• Sort by:
  • Reviewed by Matt in Alaska from Alaska on Friday, October 21, 2016
    I purchased this jacket after I got and used the Kaltio pants, which I'm very happy with. I haven't used the jacket yet, but it will get tested in November during a 10 Sitka blacktail deer hunt. Note, the jacket doesn't come with a hood. I was able find the snap on hood via a retailer in the UK (google "Sasta - Gore Techno Camo Hood - Ground Forest").

    Sizing is a bit tricky. I'm L/XL size 44/46 jacket. So I ordered the 2XL based chest size. It is roomy, perhaps a XL would have worked. I'm going with it because I like the long arms.
  • Reviewed by Matt in Alaska from SE Alaska on Tuesday, September 20, 2016
    I just received these and plan to take them out for blacktail hunting, this weekend SE Alaska.... rain. Will update if deemed necessary, but given the price with discount $160 for goretex in a pattern I like, I'm pleased.

    Great fit, I am 6 foot, 220lb with 36 jeans waist- the 56 is right on.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Marvel from OR on Monday, January 25, 2016
    very comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kirsten from New Mexico on Monday, September 21, 2015
    This is a beautiful, well-made jacket. However, the fit is strange; I am generally a 6, but after reading reviews, ordered the 4. It fit well through the sleeves and the length was great, but there was so much extra fabric around the waist, it would have fit me better when i was pregnant. I sent it back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CANgirl from Ottawa on Wednesday, August 26, 2015
    Hi everyone, I purchased this jacked online in a small and in the grey colour. Pros: Lightweight, windproof (took it for a test on the motorcycle and it was performed great), nice shaping to it, long enough sleeved for my long arms, and it was low in the back - fell about mid bum level - so it kept my back warm even when sitting down, draw string cord for the bottom is a nice feature considering the fit. Cons: The fit - normally I wear a small in almost everything, the jacket in a small was defiantly more like a medium fit. Although it still looks nice, I definitely have a lot of extra room through the waist. However, the pulling the bottom draw strings tight made it fit more snug. More room for a layer under I guess. Disappointments: I ordered the grey colour which is actually much more purple then grey, looks great but not what I initially expected. I also thought it would have been a thicker jacket considering this is called a "soft shell". It is not thick like a traditional soft shell jacket. Although lightly lined, it is LIGHTWEIGHT, I would have liked it thicker for my purposes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Traveler Michele from CA on Monday, July 27, 2015
    I was looking for a lightweight goretex jacket to replace the one I gave to my Mom. So many of them are just a bit too heavy, or don't have a big enough hood. This jacket is almost perfect - note it has few bells and whistles. This is a basic goretex jacket. There are no pit zips, and it has no inside pockets (which is why I rated it 4 stars instead of 5). The outer pockets are huge - plenty big for your hands and a few other things. It has a small chest pocket (outside) for your iPod/phone/whatever. So my only complaint - I prefer at least one inner pocket to stash a few things in while traveling.

    The hood is good sized, and the sleeves are plenty long (with Velcro tabs). The length of the jacket is great, it will cover my butt. It is a medium fit - not too loose, not too fitted. I found the STP sizing guide not too helpful - size 38 (which they say is a 4) fit me perfect with room to spare for a fleece underneath if needed. I'm a size 6, so ignore the STP guide and go with the Euro sizing, they run pretty true.

    I can't say I've tested the jacket yet - but it seems like a great goretex jacket for under $100!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MR from Seattle on Thursday, July 16, 2015
    A waterproof jacket for your travels and otherwise. I own several arcteryx jackets also which I have been carrying around the planet in the recent past. I can see how this Sasta jacket could replace them in my travels as I like the urban look of this jacket. That is not to say I don't see myself using this jacket on a hike or two. I haven't put it to the test yet but can see how it will do great in a range of situations. I like that it looks slim, it is long enough and has a mesh lining which not many waterproof shells come with. I'm 5'9'', 145lb and 40 is the right size which leaves enough room for a light sweater if I'd need one.
  • Reviewed by GearChic from Philadelphia on Wednesday, July 15, 2015
    Moving from the West Coast to the East Coast has changed the way I dress. Namely, how I dress when it's raining! I'm used to cold and wet weather, not HOT and wet weather. I needed a lightweight, Gore-Tex rain jacket that would also look good with my work clothes. I like how this one is styled, but moreso I really really love Gore-Tex rain gear. It's going to offer the most breathability for hot weather. I especially love the wire that runs through the hood so it stays open while raining! A few other perks: big pockets on the outside to hold your wallet, phone, keys and more. Plus another big one on the inside left. It's not a winter or fall weight jacket, you will definitely need to wear a really heavy, insulated midlayer to stay warm in chilly temps.
    If you're looking for a summer rain jacket, this is it. Somehow I scored 75% off during one of the recent sales, so for that I'm even happier. The sizing is regular fit, not super slim european fit but not full american fit either. I ordered a 36 and it fits perfect. I'm normally a US Dress 4, 35" bust and 29" waist. This jacket leaves me room for a sweater or midlayer. I didn't want a super tight fit, this gives me a wonderful regular fit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by winter walker from new hampshire on Sunday, January 4, 2015
    These are wonderful. Size 40 is really a 10 not 6 so I got to keep them instead of the intended gift. My lucky day!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Philly hiker from Pennsylvania on Thursday, December 4, 2014
    I had been looking for a Gore-Tex jacket for a long time (years), and finally decided to purchase the Sasta jacket because it was from a Finnish company. I figured it would be durable and well-designed. Little did I expect so many compliments from friends - it is a pleasing grey color, is slightly shaped but fits comfortably with a shirt and wool sweater underneath, and is surprisingly warm. It has huge pockets with long side zippers. I'm not sure exactly why the zippers are so long, but the pockets are great for changeable weather when I need to carry hat, gloves, wallet, and keys with me. In the past month, we have had rain, sleet and several inches of snow. There is a giant hood that makes an umbrella redundant. If you're looking for a something with lots of bells and whistles, this jacket has a simple design - no extra small pockets, and the hood does not fold away.
  • Sort by:
;