• Sort by:
  • 1 ... 63
  • Reviewed by yehe from Seattle on Friday, August 26, 2016
    A great pack made by a small German company that knows mountains. (Check them out at http://www.vaude.com/en-FI/home/ )

    Hiked Mt Adams with it. It was comfortable right out of the box (I'm 6' tall, slim built and it can fit smaller or bigger folks. Mine was set to L/M)
    It can carry a lot of gear for a few days hiking in the backcountry. Has quite a few adjusting straps that are easy to get to, white walking too, and they stay put with no need to re adjust frequently.

    Can add more space with an add'l 10L to the main compartment. The top pockets can store a lot too.

    When extra space is not in use, the pack feels compact.

    Will recommend it in a heart beat and the price is great for what you get.

    Happy travels
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Outlawyer from SWVA on Monday, August 15, 2016
    The colors are loud, ridiculous. But the components, the sewing and the design are absolutely elegant.
  • Reviewed by Steve from New Mexico on Friday, June 3, 2016
    I have only owned two packs in my life one was a Kelty with 5200 cubic inches of room and the other was a military pack with an external frame. This pack wears better than the Kelty and is lighter and more comfortable. I used the kelt pack mainly for rock climbing day trips. The military pack I put over 10000 miles on and still have it and use it for trapping equipment. The Vaude is by far the nicest pack I've owned and have yet to take it on any substantial journeys but by the way it feels when shouldered and the room it has Im sure I will have no complaints. It appears well made and the zippers are quality. The strap buckles I have a little issue with as I'm a bigger guy and tend to torque things too much so I worry they may not last as long as the buckles on my military pack. I don't intend to put this through what the military pack went through though and plan on using it as intended. Two or three day camping hiking trips. I purchased the xl and it appears to be just right. Im 6'2 and 300 lbs and there is easily enough length to adjust the torso up and down several inches. The waist buckle was also long enough to cinch in. I had to put the sternum straps at full length to get them to buckle but I don't know that Ill ever really buckle them. I really like the pack and feel it is made to last.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AuthorJamesMichaelRice from TheBridgewaterTriangle on Thursday, May 26, 2016
    Full disclosure: I love the Asymmetric, but had to return it because it was a bit too small to haul all my gear. Nevertheless, this is a quality backpack for the outdoor minimalist. It is lightweight and simple in design. There is a lid pocket, a spacious interior, and a pocket on the front that can store a small rain cover or maps. There are two points of entry into the main compartment: a top-load "spin drift" opening, and a front U-shaped zippered access point. This turns allows you to access your gear without having to remove everything from the bag. With plenty of room for a weekend trip (or maybe a week), the Asymmetric is a nice pack at a great price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Michael from Alabama on Sunday, May 1, 2016
    I am a little over 6' tall, around 230 pounds, wear a size 50 jacket. The XL fit me perfectly and was easy to adjust. It appears to be very well made and thoughtfully designed. I found it easy to handle and load/unload while first trying it out. It is reasonably light weight and has an excellent padded hip belt. I was about to spend twice the money on a pack at REI, but I am glad I gave this one a shot. Built-in rain cover is nice. CONS: Really only one--it could use a couple more pockets or organizers for small-ish stuff.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cyclestupor from Colorado on Tuesday, April 19, 2016
    I bought this pack primarily to haul climbing gear to/from the crag, and as a day-pack for long hikes.

    It has one main compartment, and a small zippered compartment on the top. Cinch cords on either side can be tightened to hold the load close to the body, and are useful for lashing things like jackets, shoes... etc to the outside of the pack. It is difficult to see in the pictures, but the cinch cords run through small hooks in the front of the pack to allow them to be unfastened and refastened. This feature is especially useful for lashing a rope to the pack.

    The pack is extremely lightweight, and yet it is one of the few lightweight packs with a semi-rigid (removable) back panel, and generous padding around the spine. This makes the pack quite a bit more comfortable than some of the other lightweight packs i tried. It can be stuffed to the brim with heavy gear, but it still maintains it's shape and holds the load close to the body.

    The waist strap runs fairly high on my waist and so it serves more to secure the pack close to the body, than to relieve weight from the shoulders. In my case this is beneficial, because i can wear a harness with it, and the pack doesn't interfere.

    I can't really report on it's durability yet. It appears to be well made, with fairly durable materials and quality stitching. That said, I don't really expect any lightweight pack to hold up to a lot of abrasion.

    About the only complaint I have with the pack is that the secondary compartment on top of the pack is really small, and there are no pockets on the sides. If I fill up the lid with lunch, then I am forced to carry some small miscellaneous items in the main compartment. E.g. headlamp, knife, snacks, guidebook... etc.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cheryl from Minnesota on Saturday, April 16, 2016
    This backpack was just the right size for my trip. I did not need to take a sleeping bag or roll, but I did take a 3-day trip and used it as my luggage. It had plenty of room for my clothes, a pair of cowboy boots, flip flops, and my toiletries. And because I took it on a flight, I didn't even use any of the outer stuff pockets. It was comfortable on my 3-mile walk to my destination. And...I loved the color (red)
  • Reviewed by dc1 from sf bay area on Monday, March 21, 2016
    I have to drop another star on these shoes for fit. I wore them outside to really give them a chance to get more comfortable, but they just don't. They are the smallest size 10 I have seen, and narrow in the toe box as well. They fit like a tight 9.5. My mistake, not sure if I can take them back after wearing them but I am going to try. If stp gets these back, make sure you have a narrow foot and size up maybe a full size.
  • Reviewed by dc1 from sf bay area on Saturday, March 19, 2016
    I agree with others about the weird fit. On the upside, the shoes are good looking (not as bright as many in this category), and seem to be well made. They are more firm underfoot than some others, especially up front. I would not characterize them as having a particularly wide toe box however. Compared to my salomon shoes, these are tighter up front. I have worn them a couple of times hoping they will soften/stretch out a bit. They are ok, but not as comfy as I would like them to be, at least not yet. I can see why others send them back based on fit, I'm giving them a chance to work. Good price as always.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Grant H from Madison, WI on Monday, March 7, 2016
    Wow, I was blown away with this pack. Plenty of room, feels great on my back, and appears to be high quality.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 63
;