• Sort by:
  • 1 ... 21
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bush McKay from Virginia on Thursday, November 3, 2016
    First backcountry trip and I was torn between bear bag v bear canister. Hiked Shenandoah where I didn't need the canister. Overlooking the weight difference I figured I'd go with the canister because they're required out west. Couldn't be happier w my choice. Never worried about hanging a bag. Just dropped the canister at night and retrieved in the morning. Awesome! Just a note...don't spill food on your pack or spill on the canister where it might then rub food inside your pack. Or spill food in your pockets. Or spill tuna juice on your clothes. You don't want any, ANY, hint of a food smell anywhere near your sleeping area.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PDub from Winston Salem, NC on Wednesday, November 2, 2016
    I bought this for a recent trip in the Smoky's. I didn't have to use it so I cannot attest to its effectiveness but it did attach easily to my pack with the included holster, plus gave me comfort knowing I had it if needed. With the long expiration, I'll keep it around for future trips.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DO from California on Sunday, October 23, 2016
    Rugged and compact. Perfect to carry in pocket when hiking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by aged parent from Colorado on Wednesday, September 21, 2016
    Hopefully it will never be used; and hopefully if I ever need it, it will work. I bought it for its unintended use: against possible bear attacks. doesn't have the range or capacity of the big bear sprays, but has 5x the capsicum. The advantage to me is, I can carry it in the sunglass pocket on my (Osprey) hydration pack. If you don't have it with you, or can't get to it, you can't use it, and I carry my pack on any adventure I have in the backcountry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sandy from washington state on Tuesday, September 20, 2016
    have not used these, thank goodness. But they did arrive on time and in excellent condition.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Laura the Explorer from Virginia Beach, VA on Thursday, September 8, 2016
    We hiked the A.T. in Virginia over the Labor Day weekend. That the bear canister came with the nylon case and straps was a bonus. It attached easily to my old school Kelty external frame back.

    We bought two, and the second one will come in handy for longer trips.
  • Reviewed by rxflyfisher from Delaware USA on Monday, September 5, 2016
    I too have traveled into bear country a number of times and always carry one of these. Notice - you are not allowed to carry these on an airplane - make sure you are even allowed to put in your checked baggage. I did not see an expiration date on this product offered here. Best to have one that is not expired. You can always give it to your fishing guide as a part of your "tip" but don't short-change them. Otherwise, try to sell it to another tourist in Alaska (bear country) before you go home. The best advice another gave is to learn about bear behavior and be very cautious in bear country. If you are in a group, never run from a bear (unless you can run faster than everyone else and don't care if they get eaten). That is a joke!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PugetSoundMom from Gig Harbor, WA on Tuesday, July 19, 2016
    bought this to take jogging, for local wildlife and off-leash, mean dogs. I hope I do to need to use it, but enough close calls have made it a necessity. I like the safety flap over the sprayer so that I do not accidentally engage it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Laurelete from California on Friday, July 1, 2016
    We have a whole collection of bear spray. Feel much more safe and secure knowing they are around.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Farhomthat from Central IL on Monday, June 13, 2016
    Chest strap is removable and can be carried on sternum strap or shoulder strap of backpack. Purchased for 3 week trip to Alaska and hope it won't be needed.

  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 21
;