Brooks Range Down Sweater Jacket - 850 Fill Power (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Constructed out of incredibly lightweight Pertex® Quantum ripstop fabric and insulated with the finest goose down available, Brooks Range's down sweater jacket is the perfect feather-weight jacket or layer to keep you warm in frigid winter temps.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-17 of 17 reviews
  • Reviewed by Jon from Southern California on Monday, July 29, 2013
    Great-looking, excellent fit and easy to stuff in a backpack. Was the perfect companion for a day hike up Mount Whitney.
  • Reviewed by Christophson78 from California on Saturday, July 20, 2013
    It kept me warm backpacking in the Rockies during the summer. The black one at least is stylish. The outer layer of fabric doesn't seem to tear too easily and it is very lightweight.
  • Reviewed by David from Fort McMurray, Alberta on Wednesday, March 27, 2013
    I have no problem with this product, but returned it because I was looking for -40 level insulation. This will work great as a standalone or insulating layer in something like -15 C or above. I especially appreciated the light weight and the ripstop quality of the external material. Good jacket, but not for me.
  • Reviewed by Jriverspirit from Minnesota on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
    This is one awesome jacket! I live in Northern Minnesota and bought this jacket to take hiking for cold weather this spring and fall. I figured I would test it out on one of our -20 degree days in February and I have been wearing it ever since for my main jacket. Warm, light and a dream to own.
  • Reviewed by Albert the hiker from Massachusetts on Monday, March 11, 2013
    great deal ! Super light weight. Perfect layer for early spring, and hopefully for our trip to Peru in May. Only at the silver color available, which isn't terribly attractive... but on a purely functional level, we are happy.
  • Reviewed by AJ from Rocky Mountains on Thursday, March 7, 2013
    Very nice jacket, weight was what I expected, fit was good, both arms and torso. Seems to be put together well, the blue I purchased is a nice color and the jacket has the Pertex Quantum tag on the inside so you know what you are getting.

    I used it over a fleece and under a Pac-Lite Gore-tex shell to ski at Loveland this last weekend and it performed well, very comfortable and did the job. I was considering a Columbia Powerfly when looking to buy, but the fit wasn't as good as the Brooks. I am 6'2 , 220 lbs and this jacket fits me perfectly.

    I would agree with one of the other posters that the pockets are a tad bit small, but thats about the only knock I see and it's a small one. For what I paid, outstanding value!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cold weather skier from vermont on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    use it for skiing in the east under my shell
  • Reviewed by MaggieSki from Winhall, VT on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    Bought this to wear under my gore-tex shell as a ski jacket for the cold northeast winter. I'm 5'4" 118lbs. and this was just too big both around and in arm/torso length. I wish they made an XS! Really sad as I loved the thickness, the down fill and the softness of the interior fabric. FYI the grey has black side stripes under the arms and the Brooks Range 'rabbit' logo is stitched at the center back near the neck.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Warm and dry from Merrimac, MA on Saturday, February 16, 2013
    First of all let's be honest. As a guy this is not something I would wear on it's own from a style or a (perceived) durability point of view. It's not particularly attractive and doesn't look like it would be very durable as an outer layer. That's the only reason it doesn't rate five stars. That said, that's NOT why I bought it. I was looking for an extremely minimal insulating liner to wear under my ski jacket that would let me avoid multiple bulky layers and the necessity to peal away layers as the day progresses. I was skeptical when I saw how light this was but it turned out to be PERFECT. Obviously a lot of thought went into this garment. The super-slick shell slides easily into and out of other jackets without catching and bunching. Under any substantial jacket (I tried two) it adds impressive insulation without any bulk, and when things heated up I simply opened up some vents on my outer jacket and was instantly relieved without having to peel layers. Last weekend I skied from -5 degrees in the morning with howling wind to open sun and calm upper 20's, staying very comfortable with no change of clothing. The fleece on the collar and the internal zip pocket for my glasses are great. In fact, I'm going back and changing the rating to five stars. This is a great liner.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by P-diddy from Colorado on Friday, February 15, 2013
    Nice jacket for a good price. Front zipper can get snagged a little to easily and the pockets are small, but over all I really like the jacket!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ski Bum 55 from Michigan on Friday, February 15, 2013
    Used it skiing in weather that was no higherthan the teens.....extremely warm. I would highly recommend this item.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kat from Minneapolis, MN on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    Super disappointed that this "unisex" jacket is really for standard male body after all. Long arms, straight body, no room allowances for chest or hips. Probably just fine for women with narrow chest/hips (i.e. not me).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Higher Ground from Lou, Ky on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    Compact for the trail!!!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cloths Hog from Queens,NY on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    If you like tight fitting low bulk down jackets with great 850 filled down. Provides great warmth, but still can be worn underneath Gortex Jacket or water repellent jacket. This one is for you. And the price is right.Enjoy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jriverspirit from Northern Minnesota on Tuesday, February 12, 2013
    Purchased this product for hiking during cooler weather and cooler climates. Decided to try it out during Minnesota zero degree days and I was warm. The only jacket I wear right now. It's like not even having a jacket on its so light weight.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WVFreeheel from WV on Monday, February 11, 2013
    Great for cold days under a wind jacket or as a sweater on cooler days.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adam from San Francisco, CA on Tuesday, February 5, 2013
    I got this to layer under a technical shell for cold winter hiking, skiing, snowshoeing, and casual wear. It's impressively light weight. Down is distributed well through the whole jacket and with the well designed waist cinch, it does a great job keeping you warm. I used it skiing at Squaw (tahoe) in about -5F with a technical shell and a long sleeve shirt and I was very warm. Sizing is good. I'm 160, 6' and the medium fit well. Arms are long enough for casual wear and layering, but not quite enough for stand alone use like a technical softshell would.
    my only concerns with this jacket are longevity. Right out of the bag it was letting feathers out. Not a ton, especially compared to some cheaper down jackets I've seen, but it's noticeable. It's stopped after the first couple uses, but I occasionally still see a feather or two when I take it off. The other concern is general build quality. Mine has loose strings in a few places. The jacket is so light I'm afraid to cut them. As a layering piece, this should hold up, but as a stand alone jacket, I'd be afraid I would tear it or stitching would come loose after a season. Worth it at the sale price, but definitely not at full price.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-17 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.