Brooks-Range Black Mountain Soft Shell Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. A stretchy, highly wind- and water-resistant soft shell, Brooks-Range's Black Mountain jacket is ideal for tackling tough mountain trails in a wide variety of weather conditions -- just add layers beneath it for more warmth in frigid temperatures.

Average Rating based on 22 reviews 3.863636 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gear Nut from Colorado on Monday, September 14, 2015
    No frills, but a great coat. Very breathable and warm.
  • Reviewed by Snoshoeguy from central ny on Saturday, September 12, 2015
    Just realized I forgot to mention in my review that I ordered a large. Love the jacket. Very well made.
  • Reviewed by Snoshoeguy from Central NY on Thursday, September 10, 2015
    Just received the Brooks-Range jacket. Seems to fit well. I'm 6' 1" 190 and a 43 1/2 in chest. At first it felt a little snug but after trying it on several times it seemed to get less stiff. Very well made. Tried it on with a warmer long sleeve top and there was still room. At this price it's a no brainer!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tomnolenreb from Evansville, in on Tuesday, August 18, 2015
    Overall nice jacket. A little more front "belly puff" than I care for and the hood can be a bit cumbersome if you aren't wearing it. Overall a decent jacket for the money.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by One-Eye from Georgia on Tuesday, July 28, 2015
    Bought this soft shell jacket for fall/early winter hiking in North Georgia. Medium size fits well for 5' 9"/170 lbs. Red color is bright but not blinding. The Brooks-Range logo is grey w/black outline...quite subdued on the red jacket.

    Fleece lining will be warm enough for most winter days here in Georgia. Two zippered exterior hand pockets & two huge non-zip interior pockets. Velcro cuffs on sleeves & elastic waist cinches at the bottom to keep the wind out. The hood is huge. I think you could easily fit a climbing helmet fact, I think I could fit a "skull bucket" motorcycle helmet beneath it.

    Stitching quality is good, no loose stitching or seams that I can find. I expect this jacket to give me many years of service. The only way I'd give a jacket five stars is if I said, "I want to be buried in this jacket." four stars is about as good as it gets.
  • Reviewed by gulfbreeze from FL on Sunday, February 1, 2015
    I was pleased when I bought the Black Mountain jacket, and after some rigorous use, it's held up very well. The recent explosion in soft shell jacket offering may give one reason to explore the many other offerings, but when I got this Black Mountain, there wasn't so much competition. Given that, and even though I've picked up some other soft shell jackets since then, this jacket has served me well. It was my first purchase from Brooks Range, a long-time supplier of high quality, high-altitude sports equipment, and I'm fairly certain it won't be my last. From my use, here's my findings

    - Fit is roomy for a medium...there's quite bit of extra room in the torso, which in my case is welcome as I was looking to wear one or more layers underneath. There's room for a slim down layer underneath with no problem. At 5'10" and 145 lbs, I'm often looking for a more athletic fit for single layer jackets, but as above, the extra room has also provided extra mobility in the arms.
    - Citing some of the concerns of other reviewers, the zippers are YKK, and have never failed me yet, with no snags or other faults. I'm not sure if they're actually unsealed, but they've never leaked in spite of weather, and there's a pretty robust flap made of the same jacket material on the back side to keep our wind and moisture.
    - Also, I'm not sure what others cite as problems with the wrist tabs on the sleeves... they are placed at an angle but that provides a perfect fit sealed fit with complete alignment of the tabs with the sleeve material when cinching the wrist tight. The size of the tab on the ends is pretty robust, but I've found that a plus as it makes it easy to grab the tabs when wearing thick gloves. More importantly, the velcro tab has never failed or slipped, so that's what I care about most.
    - The DWR finish has worked fine in my use.
    - The microfleece interior finish has not pilled or shed at all.
    - The material is highly wind-resistant. I can't remember any times I've felt a breeze come through, even without midlayers.

    - This applies only to my preference, but the hood is made to cover a helmet, so it's extra roomy when not wearing such equipment. There are cinches on the cords around the face so the hood can be tightened, but it still leaves extra room if you're not wearing hard headgear. Just a heads up to other folks for consideration.
    - The logo appears to be the same color on each jacket material color. The blue jacket really contrasts against the yellow text. I'm usually not too sensitive about billboard-sized text logos, but I'd probably prefer a slightly lower contrast, or I suppose I could have picked a different color jacket (but red or yellow are pretty bright jacket colors themselves.) Brooks Range has used the yellow thread logo in lots of jackets over the last few years so evidently, there isn't too much complaining. I do know that this year, the company has introduced the text logo in black thread on some jackets.

    There's no perfect jacket except for what meets your needs. If you're looking for very sturdy soft shell jacket in a relaxed fit at the always great STP DealFlyer price, this Brooks Range is worth checking out.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nosivadbor from Pittsburgh on Sunday, January 18, 2015
    I bought this jacket to replace my old soft shell from Marmot that does not have a hood. When I recieved it I was initially please because it had a light brushed lining interior that feels good on the skin and gives it a touch more insulation and wicking abilityy than an I liked coat. However my big gripe is that the sleeves were bulky, and especially the Velcro tabs. Also the adjustment tab on the back of the hood is somewhat stiff and I could feel it on my head when the hood was up. Despite these things I thought the jacket looked good on and I was really torn about keeping it. I had got a great deal with a special coupon so didn't know what to do. But in the end I decided that I would pay a little extra for a no regrets jacket.

    So I would recommend considering this jacket as a great entry level piece, especially f you can't afford some of the tailored expensive jackets.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Unimpressed from Pennsylvania on Friday, December 12, 2014
    Bright yellow embroidered branding is distracting to overall appearance.

    Sleeve tabs must have been accidentally sewn on the wrong sleeves. Hence, they are "seconds"- or closeouts for a reason.
  • Reviewed by Dibber from Mass on Wednesday, April 2, 2014
    runs a little big. I tend to wear size large, but returned for medium (5'8" 170lb). color is more faded than picture shows. there's a bunny logo on back. I wear this jacket all the time.
  • Reviewed by DLK DC Bike commuter from Washington DC on Wednesday, February 12, 2014
    I ordered the Small for myself, a broad shouldered, long armed, trim woman. Works well for me. I am somewhat disappointed that it isn't warmer for bike commuting but it will be my regular item for DC transition seasons.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews