Brunton Eclipse Mirrored Compass

Closeouts. Orienteer like a pro thanks to the Brunton Eclipse mirrored compass and its simple eclipse circle-over-circle alignment system and fast setting needle. Other features include three inclinometer systems, map magnifier and field reference cards.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Reviewed by Paul from the Berkshires from Williamstown on Monday, August 12, 2013
    Good concept but poor execution. This could be a reasonable, light-weight compass for orienteering and other serious outdoor pursuits, but it is flimsy. It boasts three inclinometers, but not one of them is usable.The hinge cover is so loose that it flops instead of staying in one position. This makes the first inclinometer on the hinge useless. If you set the declination, you render the second inclinometer useless, plus it only goes to +/- 60 degrees. If you take off the rubber shoe you loose the third inclinometer, which in just written on a card.

    Silva Ranger or equivalent Suunto compass are both far superior to this Brunton.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AlwaysLost from Colorado on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    Good compass and STP's price was the best around.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bama from Charleston, S,C, on Thursday, January 24, 2013
    Great for outdoors and a training tool!
  • Reviewed by Hammond Beans from Riverside, CA on Friday, November 30, 2012
    I purchased the Eclipse because I wanted a good mirrored compass for cross-country hiking. Unfortunately, I found that the Eclipse doesn't quite measure up to Brunton's reputation for exacting quality. The needle on the compass I received has a tendency to hang up, and the detents that hold the mirror at pre-set angles are downright flimsy, calling into question the accuracy of the reading. The rubber shoe that serves as a protective case might also have been designed to hold the compass' reference cards in place rather than allowing them to spill out in the field, and I personally would have preferred the lanyard attached to the compass itself, rather than to the shoe. Minor quibbles for the most part, but I expected better execution in a compass at this price point, particularly a compass from Brunton. Prospective buyers should also be warned that although an offer for 5 free maps from National Geographic is advertised as coming with the compass, the offer contained with my order expired in 2011, and the codes are no longer valid (I checked).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BW from South Bend, In on Saturday, November 03, 2012
    Brunton makes a good compass
    • Comfort vs Style: Comfort Driven
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Durable
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiker in the Rockies from Evergreen, CO on Thursday, June 14, 2012
    Good features
    • Best Uses: Hiking in the mountains
    • Comfort vs Style: Comfort Driven
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BWLPF from North Maine on Wednesday, May 23, 2012
    I've used the "Silva Ranger" style mirror compass for years (decades!). The Brunton offers nice new innovations. I only wish the lanyard were longer & connected at the other end, like the Silvas. I also wish you didn't need to turn dial 180º to take an accurate back-sighting. But: Recommended.
    • Best Uses: Orienteering, Work everyday
    • Cons: Backsighting less simple, Lanyard on wrong end
    • Describe Yourself: Forester, Outdoor Enthusiast, Professional
    • Pros: Accurate, Compact, Easy To Set Up, Innovative North arrow, Rapid orientation, Rugged, Strong Construction
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by bill from poway, ca on Friday, March 30, 2012
    Brunton is the standard when it comes to an orienteering compass. Searched all over and SIerra has the best price, by far. Customer service goes beyond the norm to satisfy.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry Camping, Survival
    • Cons: No bubble
    • Describe Yourself: Gearhead, Outdoor Enthusiast
    • Pros: Accurate, Compact, Reliable Performance, Strong Construction
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.