Black Diamond Equipment sets the standard in dependable rock climbing, alpinism, and backcountry skiing gear. What started with an eighteen-year-old man with a hammer and anvil has emerged into an employee-owned, global company that outdoor enthusiasts know and trust. When it comes to gear, Black Diamond Equipment constantly dreams of what could be and criticizes what exists to engineer the best gear out there, through rigorous, hands-on testing. From crampons and helmets to probes and backpacks, Black Diamond Equipment brings simple, yet powe ... Learn more about Black Diamond Equipmentrful gear to the forefront of life on rock, snow, ice or mountain. ... Less
Average Rating based on 4 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 62 »
  • 1-30 of 1839 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trog Lodyte from Oregon on Monday, May 04, 2015
    I have not had a chance to use this product yet. I purchased the cheapest headlamp available at the time, without reading product reviews. Had I done so, I would have certainly avoided this product, because needing to use the proprietary tint screwdriver provided in order to open the unit and install batteries is a huge inconvenience.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Susan from Portland Or on Saturday, April 25, 2015
    The lantern is exactly what it was advertised. My son used it for camping & it is very easy to use & hook up in the tent. I highly recommend it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alexander from New York on Friday, April 24, 2015
    Got this little guy because I have the Storm (I think? I forget the model name maybe) by Black Diamond and I love it but it is SUPER bright. Which was awesome when I was hiking 5 miles into camp at 10pm and hiking out at midnight. But when I was just around the camp or in the tent I could get away with something a little less potent. The Gizmo seems like it will be a great camp/softer light headlamp for when I don't need as long of a visibility range and I do not want to blind my friends. So far I like my Black Diamond headlamps, they seem comfortable, easy to use and easy to open for battery replacement.

    Also I appreciate the variety of colors their lamps come in. This one was green only due to close outs, but my other one I got in orange. No confusing that for my friends' lamps.
  • Reviewed by semperfi2015 from Pennsylvania on Thursday, April 23, 2015
    STREAMLINED! Best way to describe this pack. STP/BD's description is spot on.
    Bought this pack so I would stop overloading my BD Hollowpoint while training and on short hikes. I do 2-4 conditioning hikes/runs per week with 30-65# and this pack has been perfect! Hugs your body and cinches down tight both to your body and on the load inside the bag. The foam in the shoulder straps and hip belt is thin but firm--cushions the load without being bulky. Love the design of the top loader with the zipper towards the head so you don't have to lay the back panel on the ground to access the bag. Straps are well placed to minimize movement, even while running. Understand that a top loader like this isn't conducive to retrieving items quickly out of the bag. This is a holder/transporter, not a wide open suitcase. Also the back panel does not breathe well at all. No vents cut into it but the trade off is it hugs your body like a glove. That's only "complaint" I can come up with for this bag-the back doesn't breathe well. But I'm sure the vents would've affected the fitment which is so awesome I couldn't even take a star away. Love this bag! Plenty big for a 2-3 day trip, more as long as you don't bring the sink. If you want a lightweight, streamlined, no frills, high function pack, you can't go wrong here.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RockyMountainMom from Colorado on Saturday, April 18, 2015
    A nice lightweight glove for everything from walking the dog, yardwork, and warm spring skiing! I normally wear a size 8 glove and the large was slightly tighter than I normally would wear, but I really liked these so I kept them and now they fit like a glove!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve from Utah on Saturday, April 18, 2015
    Spring ski, cycling, running.....super comfy and warm.
    I bought a pair for me, then two more pairs for my wife and daughter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gloveman from Colorado on Thursday, April 16, 2015
    This is my second pair. I loved the last pair and they got misplaced so although they were a gift and I didn't know the brand and size, I tracked them down and bought another pair. I also bought some for relatives. They are great for driving and I use them for this and for general wear here in Colorado during the winter. They grip well and are very comfortable. My fingers will get cold if I wear these gloves outside for an extended period of time when the temperature is below 15 degrees.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joe Blow from Raleigh on Thursday, April 16, 2015
    I used these on a ten year old pair of high end Tecnica racing boots. The boot liners were torn a bit and were starting to break down. The only other option was to scrap the boots which still worked pretty well. These work pretty well, i used the former liners custom insole which helped a lot, as these liners do not come with an insole, and not sure you really need one with them. they snug up nicely with the cinch system. the only issue i have is when i take the boot off, the liner comes out of the boot shell partially, which is probably because they were not designed to work together. BUT they are comfortable and if it gives me another 10 ski days I will be very happy. the tongue has enough firm padding which is what I was worried about. Cinching up the boots also causes you to buckle them less tightly I think which over all may make the typical ski boot agony more bearable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by warm water diver from Pasadena on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
    the the fingers are too fat for me
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Camper from Chattanooga, TN on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
    I love my bag. It has pockets everywhere. I do wish there were a few pockets on the inside, however it is not an issue. It holds everything I need it to and looks great!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LH from Texas on Tuesday, April 14, 2015
    Does it's job well, no complaints! Comfortable head strap as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by A from Wyo on Monday, April 13, 2015
    Nice, simple
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by OG from Colorado on Wednesday, April 08, 2015
    This is a well thought out light. It works as a lantern. It works as a flashlight. It is small and light. When purchasing these lights pay attention to which evolutionary version of the Orbit you are buying. I seem to be aware of at least 3 versions by now. One version doesn't have the downward flashlight. Another version has the 2 light orientations (lantern and flashlight) with fewer lumens on the lantern. The 3rd version has the lantern and flashlight with more lumens possible on the lantern.

