Backpackers and backcountry minimalists will appreciate Bleuet stoves for their lightweight, compact size and easy-to-use design. Ideal for backcountry and emergency applications, Bleuet camping stoves are crafted of rugged, galvanized steel and utilize non-toxic, biodegradable solid fuel cubes. Bleuet stoves also offer an affordable price point compared to more expensive gas and liquid fuel stoves and take up very little space in your backpack or survival kit. Thanks to the Bleuet pocket stove, life outdoors just got a little ... Learn more about Bleuet simpler. ... Less
Average Rating based on 22 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
  • Reviewed by Nammers from California on Saturday, September 13, 2014
    I bought this after my jetboil broke day 2 into a 14 day trip. It is a very simple design, less moving parts equals less opportunities to break. I also bought a titanium cook set that includes a small pot and a pan that fits on as a lid. The stove, fuel, lighter, and spork all fit inside the set. I've used it to boil water and to heat up previously rehydrated meals. I believe it would work to fry an egg or rehydrated hash browns as well. I put two cubes in at a time and just blow them out when I'm done. They can be relit later. I made a wind screen out of tin foil.....also fits inside the cook set. To extend the fuel life you can also add twigs and other small pieces of fuel. I think this system is great. Can't beat the weight. The fuel is the lightest on the market and because it's solid I don't have to worry about it spilling or leaking. I haven't had a problem with the smell as everything is very contained in the cook set. If you are an experienced backpacker or used to lightweight endeavors you will be happy with this. It isn't as efficient as a Jetboil but really, do you need to boil your water in 2 minutes?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dlahaisejr from Massachusetts on Saturday, August 30, 2014
    That stove is great when you want to boil water in a snap. Great for a hike in the woods.
  • Reviewed by JamesD from Nebraska on Tuesday, July 08, 2014
    I purchased one of these and the Esbit version and they are almost identical.
    One is for my car emergency kit and the other is for my backpack.

    The Bleuet fuel seems to smell worse and leaves more soot on your cookware than the Esbit's but that's a minor issue since you can use pretty much any manufacturer's solid stove fuel or fire/BBQ grill starter in it (Bleuet, Esbit, Coglins, Weber, Military Surplus, etc...)

    The stove itself will hold 4 fuel cubes inside of it so at least a day's worth of fuel and each tablet will boil more than enough water for a dehydrated meal for 2.

    As an emergency or backup stove where you only have to boil water it works pretty well but there are a few drawbacks to these so I only gave it 4.
    I'm not sure the rivets that serve as hinges will last very long so I would be cautious of using it for longer trips.
    The pot supports aren't exactly the steadiest and may not work well with some pots and it really needs level ground so pots don't tip.
    You cannot simmer anything so it's best as a water boiler. Given how some expensive stoves are only good for boiling water I don't see it as much of an issue though.

    As long as you buy it for it's intended use and use cookware that fits, it should work well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jewels from South Carolina on Tuesday, June 17, 2014
    For the money one can not go wrong. Its weighs nearly nothing and I would carry while long distant hiking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Simbaxy from North Carolina on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    I bought this for my extreme bug out kit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RidgerRunner from Knoxville, TN on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    Great for boiling water. Easy to carry.
  • Reviewed by Janiceskater from Huntsville on Friday, May 09, 2014
    I opened the Sierra box and immediately the smell hit me. It didn't take long to find the source. I opened the stove and fuel box and double ziplock (freezer) bagged the fuel. It still permeated. The smell has staying power. I can't imagine using these on the trail. They could certainly attract wildlife. I was still able to smell where they had been in my house two days after removing them from the area. The stove is cute, the fuel is a problem.
  • Reviewed by Devin the Newbie Prepper from Washington on Thursday, March 20, 2014
    Being a new prepper, and having a family of four (w/two teenagers), I wanted to make sure that if for any reason we got separated, we each had the the necessary tools to survive. In building go-bags for each of my family members, I did a lot of research on what tools and equipment would be needed for two or more nights away from family or home. And when it came to cooking, this pocket stove fit the bill. These units are very well constructed, and sturdy enough to handle a very large (and full) can of soup or small pot for making coffee or boiling water. It also has locking points so they can be adjusted if you are using smaller cans or metal cups for heating. The fuel cubes are light and can be extinguished and relit if needed, but the stoves are vented at the bottom so any fuel source can be used.

    The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because you can't use the stove as a storage unit for the 6 fuel cubes, as it is just a little too small.
  • Reviewed by Bush Otter from West Virginia on Thursday, January 09, 2014
    just like the style I carried 35 yeas ago in my Army pack
  • Reviewed by avid hiker from Here on Wednesday, December 25, 2013
    Nice, little stove that serves its purpose. Don't buy it, if your intention is to have 3 course meals in the field. I use it mainly as a backup stove and mainly to boil water for my dehydrated meals or water for tea and coffee. Wrap the fuel tablets in a separate bag as they have a very strong chemical odor.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;