Brooks Green Silence Minimalist Running Shoes - Recycled Materials (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. A featherweight performance racing flat made with recycled materials. Brooks' Green Silence minimalist running shoes feature biodegradeable BioMoGo midsole foam and an asymmetrical lacing system for a snug midfoot wrap.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sam the runner from Albuquerque on Monday, June 9, 2014
    Bought these shoes to try to mix in some minimalist running for the first time. They have worked out really well. Going to be running my first marathon in them I like them so much! The lacing system really makes it feel like you are barely wearing any shoes at all. I am not sure that I could solely use these, but may in the future. Excited to use them for my marathon!
  • Reviewed by li0scc0 from Lincoln on Tuesday, June 4, 2013
    This is a lightweight shoe that is cushioned enough for fast training. I use the Green Silence for strength intervals and faster long runs. This will be my marathon shoe, as well.
    I size up half a size over my Brooks Ghost 5 and they fit exactly the same. Nice width for my wide feet, but secure.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ragnar Relayer from Western MA on Monday, August 27, 2012
    The description says that it's for men and women, so I took it's word and tried it out in the equivalent women's size. I have narrow feet, so they might be a little wider than I'm used to, but they're super comfortable. I'm using them (at least for now) for all the short runs while I train for my next ultra- so far up to about 9 miles at a time in them. Comfy the whole time. No rubbing or chafing. And my feet still feel good the next day. I also love the colors- you just don't get that kind of bright mix with most women's shoes...
    • Best Uses: Road Running
    • Cons: Poor Arch Support
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Bright, Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mom of Cross country runner from Tennessee on Wednesday, August 8, 2012
    High School Cross Country for son. He loves the lightweight shoe for races and the colors are right up there with what his friends are wearing. Apparently the brighter the shoe color the better.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Road Running
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BILL from Houston, texas on Tuesday, June 12, 2012
    Light in the suitcase so no excuse for not working out when traveling
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Gym
    • Cons: None at this tie
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Breathable, Easy to Pack, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sailer from Daphne Al. on Friday, June 8, 2012
    Love the brooks pure line up!
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Pavement
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Good Arch Support, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ranger from nevada on Monday, June 4, 2012
    This is just what I was looking for in camp shoe and something for water crossings but still light weight enough to take backpacking and wear after long hike with socks.
    Runs way too small and had to be returned.
    Disappointed as it was otherwise perfect.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Trail Running
    • Cons: Narrow / Tight
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Good Arch Support, Good Traction, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Blacklab from Asheville, NC on Monday, June 4, 2012
    Great shoes so far! Lightweight and minimal! Long runs right out of the box with no problems!
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Road Running
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dances with Mountainbikers from Peterborough Ontario Canada on Monday, May 28, 2012
    They look really cool, and man are they light, but I was actually surprised at how unstable they felt. Unlike other minimal shoes I've worn, these actually felt a bit like stepping on jelly, and on a paved surface actually felt like they were actively de-stabilizing me a bit!

    The material they are made of is not particularly slippery and I had a bit of a chafing problem on my ankles before I got the lacing dialled in a bit. I generally lace my shoes to accomodate quirks in my feet, something you can't really do with this lacing system.

    I would gladly give up a bit of the cushioning in order to have a slightly more "responsive" feeling shoe, and would love to see a slightly more aggressive tread.

    Still. As racing flats go. They aren't all that bad, and I look forward to putting them through their paces a little more.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Pavement
    • Cons: Material is a little roug, Poor Stability, Poor Traction, Unique lacing arrangement
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Awesome Colours, Breathable, Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Fast, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by terri trecker from Davis county, Utah on Friday, May 25, 2012
    Nice and light for travel, price is right!
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Road Running
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Lightweight, Price is right
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.