Customer Reviews Of:
Brooks-Range Down Sweater Jacket - 850 Fill Power (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Constructed out of incredibly lightweight Pertex® Quantum ripstop fabric and insulated with the finest goose down available, Brooks-Range's down sweater jacket is the perfect feather-weight jacket or layer to keep you warm in frigid winter temps.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews 4.555555 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by gulfbreeze from FL on Thursday, April 16, 2015
    This is my second Brooks Range jacket, but my first Pertex Quantum jacket ever. Over the years I've read lots of reviews about the great features of Quantum, and so far the raves appear to be true. It wears pretty tough, it's very light, and seems to make packing the jacket down a breeze. There's not a huge amount of down fill installed in this model, but in the only tests available so far it was more than enough to keep me warm working with just a t-shirt on on early mornings that dipped below freezing temps. I'm looking forward to testing it out on chillier mountain hikes at high elevations next fall. At 5'10" and 155 lb, the medium is not too trim of a fit, leaving room for up to a midweight fleece underneath, still retaining the ability to stretch easily in all directions. Compared to down- and synth-fill jackets from Patagonia, Jack Wolfskin, Marmot and Rab in my kit, I'm inclined to say this model may end up being the most technical of all, and first call for camping/hiking with its combination of 850 down-fill/weight performance, mobility and packability.
  • Reviewed by Jon from Southern California on Monday, July 29, 2013
    Great-looking, excellent fit and easy to stuff in a backpack. Was the perfect companion for a day hike up Mount Whitney.
  • Reviewed by Biker Chris from California on Saturday, July 20, 2013
    It kept me warm backpacking in the Rockies during the summer. The black one at least is stylish. The outer layer of fabric doesn't seem to tear too easily and it is very lightweight.
  • Reviewed by Michiana Theologue from Fort McMurray, Alberta on Wednesday, March 27, 2013
    I have no problem with this product, but returned it because I was looking for -40 level insulation. This will work great as a standalone or insulating layer in something like -15 C or above. I especially appreciated the light weight and the ripstop quality of the external material. Good jacket, but not for me.
  • Reviewed by jriverspirit from Minnesota on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
    This is one awesome jacket! I live in Northern Minnesota and bought this jacket to take hiking for cold weather this spring and fall. I figured I would test it out on one of our -20 degree days in February and I have been wearing it ever since for my main jacket. Warm, light and a dream to own.
  • Reviewed by Albert the hiker from Massachusetts on Monday, March 11, 2013
    great deal ! Super light weight. Perfect layer for early spring, and hopefully for our trip to Peru in May. Only at the silver color available, which isn't terribly attractive... but on a purely functional level, we are happy.
  • Reviewed by kcjnz from Rocky Mountains on Thursday, March 7, 2013
    Very nice jacket, weight was what I expected, fit was good, both arms and torso. Seems to be put together well, the blue I purchased is a nice color and the jacket has the Pertex Quantum tag on the inside so you know what you are getting.

    I used it over a fleece and under a Pac-Lite Gore-tex shell to ski at Loveland this last weekend and it performed well, very comfortable and did the job. I was considering a Columbia Powerfly when looking to buy, but the fit wasn't as good as the Brooks. I am 6'2 , 220 lbs and this jacket fits me perfectly.

    I would agree with one of the other posters that the pockets are a tad bit small, but thats about the only knock I see and it's a small one. For what I paid, outstanding value!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cold weather skier from vermont on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    use it for skiing in the east under my shell
  • Reviewed by MaggieSki from Winhall, VT on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    Bought this to wear under my gore-tex shell as a ski jacket for the cold northeast winter. I'm 5'4" 118lbs. and this was just too big both around and in arm/torso length. I wish they made an XS! Really sad as I loved the thickness, the down fill and the softness of the interior fabric. FYI the grey has black side stripes under the arms and the Brooks Range 'rabbit' logo is stitched at the center back near the neck.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Warm and dry from Merrimac, MA on Saturday, February 16, 2013
    First of all let's be honest. As a guy this is not something I would wear on it's own from a style or a (perceived) durability point of view. It's not particularly attractive and doesn't look like it would be very durable as an outer layer. That's the only reason it doesn't rate five stars. That said, that's NOT why I bought it. I was looking for an extremely minimal insulating liner to wear under my ski jacket that would let me avoid multiple bulky layers and the necessity to peal away layers as the day progresses. I was skeptical when I saw how light this was but it turned out to be PERFECT. Obviously a lot of thought went into this garment. The super-slick shell slides easily into and out of other jackets without catching and bunching. Under any substantial jacket (I tried two) it adds impressive insulation without any bulk, and when things heated up I simply opened up some vents on my outer jacket and was instantly relieved without having to peel layers. Last weekend I skied from -5 degrees in the morning with howling wind to open sun and calm upper 20's, staying very comfortable with no change of clothing. The fleece on the collar and the internal zip pocket for my glasses are great. In fact, I'm going back and changing the rating to five stars. This is a great liner.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2