• Sort by:
  • 1 ... 21
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from Aspen, CO on Tuesday, June 14, 2016
    Very poor product that needs a lot of work in our experience. We ordered two, one arrived DOA and the other only works intermittently.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colin from Oregon on Thursday, May 19, 2016
    This is a great deal for the fantastic SteriPEN. Not much to say about this guy other than that it works and no, it won't filter out the pond-water flavor but at least you can be confident you won't get sick. I try to pre-filter through a t-shirt or similar usually and thought this kit might help. The bottle is good quality and it works like it's supposed to but could use some better engineering as a lot of unfiltered water tends to get trapped in the adapter attachment then can drip in the bottle when you pull out the steriPEN. I tossed it and use it like a naglene bottle.
  • Reviewed by Phil from Mississippi. on Wednesday, May 11, 2016
    First thought, "no more iodine taste", after being let down on day 2 of 4 at bottom of Grand Canyon, and trying to keep a supply of batteries, I now welcome that iodine tablet taste! Pros: instant purified water and iodine taste; Cons: 1) hard to tell if the treatment was sufficient, hence severe upset stomach at bottom of Grand Canyon on 4th trek in 6 years 2) batteries! 3) I went thru 2 sets of 'digital' Energizers in Grand Canyon in 5 days 4) BATTERIES! If football is the game of inches, hiking is the game of ounces and I'll never carry that many batteries again, I'd rather carry my Anker charger for ereader. Bottom line, a 'cool' gadget I'll never use again and will be put on eBay now. Maybe newer versions could have an audible tone indicating true purification?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by utah john from utah on Monday, May 9, 2016
    bought this as an experiment- first attempt with new alkaline batteries went well- then stepped back to using some slightly older batteries and the UV light went on but off quickly- it appears that complaints about the performance are related to a set of batteries that are overall weak or mis-matched weak ones with a couple of strong ones. So, the verdict is that this is a good system provided you have a strong set of 4 AA batteries. I will keep a set of strong new Li batteries for my prepper needs. The 4 star rating will be up graded when i complete the experiments with my Ni/NiH rechargables- I like the compact structure of the unit and it appears to be sturdy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Mike from Reno, NV on Tuesday, April 19, 2016
    Great, light-weight water purifier. Awaiting opportunity to test in the field. Not sure how it will do with muddy, stagnant desert water. But will try at first opportunity. It packs nice and the only weigh really is the batteries in the unit. I am excited to have this and work with it this spring & summer... I plan to report back my findings.... more to be revealed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Michael, Wilderness Explorer from Texas on Monday, April 18, 2016
    This is a great steriPen combo. The cost is great for the amount you get. The difference between this steriPen and the next in the line is the number of uses you get out of the bulb. When you are talking numbers in the thousands, I have no problem with buying the baby brother version. Is I was going to a country with questionable water for several months, That would be different. As a wilderness explorer, This one fits my needs just fine. The one caveot is that the pre-filter works Great... in a large body of water. in limited water sources, another method is advisable.
  • Reviewed by ipartner48 from Alberta on Sunday, April 3, 2016
    Been using a Steripen for 8 years now - used it for multi-day hikes trekking thru Asia and South America. Also used it for treating hotel tap water in Mexico, Cuba, Bhutan, Nepal, Peru - never, ever had any problems. Their is a little trick to using it as I have seen some users have difficultly using it - you have to wait a second or two as the green light blinks AND THEN put in the water bottle. If you press the button and put it straight in the water bottle, light turns red and is not ready to use. Be patient - I highly recommend this device for all your travels.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim from CO on Tuesday, March 22, 2016
    Great when it works, frustrating when it doesn't. I have an older SteriPen I use for travel. It is very finicky about the salinity of the water -- a little too conductive, or not conductive enough, and there you are, using Iodine again. I bought a new one, hoping this had been fixed. It worked once, and the lamp failed. Sierra replaced, and the replacement seems to work with local water -- We'll see how it does on varying water on future trips. Always take chemical back-up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CharBark from Boston on Wednesday, January 20, 2016
    Bought this for my trip to Nepal and India. I plan to use it on tap water to fill up water bottles, I personally wouldn't trust it with water from lakes or rivers ... the only way to trust that is by boiling!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Suprwags from Colorado on Tuesday, December 29, 2015
    Small, simple, fast and very effective way to ensure water is REALLY safe to drink!!!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 21
;