not too tight. I have longer fingers and they fit perfectly. I wasn't sure what the 300 weight meant but believe it's the heaviest weight of Polartec fleece, 100 being light and 200 being medium. To use these as liners you'd have to have a pretty big over glove that's just a shell. Other wise you'd have too much material between your fingers. Or a large mitten would work well.
    These gloves have a weird seam up the palm side near the thumb. Bothersome when you pull the glove on but not a bother when on as the seam follows the line from the center of the wrist to between the thumb and first finger. Saw this same seam in reviews of other gloves, some don't mind it, some do.
    Goatskin leather covers the whole palm and goes halfway up the thumb and first finger - for holding a hiking pole or something similar, I suppose.
    They go up the wrist enough to prevent an opening between the glove and a jacket.
    They seem to be stitched up pretty well so I'd say they are a great deal with the coupon
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Skier Katie from Rossland on Tuesday, November 4, 2014
    Thought 30L would be too big for day trips but I got the S/M (I'm 5'8'' female) and it is the perfect size!
  • Reviewed by Useok Jeong from Seoul on Monday, November 3, 2014
    This is a very versatile headlamp. I like this headlamp for this three reasons.

    1. Easily rechargeable with USB cable.
    2. Provides various operating mode. Dimming mode and high/low setting is very useful in night hiking and camping.
    3. Brightness is fair enough
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Old Coach from Bellingham, Washington on Saturday, November 1, 2014
    I am just back from elk and deer hunting camp. This lantern illuminated out outhouse tent, and did a great job. A surprising amount of light for such a small package.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CNY runner from Syracuse NY on Thursday, October 30, 2014
    This is the perfect light for early morning runs: it's very light, I like the multiple light settings.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by N from Oregon on Tuesday, October 28, 2014
    Much brighter than my old Princeton Tec headliamp. I love the different setting options (spotlight, dim, red) and charging is working great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoorsman from California on Tuesday, October 28, 2014
    I have a ton of different camp lights, lanterns, etc. This by far has been one of the most useful. I've had one for about 8 years and figured why not get a second one when I saw it on Sierra. Good amount of light for it's size. Nice for inside a tent, in the back of a car, etc. It lights up smaller areas very well. It wont' light up a whole campsite like a big lantern. Maybe a table for eating outside.

    Smart design and very compact. I like how it collapses, which makes it impossible to turn on when packed in your bag. I've had that happen with others. The "on" button gets bumped during transport and turns it on in your bag. Then when you need it the batteries are dead. That can't happen with this light because the upper globe slides down over the base, covering the "on" button, when not in use.

    LED and the batteries (4 AAA) will last a long time. Easily an entire weekend of camping and most likely close to a week of camping. I can't say I've had to change the batteries much, but if I recall, on a 10 day car camping trip a few years ago I think the batteries lasted 5-6 days. And this was a late fall trip where we went to bed early read in bed because the sun went down at 5pm. So lots of evening use.

    Also has a hook on the top for hanging. I've hung it in my tent many times. Also hung it in my car a few times.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike B from Philadelphia on Sunday, October 26, 2014
    I had to up-size from a mondo 28 to a mondo 31 so my toes weren't crushed...otherwise nice boots!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aspite1 from New York on Sunday, October 26, 2014
    This product is a great light for everything from car camping to backpacking to just having in-case you lost power in your home. I would definitely recommend as it is both light and compact as well as having the ability to change the amount of lumens it releases through the simple push of a button.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Uber Mountaineer from Alaska on Saturday, October 25, 2014
    This helmet is super sweet! light weight and awesome looking! has great venting can't really be beat at this price point
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tele-fats from PNW on Thursday, October 23, 2014
    short cuffed, well fitting. I look forward to using these this ski season. BD makes a nicely fitted glove that, in the past, has lasted several season of hard use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by midwest in the mountains from Idaho on Thursday, October 23, 2014
    I bought this headlamp for delivering newspapers in the morning because I was tired of having to handle a flashlight. I always use it on the focused beam at maximum brightness, and after 8 days use for about an hour each day, the batteries are needing to be replaced. I used the standard Energizer batteries that came with the headlamp, so I plan on using lithium batteries so I will not have to replace them as often.

    This is a good light, and it was at an excellent price, so I ended up buying another one for my son. The plastic housing feels a little cheap, so I'm not sure what would happen if it was dropped on a hard surface, thus the four stars. The cool thing about it is the different modes: focused beam (which can be dimmed), broadcast lighting, and red night-vision lighting (which can be set to flashing for emergencies). I don't know how much I'll use the other modes aside from the focused beam, but I can see how they could be useful at times. The only thing I really don't like about it is that it feels uncomfortable on my bare forehead (I don't wear a hat). I wish there was foam padding or something on the back of the unit to cushion it against the skin. This is a great headlamp and at this point I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kyle G from Oklahoma on Thursday, October 23, 2014
    I love the high beam and the red light. I wish the smaller LEDs would illuminate a wider area. This would make out more useful. I also like that you can adjust the brightness.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fishunter from Oregon on Monday, October 20, 2014
    I own the same flashlight that does not recharge. It's been a great light for setting up camp at dark or doing chores around home. Now with the recharge version, I no longer need to worry about disposing dead batteries. Charging is easy using the USB port on the flashlight. I now have a brighter flashlight beam whenever using it.I highly recommend it.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 57 »
  • 1-30 of 1697 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;