Brooks Essential Run Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. Designed for variable weather with a wind- and water-resistant finish, Brooks' Essential Run jacket is perfect for chillier temps with a warm-yet-bulk-free construction.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Reviewed by Phlemsucker from Chattanooga , TN on Monday, January 27, 2014
    Great running jacket
  • Reviewed by spicymaya from NYC on Friday, December 13, 2013
    I'm very happy with the purchase
  • Reviewed by Deb-Del from Delaware on Friday, December 13, 2013
    This is an attractive and nicely styled jacket. We just bought it, but it looks like it will last a long time. We bought a men's XS for my 5'4" skinny teenager and it fits him well.
  • Reviewed by PurpleMartin from Colorado Springs on Tuesday, August 13, 2013
    Works very well as wind-shell over tech-tee and long-sleeve micro-fleece, down to about 10°F—non uncommon temp for before sunrise winter runs here in Colorado, and that screaming neon yellow is necessary for runs on the road in the dark.

    Preferences differ but at 55° and higher, I wear a short- or no-sleeve tech-fabric tee and shorts (also always wear a hat or visor). 45°-55°, long sleeve tee over sleeveless shirt (add thinnest gloves and switch to running knickers that cover knees when approaching 45°). 30°-45°, switch to running tights and a little heavier long-sleeve. At about 28°, cover ears (I use an ear-band) and use a little heavier gloves. 25°-35°, micro-fleece top over long-sleeve tech-tee. Approaching 25°, add a wind-shell vest and hat that covers ears. At 20°-25°, switch to long-sleeve shell like the Brooks jacket. 10°-15°, add wind-pants over tights, and I add a 'lobster-claw' gore-tex shell over gloves (or you could go with heavier gloves). Under 10°? That's what the elliptical in the basement is for! That's all assuming little or no wind

    Media pocket on this jacket is redundant, since it's layered under the zippered hand pocket. Hint to manufacturers—don't layer pockets, put them in different places (you don't want to stack the things in your pockets, you want to distribute them). A media pocket works best at breast-pocket level (less bounce than waist-level), and improves reception if you use a Bluetooth headset like I do.

    Medium is roomy but OK for me at 5'8" 150 pounds. Small would probably also be OK . Based on fit of the jacket, I ordered the same model vest in Small.
  • Reviewed by Rick from Seattle on Friday, May 17, 2013
    I'm 5'10" 185# and am normally a Large, sometimes Extra Large. I started with an XL which came a bit baggy but very long (maybe 3-4 " past acceptable). It fit more like an XL-Long. Then I moved to a large which was snug overall and tight at the shoulders. I returned both jackets. Otherwise, the jacket would have been perfect for me.
  • Reviewed by Runs in the Dark from Maryland on Saturday, April 20, 2013
    This is my second Brooks Essential jacket, I have one I bought about 1.5 years ago at a local running store for more than 2x what I paid at STP. Jacket is great, nice and light and the yellow version I have is perfect for early morning runs before sunrise. The large is just right for me (6' and 165 lbs), and I can layer a fleece underneath on cold days. Although it's not really a cold weather piece, I've worn it 2 layers under below 30 degrees and it worked fine. ZIp up pockets are perfect for holding gels, or some TP for very long runs on the trail. The zipper comes way up on the neck, with a comfortable collar - useful on very cold days. About tthe only negative I can think of is that the zipper seeems to be waterproof, so it can be a little stiff at first. Eventually gets a little looser, but not much. That's a very small thing though, I also bought one of these from STP for my 15 year old son, he loves it as well. Overall, great jacket, at great price. Thanks STP!

  • Reviewed by JoggerBob from Midwest City, Oklahoma on Tuesday, March 26, 2013
    Great as outer layer on cold running days. Good fit. Holds up well in light rain.
  • Reviewed by Jon Arrow from Boston on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    This item was so large --- I order a Men's Medium in just about everything, and it almost always fits -- that I seriously thought it was mislabeled. I happened to put it on over a fleece just to see, and it was still too big. (And normally I would wear one close-fitting long-sleeve layer or at most two thin layers under a running jacket.) I have no idea what Brooks is thinking with this.
  • Reviewed by Joe from Calgary on Friday, March 8, 2013
    I have been using it for running. It is not too thick so you need to layer. Otherwise, it is a great jacket
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.