    The lights dim in a nice controllable way.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kendall from Southern California on Wednesday, April 08, 2015
    I really like this lantern. Nice design, well made, works good. I use the variable output feature, turn down the light output, and it lasts quite a while. One point off because the way the battery pack fits into the unit could be better, but that's not a big deal. I think it will last for years. I use rechargeable batteries so the cost to operate is minimal.
  • Reviewed by Jon K from Minnesota on Wednesday, April 08, 2015
    This is a tiny little area light that puts out plenty of lumens for its size. It will fit in a coat pocket and is very lightweight, but seems sturdy enough to handle some abuse. It's mostly plastic, with a metal top hanging loop.

    To adjust the brightness level you just hold down the power button and it gradually dims for a 2 or 3 seconds until it reaches the dimmest setting. It flashes briefly to let you know it's at the bottom, and then gradually brightens until it reaches the brightest setting, when it flashes again to let you know it's at the top.

    The fact that the power button is covered when it's closed ensures that it won't accidentally get turned on while not needed. You CAN leave the light on with the cover closed, which makes the light quite a bit dimmer -- useful when you want the least light late at night.

    The top hanging loop is actually two half-loops that are only attached to the lantern on one side and overlap in the middle. This means that you can open it to hang it from your tent or somewhere else; very clever and useful feature!

    Would purchase again.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by guidedog from so cal on Wednesday, April 08, 2015
    Simply a good chalk bag, made well
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve from Utah on Wednesday, April 08, 2015
    My spring ski gloves for when temps don't require full blown ski gloves.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mr. C from Green Moutains of Vermont on Tuesday, April 07, 2015
    A nice little light from BD. I like the LED on the bottom, but don't think of it as a wide beam diffused flashlight. Think of it instead as a nice overhead light for your cooking prep or eating table. If you hang it and just have the upper LED on there will be a dark shadow area below. Click the bottom LED light and you solve the problem. Click the switch 3 times and both LEDs come on! Dropped 1 star because I'm leery about the durability of the outer globe and how it 'snaps' into the base when opened. If the unit gets crushed the globe may crack and then the snap in feature will fail.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MtnGirl from PA Pennsylvania on Tuesday, April 07, 2015
    It's small, cool colors, light on your head, and bright. It's not made for abuse and no bells and whistles but you can move the light up and down a bit, so perfect for my needs.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RB from Dead Sea on Monday, April 06, 2015
    Used the poles on my first hike. Packed really nice, small and easy to assemble when needed. I stumbled with the grip-straps until I realized they are orientated to L and R, which made them very ergonomic. Gave good support. So far so good.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tom from Morris, IL. on Saturday, April 04, 2015
    These gloves are well made and keep the wind out! The grippy dots are the bomb fo sho! Thanks again STP !!
  • Reviewed by semperfi2015 from Pennsylvania on Thursday, April 02, 2015
    +I've had this pack for about a month now and have been using it primarily for training hikes/runs as well as a daily bag. So far very happy! As a daily bag you can't go wrong. Surprising amount of room in the main pocket. It's hard to tell from the picture but the bag does taper out a little from bottom to top so packing it and getting to things is very easy, especially with the wide opening the lid provides (I can put my hard hat inside without any issue or needing to turn it on it's side). There is a pocket for a hydration bladder inside the main compartment too with a center straw feed out the back. There is a loop at the top so you can hang your bladder but no clip, you'll need your own carabiner or clip. The front zipper compartment has some mesh pockets that keep keys and small items from rattling around--again more room than I'd anticipated there too.

    +This little bag is strong! I've been loading 40-60# of solid steel weight for my conditioning hikes and it's held up great! I'm sure this is significantly more weight than this bag was designed for but it is showing no signs of stress anywhere. The waist belt is a little outmatched with as much weight as I've put in it but along with the sternum strap it still holds the bag fairly securely without a lot of side to side movement even running.
    I haven't water treated or done a long exposure water test yet but I did do a couple miles in a very wet snowfall. By the time I finished I was soaked head to toe (except for my boots, AKU Sintesi's, different review) but the inside of the bag was still completely dry.

    -If I could change anything I would add a little bit of ventilation to the back panel and make the waist belt at least 2" webbing if not add a little padding. The back panel is not uncomfortable it just gets hot quick because it's completely flat against your back.
    -The belt is not Black Diamonds best design. It's incredibly thin and meant for very light loads. I could live with this given how streamlined the rest of the bag is-there is almost nothing hanging off the bag to catch on anything which is awesome. But if that was their reason for making the belt so small then there should be a way to put the belt away and keep it from hanging when not in use--either a place to store it or straps to roll it up. Neither feature is there though so unless you add something (I added shock cord) the belt just hangs when not in use. You really can't even buckle it around the front because the bag tapers down at the bottom so it falls off. The belt does ok at minimizing movement but completely fails in comfort and fitting with the overall function of the pack. While it is minimalistic based on its size it is far from streamlined when not in use.

    This bag is designed as a streamlined, lightweight, easy access day bag and given the loads I've put into this bag it has performed excellently! When I'm not overloading it and just using it for clothes and hiking equipment this bag does everything it should and looks great doing it! Catch it on sale at STP and you can't go wrong for the money.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Teresa from California on Monday, March 30, 2015
    No bells and whistles but I don't need a fancy rope bag. The bag and tarp are big enough and the bag is easy to pack and handle.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Flip Flop Girl from Charlotte, NC on Sunday, March 29, 2015
    I got these gloves for my daughter who just went through that terrible winter in the NorthEast. These are a perfect weight for everyday use - walking from the car into work or the grocery store. They keep your hands pretty warm in the Cape Cod winter wind. And, I was able to get them small enough for her hand. A great everyday glove.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tkoehls from Northern Wisconsin on Sunday, March 29, 2015
    This is my 5th or 6th pair of these gloves and I'll keep buying them as long as they are available.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by A from Wyoming on Thursday, March 26, 2015
    Very basic
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AJ from Hawaii on Wednesday, March 25, 2015
    Easy access to replace battery, no tool required. Very bright illumination.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BusyBee from Wyoming on Wednesday, March 25, 2015
    Currently returning from a two week backpack through Germany. The 30L was almost too small to carry back everything I acquired during my stay, but there's no sign of stress from constant over-stuffing. I have a 60L AlpineLowe that I love and wanted something smaller for short trips and weekend backpacking, this new pack seems to be up for the job. Simple layout with one hood compartment (I'm use to two) and one main compartment - both very convenient. Front stuff area and both side pockets are stretchy enough to hold anything you can fit into them yet strong enough that I felt okay forcing objects inside - even books and shoes.
    Very satisfied!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ssbiebel from michigan on Wednesday, March 25, 2015
    These are pretty slick gloves that I bought for winter driving at the end of the season so I did not get a chance to use them much this year. I'm hoping they provide a little warmth and a good grip for driving on the colder mornings, but I will have to wait until nest winter to evaluate further.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Granny Hiker from Pennsylvania on Monday, March 23, 2015
    I bought these as my husband's birthday present to me for our upcoming trip to Hawaii. We planned to hike up Diamond Head, an extinct volcano near Wakiki. I wanted the poles to be foldable so I could carry them in my luggage. Well all went according to plan. The path was well worn but still rocky. And since I will turn 70 in a few days I knew I wanted the security that having a pole gives. I only took one pole with me. That trail is very popular with many people of all ages on it. I cannot tell you how many people passing me labeled me a a "smart lady". And believe me I knew they were right. I had expected to use it on other adventures in Hawaii but most other expeditions were allot tamer so I haven't used them since.

    The pole was very easy to unfold and felt very sturdy. I will be using these for every hike I will be taking in the future, just for security sake.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 62 »
  • 1-30 of 1839 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #
;