Customer Reviews Of:
Bleuet Pocket Stove - 6 Fuel Cubes, Steel

Closeouts. The super-low-profile and durable steel construction of Bleuet's Pocket camp stove is ideal for minimalist, multi-day backcountry trips, and the included fuel cubes provide 15 minutes of burn time each -- more than enough time to boil a pint of water for a small meal or cup of coffee.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews 4.055555 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by Grass Valley from California on Monday, July 6, 2015
    We never even used this. W did not want to put it in our packs because we thought it would make everything small like fish. Bad idea to bring this backpacking with you. Wont the fish smell attract the bears?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by See Jane Run from Central California on Friday, November 14, 2014
    This little pocket stove looks like it would work great. Haven't tried it out yet. I bought it to keep in my backpack of emergency supplies (bug-out bag) in my car. It made the whole car smell fishy. Don't think I would want to keep this in our bear box on our mountain property, or in a backpack. It smells so strong and fishy, I'm afraid it will attract bears!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Beechnutt from Talkeetna, AK on Sunday, November 9, 2014
    If not for the fuel alone, this is a great deal. The stove is useable, but may not be the best alternative for other than exigent circumstances.
  • Reviewed by Nammers from California on Saturday, September 13, 2014
    I bought this after my jetboil broke day 2 into a 14 day trip. It is a very simple design, less moving parts equals less opportunities to break. I also bought a titanium cook set that includes a small pot and a pan that fits on as a lid. The stove, fuel, lighter, and spork all fit inside the set. I've used it to boil water and to heat up previously rehydrated meals. I believe it would work to fry an egg or rehydrated hash browns as well. I put two cubes in at a time and just blow them out when I'm done. They can be relit later. I made a wind screen out of tin foil.....also fits inside the cook set. To extend the fuel life you can also add twigs and other small pieces of fuel. I think this system is great. Can't beat the weight. The fuel is the lightest on the market and because it's solid I don't have to worry about it spilling or leaking. I haven't had a problem with the smell as everything is very contained in the cook set. If you are an experienced backpacker or used to lightweight endeavors you will be happy with this. It isn't as efficient as a Jetboil but really, do you need to boil your water in 2 minutes?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dlahaisejr from Massachusetts on Saturday, August 30, 2014
    That stove is great when you want to boil water in a snap. Great for a hike in the woods.
  • Reviewed by JamesD from Nebraska on Tuesday, July 8, 2014
    I purchased one of these and the Esbit version and they are almost identical.
    One is for my car emergency kit and the other is for my backpack.

    The Bleuet fuel seems to smell worse and leaves more soot on your cookware than the Esbit's but that's a minor issue since you can use pretty much any manufacturer's solid stove fuel or fire/BBQ grill starter in it (Bleuet, Esbit, Coglins, Weber, Military Surplus, etc...)

    The stove itself will hold 4 fuel cubes inside of it so at least a day's worth of fuel and each tablet will boil more than enough water for a dehydrated meal for 2.

    As an emergency or backup stove where you only have to boil water it works pretty well but there are a few drawbacks to these so I only gave it 4.
    I'm not sure the rivets that serve as hinges will last very long so I would be cautious of using it for longer trips.
    The pot supports aren't exactly the steadiest and may not work well with some pots and it really needs level ground so pots don't tip.
    You cannot simmer anything so it's best as a water boiler. Given how some expensive stoves are only good for boiling water I don't see it as much of an issue though.

    As long as you buy it for it's intended use and use cookware that fits, it should work well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SimbaXY from North Carolina on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    I bought this for my extreme bug out kit.
  • Reviewed by Devin the Newbie Prepper from Washington on Thursday, March 20, 2014
    Being a new prepper, and having a family of four (w/two teenagers), I wanted to make sure that if for any reason we got separated, we each had the the necessary tools to survive. In building go-bags for each of my family members, I did a lot of research on what tools and equipment would be needed for two or more nights away from family or home. And when it came to cooking, this pocket stove fit the bill. These units are very well constructed, and sturdy enough to handle a very large (and full) can of soup or small pot for making coffee or boiling water. It also has locking points so they can be adjusted if you are using smaller cans or metal cups for heating. The fuel cubes are light and can be extinguished and relit if needed, but the stoves are vented at the bottom so any fuel source can be used.

    The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because you can't use the stove as a storage unit for the 6 fuel cubes, as it is just a little too small.
  • Reviewed by Bush Otter from West Virginia on Thursday, January 9, 2014
    just like the style I carried 35 yeas ago in my Army pack
  • Reviewed by avid hiker from Here on Wednesday, December 25, 2013
    Nice, little stove that serves its purpose. Don't buy it, if your intention is to have 3 course meals in the field. I use it mainly as a backup stove and mainly to boil water for my dehydrated meals or water for tea and coffee. Wrap the fuel tablets in a separate bag as they have a very strong chemical odor.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2