Brooks Range Black Mountain Soft Shell Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. A stretchy, highly wind- and water-resistant soft shell, Brooks Range's Black Mountain jacket is ideal for tackling tough mountain trails in a wide variety of weather conditions -- just add layers beneath it for more warmth in frigid temperatures.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Reviewed by Dibber from Mass on Wednesday, April 2, 2014
    runs a little big. I tend to wear size large, but returned for medium (5'8" 170lb). color is more faded than picture shows. there's a bunny logo on back. I wear this jacket all the time.
  • Reviewed by DLK DC Bike commuter from Washington DC on Wednesday, February 12, 2014
    I ordered the Small for myself, a broad shouldered, long armed, trim woman. Works well for me. I am somewhat disappointed that it isn't warmer for bike commuting but it will be my regular item for DC transition seasons.
  • Reviewed by DLK DC Bike commuter from DC on Sunday, February 2, 2014
    Jacket intended to be a more effective wind breaker than prior jacket. I haven't really tested it yet but it looks great!
  • Reviewed by ramzi from Oregon on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    extremely warm, nice hood, soft fleece inner, durable (summersaults in the dirt and come out unmarked) best purchase in a while
  • Reviewed by chris from Georgia on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    I have been through a number of soft shell jackets on STP trying to find one that fit right. My problem is short arms. I wear a size 40 suit and 32-33 shirts. Prior to this latest attempt at buying a jacket, it was easy; I always bought a medium and there were no issues. Now, however, there is a big trend for an athletic fit and long arms. Mediums were the right length of sleeves, but the jackets had a death grip on my arm pits (e.g. Mountain Hardwear Android). Go with a large and the arms are way too long. This jacket seems to be in-between an athletic fit and a regular fit and therefore size medium works. HOWEVER...

    1. The quality is just not quite the same as a Marmot, Mountain Hardwear, etc. The fleece lining looks cheap and looks like it will pill easily.
    2. The jacket is not pitch black, but more a washed out black/dark grey. The material reminds me of the cheap black soft shell jackets you can pick-up at Marshalls/TJ Maxx (an STP company, btw).
    3. Zippers are not as nice, and not sealed.
    4. The straps to tighten the cuffs are cut weird so if you tighten the cuff, it is at a weird angle.

    At the end of the day, it fits unlike the others so I will keep.
  • Reviewed by Vincent from China on Monday, October 28, 2013
    Only $118 can buy a full price $300 soft shell just ony see in stp. what can I say about that.
  • Reviewed by Rick from Chicago on Monday, July 15, 2013
    The jacket itself is nice. it is well made and the inner fleece will keep me warm while using it. the outside was also well done. feels like the diving suit material to me. all in all I think they did a good job and used good materials. That was the pros. the cons only 2 pockets on the out side, would have been nice to have a chest pocket or two. Also I ordered the xtra large but was still snug. all in all though I think for the money it was a great deal. keep an eye on the barn burner deals on sierra great deals on products
  • Reviewed by The Final Word from Denver on Sunday, July 14, 2013
    Everything I have ever gotten from Brooks Range has been great. Simple, functional, sized right. This was my first purchase from Sierra, and am generally disappointed with their barrage of emails. Even after I I un-subscribed from further emails they pester me for a product review. So here's your review: great product from a lousy retailer.
  • Reviewed by Larry F from Denver, CO. on Friday, July 12, 2013
    I am not familiar with this brand but it seemed a good deal. Have not had much chance to use it, one evening in Crested Butte this week. The cut is slim or my 215#'s thinks so, (L. perhaps I should have gone XL) a little stiff but brand new hopefully it will "Break in" It would be nice if it had a breast pocket but I didn't think of that when I bought it.
    Quality seems to be good and I like the hood, seems to be a more important feature to me of late.
  • Reviewed by Hiking Derrick from Fort Collins on Monday, March 4, 2013
    Nice, warm, stretchy, good quality jacket for the price. Wish it had a chest pocket... But other than that, this jacket is great.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.