Bridgedale Explorer Socks - Merino Wool, Midweight (For Men)

2nds. No better way to explore than with your mode of transport surrounded by Bridgedale's Explorer socks! Dense, cushion-loop merino wool blend naturally wicks moisture, regulates temperature and cushions.

Average Rating based on 52 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 52 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cucullen from Washington, DC on Monday, March 16, 2015
    I'm retired now, but most of my working life was spent on my feet. Bridgedale socks have always been my favorites for about the last twenty years - comfortable and long lasting. These appear to be no different (I bought three pairs). Bridgedales are more expensive than their competitors - even at Sierra Trading Post's prices - but they are definitely worth it. I got a great deal on these because there was a sale going on, but would be happy with them even if there weren't. The styling and color on these means I can use them as dress socks as well.

    By the way, these aren't just cold weather socks. I wear most of my Bridgedales year 'round, except maybe for some of the hottest summer days.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by I have big feet from NYC on Thursday, March 05, 2015
    I got the XL, but found it a bit tight on my size 13 shoe foot. Of course, if socks are too tight it restricts circulation and you get cold feet. So order a size or even 2 sizes bigger than you think. Otherwise, very soft & cushy - a great deal on a wool blend sock.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wagoneer from Knoxville, Tennessee on Wednesday, March 04, 2015
    I am disappointed in these socks. I ordered 3 pairs, one blue, one brown, one green. The green pair had a long snag in the middle of the sock from the ankle to nearly the top. This is more than just a small flaw, the material is unraveling. The "merino wool blend" means mostly not merino. They are loose and bulky until the top band which is tight and not very elastic. They slide down off my calf and wad up around the top of my shoes. They are not moisture-wicking at all. After wearing a day in hiking boots they felt clammy, and after a day in leather chukka boots my feet felt cold. Not a good purchase for me. On the positive, the picture is true to color. The price is cheap, but you get what you pay for. I would not buy again.
  • Reviewed by ClimbBoulder from Colorado on Thursday, September 26, 2013
    Bridgedale generally produces fine products, this is not one of them. First they are a blend, only 65% merino, no shape, ergonomics are terrible. Lastly, the sock is much thicker than a midweight sock. These will be going back.
  • Reviewed by Gaylon from California on Wednesday, September 25, 2013
    I ordered several makes & models of merino hiker/casual socks, to try a few. These are my least favorite. Thick n cushy. But they fit like 1980's slouch-socks. Snug top-band, but the rest of the sock is way too big around. Length of the foot is okay - but for someone with a BMI of 24, they're just way too loose.
  • Reviewed by ubcycling from California on Thursday, June 13, 2013
    I have purchased other Bridgedale socks but never the Merino Wool versions. These socks are super comfortable, soft and well constructed. I would buy these again.
  • Reviewed by antinoz from Adelaide on Sunday, May 26, 2013
    This product arrived and i loved them, they will be warm and cosy when i hit the slopes in new zealand.
  • Reviewed by nobulls from seagrove on Friday, March 22, 2013
    Its all good
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Will from North Carolina on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    I got one pair of these and liked the thickness, dark green color, simplicity, and comfort enough to buy another pair, which turned out to be the last pair in stock. I'd buy more if they came back. They're my go-to thick socks.

    I will note three very minor, IMO, cons. One of my pairs had a cut/unfinished top hem relating to their nature as seconds, but that has not been an issue. Secondly, these do not feel as nice as some other thick merino socks available through STP. Thirdly, my two pairs are slightly different colors and thicknesses.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by colorado cowgirl from colorado springs, co on Monday, November 19, 2012
    sized too large for women, great for men
    very heavy socks, more for skiing
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 52 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #